We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“EXCELLENT CHOICE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Mateo Hotel Boutique
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Bernal
Mexico City
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT CHOICE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Casa Bernal is a small 20-room property located in the small exquisite town of Bernal, near Queretaro and about 2 hours drive from Mexico City.

We spent a few days over New Year's there and we were EXTREMELY satisfied. The location is perfect, half a block away from the main square, and the property itself is quite striking due to its architecture (modern colonial) and decor. We got one of the newer rooms located on the ground floor near the parking lot, but despite not being the best location in the hotel, the room was well furnished, with excellent fixtures, amenities, water pressure and temperature.

Had we reserved earlier, we could have gotten one of the better rooms facing the pool and little garden, but as mentioned, we were happy.

We met the owner who was extremely helpful in recommending local attractions, sightseeing tours and was constantly on top of everything, including the New Year's Eve dinner which was a lot of fun.

The property has a restaurant which serves all meals as well as snacks and/or drinks at any time. The food was quite good, prepared by a young talented local Chef. Some readers have mentioned the somewhat slow service by the waiters, and whitle I concur, this was not a real issue and most of the times solved by a forceful comment. Nevertheless, Management should address this issue to make sure the service really merits the Boutique Hotel" rating.

Bernal itself is a charming little town, and the famous "Peña de Bernal" (Rock) - the third largest rock monolith worldwide- is definitely worth a visit.

All in all, a wonderful way to welcome 2014. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The better rooms are in the building facing the garden and the pool, preferably on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael-Mx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    35
    11
    7
    19
See reviews for
35
47
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CHARLOTTE
Level Contributor
117 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

This property is about four years old and is not indicative of the usual architecture seen in Bernal. The restaurant is nice even though I did not dine in for dinner. The rooms are very nice and the shower was excellent as was room service. Breakfast was a disappointment although the young man who was there for breakfast was outstanding and was always attempting to please. The owner or manager was on vacation the three nights I was there and the young man in charge in the daytime was very nice and accommodating. The manager does need to address the manners of the young man who worked usually the 3-11 shift who was there on August 15th, my last night. He was not attentive, was always on the phone talking to his girlfriend I suppose, and he did not attempt to do more than necessary and was aloof. This was my chief complaint and I am sure the owner/manager would want to address this situation. Although I did not get into the heated pool, it looked nice and was heated.

Room Tip: All the rooms I viewed appeared very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TARHEEL37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casamateo, Director General at Casa Mateo Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Google Translation
Agradecemos sus comentarios y resolveremos la situación.

Nuestra intención es que ustedes como huéspedes tengan una experiencia buena y le pedimos una disculpa por ese detalle

Miguel Angel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

Casa Mateo is a gem, and makes a vist to Bernal an absolute must. The owners, architects and designers who converted an old family home into a this boutique hotel did an outstanding job. The rooms are beautifully decorated - no detail escaped them - and the bed linen and pillows are top quality and wonderfully soft. The small pool area is delightful, although they could do with some sun shades. The restaurant is first class - a short, well-balanced menu serves up some outstanding dishes . Try the empanadas filled with flor de jamaica. My wife and I absolutely loved this place. Unbeatable location right in the town center with friendly service. Be prepared to unwind and relax here. The service in the restaurant is slow, but they prepare everything to order so forget about big city, fast-paced tempo. Another nice detail - the hotel promotes some local regional wines from Querétaro so there's a chance to experiment with some lesser-known Mexican varieties. Altamente recomendado.

Room Tip: They do have some rooms with air conditioning. Not all rooms have this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clive B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at Casa Mateo and were very impressed with the rooms, pool, outdoor terrace with views of the monolith, atmosphere and customer care. It is only steps away from the town square and the owner was very kind and helpful with any requests and his young son was an excellent translator for English or Spanish. The restaurant there is also very good so overall highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank will3Vancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

I stayed three nights and enjoyed it. The room is comfortable and I slept well. The place is a bit dark (and some of the twisty light bulbs have a bluish hue), but refreshingly cool on a hot afternoon. When the cool gets to be too much, there's a heater, and I used it.

WiFi was usable from my room (though I don't think they promised that), with 3 bars out of 5, more than enough. This may depend on the room of course. My room was at the end, right next to where they're building an addition. This meant noise during the day (I could live with it), but during the evening and night, it was as quiet as a small country town can be.

The included continental breakfast was simple but more than adequate. When you first sit down you're handed a regular menu with prices, and need to ask for the other breakfast instead. I had one dinner there too, a chicken-in-mole dish which was good.

Don't miss the rooftop terrace at sunset; the views are spectacular.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the construction if you're bothered by noise during the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ViajeroPerdido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Oaks, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

Very nice surroundings, staff is very eager to please, great location

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chrismcast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casamateo, Director General at Casa Mateo Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Mrs, Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

We booked by mail a suite for 5 persons. Reservation was confirmed in writing and they told us that we would have to give them a Credit Card numnber for final confirmation. We called by phone, informed about the credit card and were told that the room has already been booked. Upon arrival, the person at the reception (Manager? Omar?) told us that there was no reservation and that the hotel was full. No excuse, no explanation, no offer for help. Dont`t go there, obviously they are not interested in customers!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank phbrv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bernal hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bernal
0.1 mi away
Hotel Feregrino
Hotel Feregrino
#6 of 9 in Bernal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Tsaya Colonial
Casa Tsaya Colonial
#3 of 9 in Bernal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Parador Vernal
Hotel Parador Vernal
#5 of 9 in Bernal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Plaza Bernal
Hotel Plaza Bernal
#8 of 9 in Bernal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
14.5 mi away
La Casona Tequisquiapan Hotel & Spa
22.4 mi away
Mision San Gil
Mision San Gil
#3 of 9 in San Juan del Rio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Mateo Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Mateo Hotel Boutique

Property: Casa Mateo Hotel Boutique
Address: Calle 5 de Mayo # 0 | Esquina Colon, Bernal Centro, Bernal 76650, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Queretaro > Bernal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Bernal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Mateo Hotel Boutique 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 18th-century house in downtown Bernal has been beautifully restored to offer you the best comfort you can find in this friendly and nice town. We offer you a swimming pool, wireless internet, LCD TV 32" and the nicest terrace with the view of la peña. Our restaurant serves breakfast lunch and dinner always using allways fresh and local ingredients to offer you Mexico's finest flavours in a contemporary style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Mateo Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing