We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wedding visit”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Inchlonaig House

Inchlonaig House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Inchlonaig House
Kitchen / Family Room Dining Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
Inchlonaig House
Kitchen / Family Room
Dining Room
Lounge
Master Bedroom
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 4
Family Bathroom
Master Bedroom Ensuite
Second Bedroom Ensuite
Childrens Bunk Room off Master Bedroom
Port William Harbour
Sunset from Second Sands
Mountain Biking at Kirroughtree
Inchlonaig House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Port William, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
DeeMac163
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wedding visit”
Reviewed May 23, 2018 for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Coming from Galloway and now living in Berkshire, needed a large house to accommodate my family coming from all over for my nieces wedding at Old Mochrum, Inchlonaig was perfect. Beautifully equipped, I honestly couldn't think of anything the house didn't have. Even a bowl and ball for our dog Charlie. We were welcomed with a very welcome bottle of wine and box of shortbread, when we arrived late on the Thursday night. Sarah had put the heating on so house was lovely and cosy but as the weather improved we switched it off. We spent the day in the kitchen with the patio doors open, watching the view and listening to the waves lapping in the sea. Perfect.

We will be back and for longer next time

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 25, 2018
Hi Doreen, thank you so much for your lovely review. Sorry that I didn't get to meet you but I'mso glad that you enjoyed your stay and the wedding (You were so lucky with the weather too!) I look forward to welcoming you back in the future, Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anniescla...
Strathaven, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Hogmanay House”
Reviewed January 8, 2018 for a stay in January 2018
3
people found this review helpful

Amazing time in a beautiful, spacious, modern home!! Met by Sarah who welcomed our clan of 11 and 2 dogs. House was just perfect for all of us - adults had plenty of space to retreat to lounge and a wee Prosecco - whilst kids/teenagers were able to overdose on Nintendo. So refreshing to hear an owner to tell us to turn the heating and water on to what we required-usually everything set on timers and not to be touched. House had everything we needed and was so homely, clean and comfy especially with the Christmas decorations still in place. Did quite a bit of cooking and the kitchen proved to be the hub of the house with all the equipment we needed for the 'teenage bake off' and New Years steak pie dinner.
Great time had by all, even Mols & Daisy (the dogs) weren't left out as Sarah had left them some treats too.
Thank you Sarah for taking the time to keep in touch before our visit, for meeting us with such a genuinely nice welcome and for providing us with everything we could possibly need for our Hogmanay holiday. A great start to our New Year and we survived the storms, sea was amazing to watch from the comfort of the house. Wishing you and your family good health and happiness in 2018-thank you from us all and hope to see you again xx

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 21, 2018
Thank you so much Annie for your lovely kind words and review of Inchlonaig House, I'm so glad that you all enjoyed the house and Hogmanay in Port William, regardless of the stormy weather!
We'd love to welcome you back to stay with us again if you get the opportunity, many thanks Sarah x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairyligh...
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent pet friendly family rental”
Reviewed October 17, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Good location in small village of Port William. House was excellent with plenty of space for 6 adults and 3 children. Good cooking facilities and dining room was used a lot. Nice touch to have toys provided....our 2 year old grandson loved the play table! We brought games for our older granddaughters but it would have been nice to have had a trampoline or other outdoor toys provided. However the road in front of the property was quiet enough to allow the girls to play on their scooters.
Enjoyed our walks into the village and the children liked the playpark and visits to the tearoom/gift shop at the harbour.
Beach in front of the house was only useable late afternoon when the tide was out and this was ok with us for the dogs and children alike. We also enjoyed our two visits to the local restaurant in the village, the Clansman which was very child-
friendly.
We managed trips to Wigtown to visit the book shops and an excellent trip to Isle of Whithorn for a walk and lunch in the local pub.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda H
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Linda”
Reviewed October 14, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Wow what an amazing house.It ticked all the boxes.Our family ranged from 1year old to 80years and we all had a ball.Thank you so much Sarah for having us,would highly recommend this house.We didn't have the best weather but it didn't matter and waking up to the view of the sea was something else.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wistaston, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 23, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 26, 2017
Fiona, thank you so much for your lovely review! I'm so glad that you enjoyed the house and that it was a lovely place to stay for your very special visit to the Port! I hope to see you again in the future, Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
satanspor
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“God but.....”
Reviewed August 2, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Excellent house, as described but even bigger than imagined. Good quality bedding and facilities. Only problem no Sky Tv in main lounge all week which also did not pick up free view, so pretty pointless as a hub for the family to watch all together (Hence the loss of a star). A note if you are fetching small children, the beach across the road is really only suitable for dog walking and is not suitable for sunbathing / buckets and spades (no soft dry sand), this is same all along this coast as we failed to fined a soft sandy beach within the local area: best beaches at sandhills about an hour thirty drive away near Colvend. Don't let this put you off though if you don't want a beach as the house has a lovely back garden which is a sun trap and plenty of seating / tables etc outside and a BBQ with everything provided.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 14, 2017
Hi Michael,
Thank you for your kind review, I''m glad that enjoyed your stay! I only wish you had called to let me know that the Sky wasn't working as on your departure we discovered this and it was fixed the same day due to a fault with the dish. (Apologies if you did try and contact me). Many thanks Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colmcrob
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect accommodation for a family holiday”
Reviewed July 31, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

So much to see and do,what an amazing location. There was plenty for all interests in the area. Sea fishing trip was most entertaining.
Excellent layout and high standard of accommodation.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing