We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rouaa”
Review of Capitol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Capitol Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kenema
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I always love this hotel, it is becoming increasingly well and i hope good luck for this beautiful hotel.
*excellent service
*good food
*very clean and quiet room to rest better
all this
 with a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rouaa i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (13)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 13 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2013

I have now stayed at the Capitol Hotel in Kenema four times since September 2012 and tried to post my comments sooner but somehow it always slipped. I was pleasantly surprised to find a clean hotel in Kenema upon my first visit. The place was secure, staff was friendly and welcoming; the rooms were clean and comfortable and the location was great. Since then I have seen a gradual improvement in the overall ambiance of the hotel; freshly painted, renovations in the pool area and general up keep has made each experience better than the last.

I made my first reservation through a friend who had stayed at Capitol in the past. It is a great place and most definitely needs to be spoken of more. Here are some of my thoughts to share with travelers and Capitol Hotel’s Management:

Security: The hotel is gated with high walls; at the entrance there are several guards 24 hours a day and actively keep watch of people coming in and out. This was extremely comforting to see.

Location: The hotel is located on the main Hanga road with shops and restaurants right around the corner, a local supermarket that is a short walking distance away and a catholic church with lots of green space in its compound right next door.

Rooms: Rooms are renovated with large beds and are equipped with a TV, air conditioner and a fridge. My stay at the newly built suites was particularly comfortable – spacious room with a flat screen TV on the wall and a sitting area that could easily seat 4 people. Outside the suite is a charming little balcony with a bamboo hanging chair. Relaxing and unwinding there above the pool, overlooking the hills in the back of the hotel, became my favorite activity after a long hectic work day.

Restaurant: There is an outdoor Lebanese restaurant on the balcony overlooking the pool. The restaurant serves delicious Lebanese food all day long. The breakfast is simple with local favorites but if you have any special requests, tell them the night before they can prepare almost anything for you. From what I have seen, this is not common in Kenema. Dinners are popular among local residents and expats alike and can get lively with an in pour between 7 and 9pm.

Recreation: There is a large pool which stays quiet for most of the day and evening. There is always a table available to enjoy a snack or just read a book. Sundays get a bit more fun and active with children and families from around town, coming to the poolside.

There is a not-so-active bar (alcohol is limited to beer) which makes it a pleasant family environment. The bar/ dining area, has a pool table (billiards) and is quite popular among the youth so there is often activity there in case you are bored.

Services: Laundry and ironing services were a nice surprise and to make things better, I received my ironed clothing within an hour.


Utilities: There is a regular supply of water and power. When National Power is disconnected, the hotel has back-up generator and always has it on after dark till 8am.

Wireless: There was trouble with the wireless network during my first trip but the management provided USB modems whenever I requested. Now the hotel has a new service in place and good speed wireless access in the dining and surrounding areas.

I will continue to stay with them every time I return to Kenema. Hope this is helpful to travelers going to Kenema City.

Room Tip: Suites are beautiful, comfortable, and absolutely worth it...ask for the room with a hanging bamboo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NewYorktotheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

I was in Kenema on business and a colleague suggested that I stay at the Capitol Hotel. The main benefit is its location and customer service of the staff. However, the rooms are not nice and the street noise is a serious issue. I probably won't stay here again.

Pro's: (1) Very good location-- there are several very good restaurant, bar, and street-food options within an easy walk. (2) Good security (they actually keep an eye on who comes in and out). (3) Good customer service: it's staff-- especially the reception staff and the restaurant waitresses-- are friendly and usually want to help (my only issue came when I wanted to change my room; see point 3 below). (4) Laundry service is available and it takes just a couple of hours. (5) There is a pool and it appears to be used somewhat frequently.

Cons: (1) Rooms are adequate but just that. (2) There was a persistent issue of no water in the mornings, meaning that I couldn't flush the toilet, use the sink, or take a shower. This happened about half of the time. (3) There is no bed net and there are a lot of mosquitoes. (4) I stayed in two different rooms-- the one facing the pool was quiet but the one near the road was really loud, making it very difficult to sleep. I asked to change rooms but this never happened. (5) They lost our reservation. We had called ahead and made a reservation by phone and when we got there, the person remembered taking the reservation but there wasn't any record of it. This was rectified -- after some time -- by them temporarily upgrading us into double rooms, but I was annoyed that the issue couldn't be solved quickly and it took some back and forth and patience. (6) The roach spray ensured that there were no cockroaches in the room but the rooms definitely wreak of insecticide as a result...

I wish I could give this place a higher rating but I don't plan to stay here again.

Alternatives: The Paloma Hotel is just around the corner so it's equally well-located. It is slightly more expensive but it appears to be well worth it. I met some people who were staying there and they said it was really nice, especially compared to where I was staying! The Ericcson is also apparently nice, but it's not in the centre of town.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the pool; they are the quietest. Insist that they do not give you a room t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CristinaV7556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

My wife and I arrived in Kenema at about 1:00 AM in March of 2012. A friend took us to a two bedroom back house which was very uncomfortable and inconvenient for both my wife and I. The bed was full of sand, and neighborhood seemingly insecure. My wife, who was on her first visit to Sierra Leone after almost 18 years could not sleep because of the circumstances that surrounded the environment. She stayed up whole night. Early in the morning I was out of the very small compound, headed to central Kenema looking for a better place to lodge at. After checking about three motels in Kenema, I was directed to Capitol Hotel. Upon arrival, I was impressed by the security post just at the compund gate. We were well received the security officers, but meticulously asked us series of questions before they escorted us to the hotel reception. The stairs going up to the reception were all finely decorated with ceramic tiles. Upon arrival at the reception, I found young Sierra Leonean ladies sweeping and mopping the entire entrance and floors. The receptionists were great. They showed me available rooms - each room with a Queen size bed, table, two chairs, wardrobe, toilet, showers with 24 hours running water, and an air condition. I hastened to pay for my three weeks stay at 185,000 leones per night (about $47). To me, it was worth it - especially in Kenema. Electricity was available between 6pm and 9am, and between 3pm and 4pm Monday through Friday; and on weekends. Housekeeping is not a joke. The girls first sweep the rooms and bathrooms every morning, then go on their knees to mop them, putting all personal belongings in their proper orders, dusting the furniture, lining the clothes, changing the sheets and towels on a daily basis - before they leave the room smelling so very pleasantly. Breakfast is served - but this is the only downside that needs improvement as it's the same menu each morning (hot dog, saussage, scrambled eggs, milk, sugar, and coffee). The weather is hot in tropical Kenema, hence, there is a swimming pool right there. And the male staff were always seeing cleaning the pool and the entire compound. They were also available to wash my car at any given time for a very minimal fee. Of course, when you want to change money, you do not have to leave the hotel. All you do is call the waitresses or waiters, or the reception, tell them how much money you want to change, and the money man is right there. Topping up your phone minutes is just a phone call away from the recptionist. The entire hotel complex has a WiFi Internet available to all guests. I used it all the while to complete my school work - and there is an Internet Cafe right on the other side of the hotel for Le7,000 per hour ($1.60) that runs at 54 Mbps speed. Oh, you want the hotel staff to wash your clothes? It can be done by just calling on them. The hotel Manager at the time of my 2012 visit was not only friendly, but he addresses his guests concerns promptly. He talks slowly and nicely - and he was observed to be treating his staff like an elder brother does even though he was Lebanese by origin. The hotel compound was always lively - with many dignitaries checking in and out. The Kambui Night Club is right there within a walking distance from the hotel. This hotel gives Kenema the name it truly deserves. My wife loves it soooo much. I will spend another two weeks there soon, and every time I visit Kenema.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ipsheriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

This is where most people stay, and it is adequate. The food is quite good (avoid th terrible steaks), and the rooms are fine, though they can be noisy at the front of the hotel (from the street) AND the rear of the hotel (from the bar). The service is poor, and it is about 50% more expensive than it should be.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sodafin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Niels J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pantomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Capitol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capitol Hotel

Address: 51 Hangha Road, Kenema, Sierra Leone
Location: Sierra Leone > Eastern Province > Kenema
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kenema
Price Range: $97 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Capitol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capitol Hotel Sierra Leone/Kenema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing