We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hawthorn House”
Review of Hawthorn House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hawthorn House
Ranked #1 of 1 Port William B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We have just returned from a short stay in Scotland/England and spent 1 night here. Twin room was very comfortable, warm and we were made to feel very welcome. Excellent breakfast also and every need catered for by lovely hosts. They went out of their way to look up places to go for our onward journey and were very knowledgeable about the local area. Lovely place to stay to explore this part of Scotland..

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j0ey52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim-Hilary, Owner at Hawthorn House, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Thank you for posting this review. We really appreciate your generous comments.
We hope the rest of your trip went well - and that you managed to fit in some viewing of birds of prey.
Next time you are in Galloway, please come and stay with us.
Thanks again.
Tim & Hilary Pavitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 205 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

I couldn't be more complimentary of my stay at Hawthorn house last weekend. Tim and Hilary are friendly, down to earth hosts who have a passion for what they do while the location of Hawthorn House offers a fantastic base to discover the area by car or bike.

I paid for a single room and got a nice size double which was a great bonus as well as being offered a glass of wine in the evening which isn't the kind of hospitality I would usually expect.

I was travelling on a weekend road trip and was looking for inexpensive accommodation in the area and hawthorn House ticked those boxes from both the booking.com and visitscotland websites. In fact it far exceeded expectations in location and what was on offer.

Breakfast was great and the coffee making facilities in the room were proper jars instead of those awful satchets. An additional bonus was some excellent home-made shortbread which vanished very quickly.

Would I go back- Definitely!

Room Tip: If possible ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CyclingLiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim-Hilary, Owner at Hawthorn House, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Thank you so much for posting such a brilliant review. We really appreciate that you have made time to post such generous comments, thank you.
We hope you'll visit Galloway again soon - perhaps a cycle tour of the area - lovely quiet roads and beautiful countryside.
Whenever you return, you can be sure of a warm welcome at Hawthorn House.
Thanks again.
Tim & Hilary Pavitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We have just returned from a very enjoyable stay at Hawthorn House. The owners Hilary & Tim made us both feel extremely welcome and are incredibly friendly and down to earth. They were watching for our arrival to open the gates to their secure parking area.The lounge was fantastic to sit back and relax while admiring the gorgeous views out to the beach. It has a fantastic reclining massage chair that I was glued to! Moreover, the breakfast in the morning was absolutely delicious and very filling! The room had two gorgeous bath robes, homemade shortbread and fresh milk. They could easily be charging more for what guests receive. The area itself is a lovely quaint and relaxing village with superb views and walks along the beach. All in all, a fantastic stay with two very genuine, lovely owners. Looking forward to returning!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alanuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim-Hilary, Owner at Hawthorn House, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thank you so much for posting this great review. We really appreciate you taking time to post such generous comments.
We're glad you enjoyed your stay here - it is a lovely area - and hope to welcome you back to Hawthorn House again.
Thanks once more.
Tim & Hilary Pavitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

In this comfortable house we found a relaxed air, great freedom to come and go - and really good breakfasts. This proved to be a fine base for exploring the special features of this corner of Scotland.
Here, our friendly hosts' estimate of any unstated needs was always generous. We wish them well!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank celiaspider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim-Hilary, Owner at Hawthorn House, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments. We really appreciate that you have made time to post this review.
We hope you decide to stay with us again should you come back to Galloway.
Thanks again.
Tim & Hilary Pavitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

You wont find hustle and bustle here, no crowds, no rushing about but what you will find is peace and tranquility, great scenery and pleasent people always happy to help. The guest house is very welcoming, a very nice atmosphere and great hosts.
The room is big with a sea view, binoculars ready for you in the room. The breakfast is whatever you want it to be, light or full Scottish (we had full) and at a time to suit you which is great if you dont want to get up too early. We would definately come back to Hawthorn House

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grace M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim-Hilary, Owner at Hawthorn House, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to post this review, we really appreciate your kind comments.
We're glad you enjoyed your stay at Hawthorn House. There's still a lot more for you to see and do in this lovely part of Galloway, so we hope to welcome you back here again.
Thanks again.
Tim & Hilary Pavitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Staying in Hawthorn House was a real delight. The room was beautifully decorated and the en suite spacious and warm. The dining room, like the bedroom, had a beautiful sea view and the breakfast was very well prepared and presented with a wide choice of dishes. Our hosts very helpful and friendly without being intrusive. We followed their suggestions and had a really enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: The front rooms have a sea view and with the windows open you can hear the waves!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Rachelatcowpits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim-Hilary, Owner at Hawthorn House, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Thank you very much for posting this review.
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay at Hawthorn House and really appreciate your generous comments.
We hope to see you again when you next visit Galloway.
Thanks again.
Tim & Hilary Pavitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Perfect hosts Hilary and Tim were very welcoming and helpful, the room big and very nicely decorated, and the view just amazing. To finish it all off we were spoiled rotten with an excellent breakfast! THE place to stay in Galloway! We will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim-Hilary, Owner at Hawthorn House, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this review - we really appreciate it when guests post a review of their stay.
We're very glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Hawthorn House and hope the rest of your trip went well.
We hope you'll come and stay with us again when you next visit Galloway.
Thanks again.
Tim & Hilary Pavitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hawthorn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn House

Address: Second Sands, Port William DG8 9QP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Port William
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Port William
Price Range: $75 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hawthorn House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the north end of the coast road at Port William, there are unrestricted views over Luce Bay onto the Mull of Galloway. We are perfectly sited to offer an ideal holiday for visitors of all ages. With safe beaches, a wide variety of wildlife, beautiful countryside for walking and cycling, golf, fishing, wonderful sunsets, and a friendly welcome, you are sure to enjoy your stay. Luxurious accommodation in a beautiful location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Hawthorn House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing