We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hawthorn House”
Review of Hawthorn House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hawthorn House
Ranked #1 of 1 Port William B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 4, 2013

In this comfortable house we found a relaxed air, great freedom to come and go - and really good breakfasts. This proved to be a fine base for exploring the special features of this corner of Scotland.
Here, our friendly hosts' estimate of any unstated needs was always generous. We wish them well!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank celiaspider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim-Hilary, Owner at Hawthorn House, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments. We really appreciate that you have made time to post this review.
We hope you decide to stay with us again should you come back to Galloway.
Thanks again.
Tim & Hilary Pavitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (203)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 203 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2013

You wont find hustle and bustle here, no crowds, no rushing about but what you will find is peace and tranquility, great scenery and pleasent people always happy to help. The guest house is very welcoming, a very nice atmosphere and great hosts.
The room is big with a sea view, binoculars ready for you in the room. The breakfast is whatever you want it to be, light or full Scottish (we had full) and at a time to suit you which is great if you dont want to get up too early. We would definately come back to Hawthorn House

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grace M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim-Hilary, Owner at Hawthorn House, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to post this review, we really appreciate your kind comments.
We're glad you enjoyed your stay at Hawthorn House. There's still a lot more for you to see and do in this lovely part of Galloway, so we hope to welcome you back here again.
Thanks again.
Tim & Hilary Pavitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Staying in Hawthorn House was a real delight. The room was beautifully decorated and the en suite spacious and warm. The dining room, like the bedroom, had a beautiful sea view and the breakfast was very well prepared and presented with a wide choice of dishes. Our hosts very helpful and friendly without being intrusive. We followed their suggestions and had a really enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: The front rooms have a sea view and with the windows open you can hear the waves!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Rachelatcowpits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim-Hilary, Owner at Hawthorn House, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Thank you very much for posting this review.
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay at Hawthorn House and really appreciate your generous comments.
We hope to see you again when you next visit Galloway.
Thanks again.
Tim & Hilary Pavitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Perfect hosts Hilary and Tim were very welcoming and helpful, the room big and very nicely decorated, and the view just amazing. To finish it all off we were spoiled rotten with an excellent breakfast! THE place to stay in Galloway! We will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim-Hilary, Owner at Hawthorn House, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this review - we really appreciate it when guests post a review of their stay.
We're very glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Hawthorn House and hope the rest of your trip went well.
We hope you'll come and stay with us again when you next visit Galloway.
Thanks again.
Tim & Hilary Pavitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Hilary and Tim gave me a warm welcome to Hawthorn House where I stayed for 3 nights.Very comfortable bedroom and a sitting room for relaxation.The breakfasts were Superb! I will stay at Hawthorn House again and recommend it to anyone visiting Galloway.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank james h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim-Hilary, Owner at Hawthorn House, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Thank you so much for making the time to write this review, and so soon after your visit.
We're glad you enjoyed your stay at Hawthorn House.
We hope we will be your choice of accommodation when you next visit the historical sites of the origins of Christianity scattered in this lovely part of Galloway. We also hope the weather will be like the first day of your visit throught all your next trip, but can't promise it!
Thanks again.
Tim & Hilary Pavitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Here are folks who give more than anyone could expect. The house is beautiful in every way and so are they. We stayed an extra night and felt sad to say goodbye. What a wonderful world it would be if more b&b,s were like Hawthorn House. We would love to return when next in the Borders. Alan, Bill and Jennifer

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank The_Big_ManGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim-Hilary, Owner at Hawthorn House, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Wow! What a review! Thank you so much for posting such generous comments. We promise not to let this review make us big headed and complacent and will try to live up to it so as not to disappoint potential visitors who read it. We hope you all return so that we have the opportunity of looking after you again in this lovely part of Gallowy.
Thank you so much.
Tim & Hilary Pavitt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We went for a short break to Portwilliam to visit family in the local area. Tim and Hilary were so welcoming and accommodating. The breakfasts they cooked were delicious- we loved the traditional porridge and Scottish cooked breakfasts! The homemade shortbread in the rooms was a lovely touch. The room itself was very spacious and clean and they were very welcoming to our three young children. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lowenna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim-Hilary, Owner at Hawthorn House, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Thank you for making time to write this lovely review.
We appreciate your kind comments and hope you'll all come back to stay when you're next in the area.
Thanks again.
Tim & Hilary Pavitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port William
21.8 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 5 in Portpatrick
341 reviews
13.5 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newton Stewart
142 reviews
21.9 mi away
The Portpatrick Hotel
The Portpatrick Hotel
#3 of 5 in Portpatrick
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
The Harbour Inn
The Harbour Inn
#1 of 1 in Garlieston
45 reviews
7.2 mi away
Mansefield House - Bed & Breakfast
15.2 mi away
Tigh Na Mara Hotel
Tigh Na Mara Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sandhead
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn House

Address: Hawthorn House Second Sands, Port William DG8 9QP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Port William
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Port William
Price Range: $75 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hawthorn House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the north end of the coast road at Port William, there are unrestricted views over Luce Bay onto the Mull of Galloway. We are perfectly sited to offer an ideal holiday for visitors of all ages. With safe beaches, a wide variety of wildlife, beautiful countryside for walking and cycling, golf, fishing, wonderful sunsets, and a friendly welcome, you are sure to enjoy your stay. Luxurious accommodation in a beautiful location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hawthorn House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing