We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant holiday accomodation for large groups”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Inchlonaig House

Inchlonaig House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Inchlonaig House
Kitchen / Family Room Dining Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
Inchlonaig House
Kitchen / Family Room
Dining Room
Lounge
Master Bedroom
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 4
Family Bathroom
Master Bedroom Ensuite
Second Bedroom Ensuite
Childrens Bunk Room off Master Bedroom
Port William Harbour
Sunset from Second Sands
Mountain Biking at Kirroughtree
Inchlonaig House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Port William, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Brenkley2...
Easington village
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Brilliant holiday accomodation for large groups”
Reviewed August 4, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

The house was fabulous with great sea views and sunsets,loads of space for a large family , Very comfortable . Sarah has thought of everything especially for the children with loads of Games and toys to suit all ages from the Wii games to buckets spades and nets for the beach a very child friendly home. The shortbread and the wine on our arrival was also much appreciated .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayshree...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fabulous, excellent home and warm welcome, we will be back and thank you Sarah”
Reviewed May 22, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Very friendly and warm welcome. Awesome views from the balcony of the sea and sun set. Beautiful home with an enclosed garden safe for my dog. Great days out to The Cocoa Bean Chocolate Factory and Newton Stewart. A great short break and family get-together

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort and facilities at Inchlonaig House and the peaceful atmosphere. The friendly people of Port William.
Liked least: no negative thoughts
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashmorayw
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Delightful holiday home”
Reviewed April 24, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We enjoyed a wonderful long weekend at Inchlonaig House. The house is spacious and furnished to an extremely high standard. The kitchen/diner is a great space to eat, chat and take advantage of the sea view. We enjoyed trips to Wigtown ( recommend the Reading Lasses cafe for lunch) and did the river walk at Newton Stewart. We broke the journey with a visit to Castle Kennedy Gardens near Stranraer. This is a beautiful place with a good tearoom. We really appreciated being able to bring our dog with us on holiday. Our party ranged from age 19 to 80 and we all had a fabulous time. Only wish we could have stayed longer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: High quality furnishings.
Liked least: We liked everything.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod B
Milnthorpe, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
304 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“The Holiday Home That Really Was Home”
Reviewed March 30, 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

After adverse weather conditions we arrived for my wife's 60th birthday celebration and were warmly greeted by Sarah Barr who kindly showed us around her wonderful house. Everything was perfect we were short of NOTHING..

The village of Port William and surrounding area is wonderful and we visited many old haunts that we had visited with the children on holidays but this time we had our kids plus grand children with us. Fantastic!

I would strongly recommend this property it is warm; well equipped with the right useful requirements; situated in a great spot; dog friendly and so so relaxing.

Many thanks Sarah.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: warmth, comfort, space and plenty of bathrooms
Liked least: No recycling facilities in the area
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAUREEN i
Hornsea, United Kingdom
1 review
“Ideal for our family get together”
Reviewed November 14, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

We have just returned from one of our family get togethers, this beautiful house suited all of the family, ages 4yrs-74yrs perfectly.
We had a warm welcome, and the spacious house was very comfortable and well equiped, we wanted for nothing. I just loved the en-suite bathrooms.
It is situated across from the beach and just along the road from the centre of Port William so handy for the odd loaf and pint of milk.
Thank you Sarah for everything.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort of the house
Liked least: The Weather
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 31, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 14, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable House with everything you would need
Liked least: Windows needed a clean from the outside
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing