We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal for a quiet time away from the maddening...”
other travelers have booked this property
Rose Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rose Cottage
Rose Cottage garden The living room at Rose Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
15 reviews
Rose Cottage
Rose Cottage garden
The living room at Rose Cottage
The living room at Rose Cottage
Double bedroom at Rose Cottage
The twin bedroom at Rose Cottage
Rose Cottage kitchen
Single bedroom at Rose Cottage
Snowdrops in the woods next to Rose Cottage
Gavin Maxwell memorial and St. Medan's golf  course
View over the countryside around Rose Cottage to the Galloway Hills
Port William
Port William
Walking the coastal path at St Ninian's cave
Sunset at Monreith Bay
Isle of Whithorn
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Port William, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
jim g
Gateshead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ideal for a quiet time away from the maddening crowds.”
Reviewed October 15, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
3
people found this review helpful

We found Rose Cottage to be a comfortable cosy hideaway and were pleased with the amenities provided. The accommodation had been prepared and was well presented on our arrival.
The coal / log fire is easy to use and very effective in adding to the cosy feel of the living room. The beds, and bedding provided were spot on, we've stayed at a number of holiday rentals where it was impossible to enjoy a good nights sleep because of uncomfortable beds.
We had no problems with any of the cottages services / amenities, the kitchen and bathroom are well equipped and presented, there were no problems regarding the toileting facilities [ as mentioned in a previous review I read prior to booking.]
The cottage and garden provided the ideal environment to relax and forget about the hurly burly of city life,
I contacted the owner of the cottage, Mr Cruickshank, for information and advice about the cottage and the local area and found him to be very accommodating and informative.
I paid the £200 security deposit because of our taking the family pet dog with us, the deposit was returned to me within a week of our returning home.
Over the past few years myself and my family have visited South West Scotland regularly and had thought it about time to venture elsewhere, we'd seen it all we thought, no surprises left in that particular area. However, Rose Cottage and the surrounding countryside taught us that there are still places to be discovered and enjoyed and we will be hoping to book a return visit in the new year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and tranquility, a perfect place to rest and unwind. The cottage is cosy and comfortable, the garden is well maintained ,private and secure for pets...
Liked least: The weather.
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 21, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you to Rose Cottage again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
120Rebecc...
Wigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fabulous family holiday”
Reviewed August 18, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Our time at Rose Cottage was peaceful and relaxing. The children absolutely loved the huge garden and the games thoughtfully provided by the owner. The cottage was clean and had everything that we needed for a good week away. We thoroughly enjoyed our week at Rose Cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet and the garden
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 21, 2013
Thank you for your comments. as I have said before, it is great to hear that others enjoy the cottage as much as we do.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irenesmit...
Matlock, United Kingdom
1 review
“a good holiday experience”
Reviewed June 20, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Rose Cottage is a comfortable, well equipped cottage in a beautiful setting. It is ideal for families with children or a dog because of the very large,safe, private garden. It is suitable to be used as a base to discover the lovely surrounding areas of Dumfries and Galloway or alternatively is ideal for just chilling out.
The small shops in Port William are OK for the basics but it is a good idea to stock up on provisions before arrival.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Walks in the local area and visiting Galloway Forest
Liked least: The long journey back home
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 24, 2013
Thank you for reviewing Rose Cottage. We are so pleased you enjoyed your holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westhoughton, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 18, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peacefulness
Liked least: nothing!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 24, 2013
Thank you for reviewing Rose Cottage. We are so pleased you enjoyed your holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 8, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosy evenings by the log fire.
Liked least: Nothing.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 29, 2012
Thank you for reviewing Rose Cottage. We are so pleased you enjoyed your holiday and look forward to welcoming you back in the spring.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 16, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quaint cottage with HUGE garden, and the isolation.
Liked least: Nothing, although some may find it too isolated.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 30, 2012
Thank you for providing a review of Rose cottage and to know you love the place as much as we do. We know from the over 100 comments left in the visitor book in the cottage that all our guests share your views but it is so nice to have guests going that extra step to write a review on TripAdviser.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
John B
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Away from it all”
Reviewed September 20, 2011 for a stay in December 2010
1
person found this review helpful

Having been to Rose Cottage on at least 4 occasions before, and after never having any toilet problems during our stays there. It was a shame to see that the previous people had such problems. We have always found the cottage clean and tidy on arrival, along with nice touches such as fresh milk and biscuits. Love the open fire and free fuel ..a welcome change from some places. We have stayed during the winter months and the cottage was always warm, feels a bit like returning to an old friend now.
The area is great with so many different places to visit (see the visitors book for tips and happy comments from all the previous renters).
Monreith beach is always a fave with us. We took a canoe out to sea ... great fun for me and the kids. However it is unmanned as far as life guards go .... so be careful. To be fair every time I have been on the beach there is usually no one there, hence the reason we like it so much. The steps down to the beach are a bit of a trek, hence why we now drive along the road and take the next left and drive and park on the beach. Room for a car at least, and great if you are taking the kitchen sink with you for unloading.
Port William is a nice but basic working port, supported by local shops and pub. For more supplies you do have to travel a bit further to Wigtown, but that's all part of the adventure.
A few more miles and you reach the Galloway Forest Park lovely scenery along with some lovely forest drives (some marked ...some are old logging roads !) Caution needed as very little phone signal and you can easily find yourself in the middle of nowhere.
We was also drawn to the Isle of Whithorn on several occasions, lovely area with nice views and a quiet cove (when the tide was right !) A great pub with good food is also there. The Steam Packet Inn is a welcome place after a day walking or travelling. With a lovely Sunday Buffet (make sure you book, as it can get busy at peak times) Real ales, dog and family friendly..well worth the visit. The restaurant has lovely views and a silver service type feel, without the silver service price !
Returning home to Rose Cottage is away's a treat as it is well stocked to accommodate a family. Also I think its fair to mention that for the price of the hire, you cant complain.
To sum up.. I really want to go back now I have sat and thought about all the things we like at Rose Cottage..off to check availability now.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cosy fire
Liked least: Going home
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 24, 2011
Thank you for your comments. We are always please to hear that people love Rose Cottage as much as we do. We look forward to welcoming you again.

As you have noted, there are several beaches in the area. Monrieth is our favourite as well despite the steps – but what a view. There are others that have parking and toilets very close by; details in the cottage’s visitor guide.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$60
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing