We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the wait to get there!”

Les Jardins de Cadiot
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Carlux
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Attraction details
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Honiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Worth the wait to get there!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

We visited this garden by chance, I had seen a tourist leaflet and saw on the map it was nearby so we visited. It was a very hot day and the shade offered in some parts of the garden was most welcome. This is not a manicured garden; if that is what you expect, you will be disappointed, but I liked the informal planting design. The owner was most helpful, she gave me a laminated guide of how to visit the various sections and also for the real gardeners she lets you have a planting guide of all the plants in various sections. I'm sure this is a garden for all seasons and there will be times when it is 'inbetween' the seasons but it is still beautiful. The only section I didn't like as much was in the wooded area, there were some rather 'naff' sculptures and some very expensive ones you could purchase that I wasn't keen on at all. The couple have spent many hours and years developing a garden to be proud of. I also really liked the 'willow' cloches and climbing frames, they were stunning and very creative.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    22
    6
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delightful!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

The visitor is enticed through a series of intimate gardens, densely planted to delight the senses. Potager, herbaceous perennials, roses, topiary, espaliered fruit trees, woody copse with surprising sculptures, dry garden with lavenders, perovskias, etc, etc.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Timbuktuorbust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
240 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Lovely peaceful gardens”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Quite an adventure to find these gardens, and in late September parts are clearly past their best. But overall, they are delightful - obviously a real labour of love by the family who have developed them over the last 30 years apparently. About 12 different small gardens with varying themes and styles. Something for everyone - but perhaps not easy for anyone who has difficulty walking.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WTT1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A very personal garden”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

A very personal garden, with the owner knowing it well and advising on how to experience this free flowing and open mix of formal and informal, woodland and warm open spaces.

A great garden to explore and enjoy

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank parsonsdayout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
223 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Probably missed it at it's best.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Our early July visit was after the best time for the roses. Agree with aspects of the French comments that it needs a little more upkeep but still a worthwhile visit. A good contrast to Eyrignac which you would know anyway of you research before you go.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Jardins de Cadiot also viewed

Carsac-Aillac, Sarlat-la-Caneda
Calviac-en-Perigord, Dordogne
 

Been to Les Jardins de Cadiot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing