We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puerto Aventuras
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Porto Bello Private Residence Club
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Reviewed September 8, 2008

This is a PROS VS CONS review

First let me say I had a totally amazing time here! I really don't have any complaints about my stay or the area - but if I'm going to nit pick here goes:

PROS:
- SO many animals in one location it's like sea world when you walk out your bedroom door. the place has dolphins, sea lions, a sting ray, manatee (and for some cash you can swim with all of them).
- It's a great location if you plan on going to see a bunch of sights like Talum or Xcaret. It's smack in the middle. 15 minutes to the right is Playa Del Carmen and 30 minutes to the left is Akumel.
- There are a handful of cute little shops and places to eat and walk around.
-The rooms are beautiful! Marble floors, big showers, nice kitchens, jacuzzi on the patio!
- Free Internet
- If you go in offseason it's totally quiet and sooo mellow.
- If you don't mind a 5 minute walk - The Omni has amazing Mexican food and a beautiful view!!!

CONS:
-The beds are uncomfortable unless you like hard beds - I'm more into the plush Heavenly beds you get at Westin. I finally got some sleep after about the 3rd night
- MOSQUITOS GALORE! Bring your OFF!
The pool is OK, but a 5 minute walk over to the Omni gives you a much nicer pool and a beach.
-NO BEACH. The beach is at the Omni and you have to pay to sit at it.
- No gym. The gym is at the Omni and you have to pay to workout in it.
- No swim up bar at the pool. Again, take your butt over to the Omni for your margaritas.
- This place is about an hour taxi drive from the airport and will cost you about $70.
- The only real night life and good shopping is in Playa Del Carmen which is 15 minutes away (and they have monkeys there - yay) but that's $16 cab ride there and a $16 cab ride back
- There are a bunch of stray cats and dogs everywhere in Mexico and if you're like me, you constantly feel bad for them and want to take everyone of them home.

Other than that - Porto Bello was great!!! They have section I, II abd are building III. I suggest building II (where we stayed). It's much closer to everything - including the sea life!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank shanzy288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 52 of 52 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2008

We just returned from a week stay at Porto Bello Marina. I must state how dissapointed and unwelcomed we felt.
Our trip started as a Marriott vacation exchange via Interval. When we made our travel plans and found that we would be arriving after check-in at the resort (There is no one there past 4pm on a Saturday) it took four email inquiries and two international phone calls over a ten day period to get an answer about late arrival. They left us a key in a lock box. There was no welcoming packet or information in the unit to tell us where things were or how to get ahold of anyone in an emergency, not even a map of the marina area. Needless to say, during our seven night, eight day stay, the only staff we met was the pool attendant who kept the pool area immaculate. We never received any welcome or greeting.
We had reserved a one bedroom condo unit on the Marina. The unit was nicely appointed, if not too much so as to make it feel small and crouded. Don't raise your arms in the bathroom or you'll bump your elbows on the walls. It was excessively small. The unit was also not very clean. Food stuck to the kitchen cabinets, a large outdated microwave took up 1/2 the counter (a nice one over the range would solve that) and someone elses long black hair all over the back of the white linen covered sofa. Not to mention the huge dip that made sitting uncomfortable. When we checked in cleaning supplies had been left outside our door and were not retrieved until Monday. There were two other nights when dirty linens and trash had been left outside our door overnight.
The units are actually fractional ownerships. Most everyone else in the resort seemed to know each other and, we not being regulars, seemed not worthy of even saying hello to. We had actually gone there to check out property for a future purchase, and based on this experience would never buy there. One owner actually seemed put out that we had chosen poolside lounges in his favorite spot before he got to it.
Location was very convenient, right around the corner from shops and restaurants and even the Dolphin Discovery. If you like activity this is a good place. Don't plan to sleep late however, the fishing charters are getting ready right outside your door at 7am each day, and traffic noise on the bedroom side is terrible. Did we mention the construction! Yes! A new building is going up right next door and building is going on in an unorganized chaos all over Aventuras.
Beware of local vendors. Twice we caught the waiters padding the check, and even the gas station attendant tried to make away with a $100 bill. I advise using the money exchange.
On better notes, the reort is convenient to Cancun and Playa de Carmen to the North, Cozumel is an excellent day trip, and the beaches and ruins at Tulum to the South are worth the drive. There was no real beach at Aventuras as the hotels and residences occupied it all.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank worldmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2008

After returning from a week at Porto Bello, we feel compelled to share this treasure w/ the world. As members of Interval International, we did an exchange. Prior to our vacation, we had no idea what to expect. The Riveria Maya was amazing. In regards to Porto Bello, our villa was fantastic. Porto Bello is on the marina and offers two separate resorts. We stayed at the marina and villas while guests can also vacation at the grand marina(which also overlooks the marina). We had a two bedroom, two bath villa. The master suite was on the second level and offered plenty of closet space as well as a jaccuzi tub for two in the master bath. The private jaccuzi just outside the master bedroom offered spectacular views of the marina. On the lower level, guests have a second bedroom w/ two full beds and separate bathroom. Also on the lower level is a full kitchen, living area, and patio. The resort offers many on-site amenities including a golf course, tennis and raquet ball courts, etc. The villas are cozy, clean, and very comfortable. The staff and maid service were very friendly and accomodating. Although there was no on-site resturant, there are plenty of eateries to choose from along the marina. In addition, we enjoyed daily dolphin shows while sipping cocktails either pool side or at a local eatery. The resort itself is well maintained, clean, and family friendly. The entire area around the resort, known as Puerto Aventuras, is safe. We felt very secure and enjoyed several excursions. Overall, we highly recommend Porto Bello and look forward to our next vacation!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank vacationkrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A P, Director General at Porto Bello Private Residence Club, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2017

Hi thank you very much for you comments, they are really valuable for us, its really nice you enjoy the apartment and the beautiful little town Puerto Aventuras, it would be a pleasure to have you soon at Porto Bello, be welcome to contact us for new deals and benefits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016
1  Thank ingridcastror
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Lugares cercanos para visitar, Tulum, Xcaret, Xel ha, cenotes, playa del Carmen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Juan David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2015, traveled with family
2  Thank Yusepes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Aventuras hotels
0 mi away
Porto Bello Hotel and Residences
Porto Bello Hotel and Residences
#15 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
9 reviews
0.4 mi away
LM by Inmense
LM by Inmense
#1 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
270 reviews
0.2 mi away
Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Resort
Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Reso...
#13 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
#4 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
10,260 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aventuras Club
Aventuras Club
#1 of 13 in Puerto Aventuras
261 reviews
1.3 mi away
Barcelo Maya Palace
Barcelo Maya Palace
#6 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
7,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Bello Private Residence Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Bello Private Residence Club

Address: Puerto Aventuras, Bahia de Xcacel Lote 9 MZ 923 | Plano 01, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Porto Bello Private Residence Club inside the beautiful gated Beach, Marina and Golf Resort of Puerto Aventuras. Porto Bello is a Flagship property of Puerto Aventuras that offers a wonderful hassle free lifestyle in Marina View home size full equipped 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments. Vacation Rentals available per night, week and month. Send us an email at to find out about our season rates and experience the personal services of our concierge even before you arrive. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Porto Bello Marina And Villas
Porto Bello Marina & Villas Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Porto Bello Marina Hotel
Porto Bello Private Residence Club Riviera Maya/Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing