We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Catalonia Yucatan Beach
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Armstrong, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great time.”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We had a great time. Service was great and the staff were all very respectful, helpful and . I loved the fact that it was in a gated community and we could walk all around and visit the shops and marina. Went to Tulum and Akumal on our own and either took a taxi or the local "bus" the collective! We were there during the Olympics and the staff opened the Sports Bar at 6am so a bunch of us could watch the gold medal hockey game. They brought in coffee, tea and juice as well as fresh baking and kept bringing in more chairs for us. One afternoon they were also having a staff beach volleyball game which I thought was great.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WLoree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, Gerente at Catalonia Yucatan Beach, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear, Wloree

First of all we would like to thank you for writing and choosing our Hotel and I would like to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us, being of the most importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.

It is great to know that you had a good time and enjoyed our facilities and services. We feel very proud of the impression you had from the hotel and our lovely country.

We hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, it will be our pleasure to welcome and pamper you once again!

Attentively
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,970 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    783
    787
    263
    88
    49
See reviews for
548
945
27
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

This was my fiance and I's first stay at this hotel, we have each had a few previous all-inclusive vacations in Mexico/Cuba to compare our trip to. We stayed March 8-15 and overall we both had an excellent experience and heard nothing but similar opinions when talking to other guests. We met a few other guests who have been back for multiple visits. It was nice being located in Peurto Aventuras which completely eliminated issues such as beach peddlers you would encounter on the west coast.

Rooms:
We did not "upgrade" to the privileged suites as we did not think it was worth the money for what we were expecting out of the trip. We had room 2133 which was 2 doors down from the lobby on the Yucatan side. It was simple, a bit dated, but clean, which was all we ever really wanted from a room. We really only spent time in it while sleeping anyways. Our king sized bed was comfortable enough but the blanket was a bit coarse in our opinion. Our curtain rod puller stick fell off once but it took 10 seconds to put it back on. The sound insulation from the nearby hallway and disco wasn't perfect but never prevented us from sleeping comfortably. One of our light fixtures was partially broken, but it didn't both us. The A/C worked great. Shower water pressure was a bit low but not terrible. In general our room was simple but got the job done.

Food:
The a-la-cartes were excellent! We ate at the Italian, Mexican, and Japanese and loved each one of them. Excellent service, portion sizes, and food quality. Unfortunately we planned to eat at the Bamboleo grill on our last night but it was closed, maybe there was some advance notice of this but we obviously were not aware of it. This was annoying since we could have planned it for another day, I would recommend to future guests to inquire early in your stay about restaurant closures so you can plan around them. Others have complained about the lack of reservations but it did not seem to bother us. Either don't show up during peak dinner hours (7-7:30) or be happy with having a few drinks while you wait. We often showed up before 6:30 and were seated right away. The 2 buffets each had an impressive selection, other peoples review's stating otherwise are baffling to me. Maybe if you stayed for 2 weeks it could get a bit repetitive, but what else can you ask for? You could easily make a unique plate each meal if you put any thought into it. We were happy with the various "make your own plate" stations where a cook prepares a fresh dish for you. Some of the options (breakfast sausages, pizza) were poor but there were enough other options to make up for it. We didn't use the room service. Some people have complained about having to fill up your water bottles in the bars instead of having new ones provided for you but we hardly view this as an inconvenience, you walk past one dozens of times a day.

Beach:
As mentioned in other reviews the beach is quite rocky in parts, but it does have a nice sandy portion about 5 feet deep running from about 15-50 feet offshore. We would highly, highly recommend bringing water shoes which will make the rocks almost a non-issue. Over by the lagoon there is a nice sandy area with no rocks. The lagoon and rock bridge area is great for snorkeling. There were always ample beach lounge chairs. We did not partake in the ocean related activities offered by the resort so cannot comment on that. In general I can understand how some guests might be disappointed with an endless sandy beach but in reality the Catalonia beach is fine.

Staff:
We were always impressed by the staff in the restaurants, bars, pools, etc. There was always somebody available to help you with anything, for example an empty drink glass seemed to always disappear right away! We were often met with a random "hola" and a smile. Rarely had to wait more than a few seconds for a drink at the bar or to get your water glass filled in a restaurant.

Entertainment:
We took part in most of the daily activities run by the entertainment staff and enjoyed each of them. My fiance enjoyed the pool fitness sessions and I played most of the sports games. Olga, Maria, Laura, Giovanni and the others were excellent (I'm somewhat jealous of their jobs)! The nightly entertainment in the theater was enjoyable, I've read a few reviews were people were disappointed by it but I'm not entirely sure what they were expecting. We poked our heads into the disco twice but both times found the music to be too loud. We usually love some drinks and dancing but had a really difficult time spending more than a few minutes in the disco. We went to the sports bar a few times and were happy with it but in addition to the pool tables it wouldn't hurt to have some other games such as ping-pong, air hockey, or foosball.

Pools/Hotel grounds:
We found no problems with the pools or other hotel grounds at all. The pools were cleaned on a regular basis and we saw pH tests being done regularly. The pathways were clean, we often saw workers sweeping up the sand which I thought is a nice detail, grass cut, garbage cleaned, etc etc. The gym was a bit small with limited weights and some cardio equipment (good quality), but I think if somebody has a problem they need to rethink their expectations and not compare it to the large gym back home. We did not use the spa.

In general we really enjoyed our stay and the few negative things we encountered were inconsequential and were greatly outweighed by the positives. If you are looking for a flawless hotel with marble toilets then look elsewhere, but if you are looking for a reasonably priced resort that will almost certainly leave you going back home with a giant smile on your face then we would highly recommend the Catalonia Yucatan.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jarrad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, Director General at Catalonia Yucatan Beach, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear, Jarrad A

It is great to know that you and your fiance had a good time and enjoyed our facilities and services. We feel very proud of the impression you had from the hotel and our lovely country.

We would like to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.


We hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, it will be our pleasure to welcome and pamper you once again!
Sincerely



attentively
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

I am 15 years old and traveled to this resort with my family and our family friends this past week. One night my friend who is 14 were walking back to our room around 9pm to get a sweater before heading to the show that they have every night. When we walked out of the elevator there was a naked women screaming for help as she was been dragged and kicked by her husband. We were and shock and knew we could never "un-see" what had just happen so we hid in the stairwell until our younger siblings came up about a minute later. We knew we couldn't stand up to this man but sadly during that time she had been dragged into the room. ( I can only imagine what he did to make her be quiet) So we started running to get help. When we got to the front desk and explained what was happening they sent up security to see what was going on. Because the security didn't see for them self what was happening they refused to remove the man from the situation. This obviously wasn't okay with us as my friend and I were absolutely terrified. Our dads complained and after 4 hours of arguing were able to get a security to stand outside there door all night. We were also promised that he would be moved by the next morning. Sadly when we woke up the next morning there was no security there, so we went to the front desk and asked to speak to the manager. The manager was so disrespectful and wouldn't even come see us so instead he sent a younger women to come talk to us. She was completely useless and told us that they would not be moved and how they had a "beautiful breakfast in bed" as if they were rewarding the man for his awful behaviour. We were furious as we had been lied to but also because my friend and I are still terrified. The ladies suggestion was to arrange snorkelling for us which by the way is free to fix our fear. All in all we will never be going back to this resort. No one should ever have to be beaten up by there spouse and no one, especially to young teenage girl should have to watch it happening.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mpj16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spruce Grove, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Been there 5 times can't wait for the sixth . service is always fantastic, food is great, bartenders are amazing, especially at the tequila bar. Great time with Manuel. Close to the marina and shopping.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank smithandbush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, Director General at Catalonia Yucatan Beach, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
We would like to thank you for all your positive feedback of our employees we can not wait either for your sixth time here with us, we are going to feel very happy to serving you with our Hotel facilities.

It's a pleasure to know that you had a good time with us and you will keep a good memory of Mexico and our Hotel.

We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations.


Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 10, 2014

The first 2 nights we were in the A building on the main floor on the Yukatan side. It was right by the main walk way under the lobby and at night it was very loud because people were yelling and screaming, coming from the disco and bars.
We requested a new room and we were moved to building B on the 3rd floor
Room 345, very nice, clean, comfortable and most of all, quiet at night. A king size bed... very compfy.
Many things to do there that the resort offers free of charge: snorkeling, kayaking, bicycles, and a catamaran ( book it early in the morning though).
Loved the fact that this resort is in a gated community. We could go walking or bike riding and felt very safe. Exploring by bike is great!
About 5 minutes away from the hotel one can walk to the Marina, and book time with the dolphines or manatees. Or book parasailing which btw, is an awesome experience! We booked it at the hotel at the nolitours table with Isabelle, Katherine or Omar... they are all very helpful.
There are many shops , bars and restaurants to go to in the community that are in walking distance from the resort.
The buffet food at the resort is average, and somewhat bland, but a good selection, so if you like spicey or more savory dishes, bring your own condiments.
Most staff were always friendly and helpful. Some of the staff that we thought were exceptional ... Love (front desk) Samuel (waiter in both buffet restaurants) Anna and Evely (worked in the Creperie... love these 2 girls!)
Juan (operated the catamaran, very cool guy). And Olga (houskeeping, she kept our room very clean and made us cute towel animals)
We booked 4 excursions prior to arriving in Mexico with Xcaret experience, and got some good deals for the 4 of them and booking earlier. They were
Chichen Itza/Vallodolid, Tulum/Xel-Ha, Explor and Xcaret. All of them were fantastic and well worth it.
We were there for 2 weeks and we never had an inch of rain, until the day we left and arrived in the airport, then it dumped lol.
All in all for our first time experience, it was pretty good, I would go back again.
For us it wasn't worth upgrading because we didn't stay in our room a lot, and we were very comfortable. And the fee for the room safe is reasonable. But if that is what you like, then go for it, I hear they are very nice
The grounds and pools were always clean.
If you want to go into Playa del Carmen, it is better just to take a taxi, instead of the free ride in because they make you stop at a jewelery store and you only get about 4 hours there. 5th avenue is pretty cool, and so was the walmart!

Room Tip: 3rd floor in B building, south corner is quieter, a/c worked great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amh0963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

My hubby and I just spent 10 great days at the Yukatan ... we had a great time and met some great people. The A La Cartes are fabulous....you may see negative reviews but remember....you are in Mexico and not in your own kitchen! We found many places that we could go to without paying the outrageous prices for excursions.....do some homework of the surrounding areas before going. The only upset we have about the hotel was that when we arrived home, we rec'd a phone call from M/C informing us that our credit card had been 'tampered' with and we realized the only time we used our M/C without a PIN was at the hotel :( Remember to NEVER use your credit card without a PIN !!!!!!!!!!!!!! If you do not have the cash for excursions and you must use the credit card without a PIN...remember that you will not be given 'the OK' to leave the resort or make sure that you don't let the credit card out of your site. I am not blaming the resort in this review.
The hotel is a bit understaffed but they work hard and we appreciated all the workers.
Our view of this hotel is that it is a wonderful holiday for all ages!

Room Tip: * ask to not be close to the tequila bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank furlottes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Our family of 5 traveled to the Catalonia Yucatan a little over a month ago. We have a mixed review of our visit. First the good....

The hotel is spotless and the staff were on the most part friendly and accommodating. The cleaning staff and ground keeping crew always had a smile on their face and a friendly "hola"! The waitstaff and bartenders were only okay. It didn't seem to matter whether you tipped or not, sometimes we had great service, sometimes we were ignored. Our rooms were always cleaned by late afternoon and there was always some sort of towel animal for us to admire. The pools were spotless and beach tidy.

The Marina was an awesome place to visit and as many have said...very safe and secure. We swam with the dolphins, perused the shops and enjoyed drinks at one of the bars.

There is lots of wildlife to admire, between the iguanas, pelicans and the agoutis...we always had something to watch. We never did see the spider monkeys......

We did some excursions. The Coba Mayan village tour was great and we were happy that we were able to climb the pyramid. Our guide told us that ropes and fences were being put up and one may not be able to climb it much longer. Definitely a must do if you are in the area! We also did the ATV tour and Rio Secreto. Both were amazing! Yes they are expensive but our family enjoyed every minute of them.

The animation staff was entertaining during the day. They always tried to involve the guests. We did not see any shows. There was lots to do at the Resort....snorkelling, kayaking, volleyball, horseshoes, ping pong etc. Book the catamaran and kayaks early in day!

Now the not so good......

I dislike having to pay more to be a privileged guest. Why would we pay 5 star prices for a 4 star resort. Definitely a turn off.

We had 2 double beds in our room and they were very uncomfortable. We heard the king size beds were great but that didn't work for our family. The lights didn't work all the time but otherwise the room was livable.

The food in the buffet was only okay. Everything was the same every night. I was thankful for the pico de gallo! The omelet bar was great for breakfast! For the Nolitours beach party and buffet....plan to arrive early otherwise you will wait for at least an hour until the second seating.

The a la crates were great and had amazing food, but the lack of a reservation system was horrible. We stood in line only to be told that the Italian restaurant was full, we were told to come back at 7:30 and did so, only to be told that there was no room that night. The hostess at the Mexican restaurant was by far the friendliest and was the only one who let us make a reservation. Who wants to wait in line every day on your holiday! We visited the Mexican, Japanese(great sushi!)and Bamboleo steakhouse and were impressed with their food. The Creperie had great banana splits and friendly staff!

We would definitely go back to Mexico but would not likely return to this resort unless we got it for a very reasonable price and they changed the a la carte reservation system.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieD636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, Director General at Catalonia Yucatan Beach, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear AnnieD636

First of all we would like to thank you for writing and choosing our Hotel and I would like to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us, being of the most importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.

It is great to know that you had a good time and enjoyed our facilities and services. We feel very proud of the impression you had from the hotel and our lovely country.

We hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, it will be our pleasure to welcome and pamper you once again!

Sincerely
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
0.0 mi away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
8,753 reviews
23.0 mi away
Catalonia Playa Maroma
Catalonia Playa Maroma
#4 of 5 in Playa Maroma
7,264 reviews
12.4 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Lupita
Hotel Riu Lupita
#78 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
2,784 reviews
2.7 mi away
Catalonia Royal Tulum
18.1 mi away
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda
#100 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
9,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Yucatan Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Yucatan Beach

Property: Catalonia Yucatan Beach
Address: Av. Xcacel Lote 1 Plano 2 MZ, Puerto Aventuras 77783, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#12 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#13 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Yucatan Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Catalonia Yucatan Beach Resort & Spa is located in the heart of the Riviera Maya, on the private estate of Puerto Aventuras. Located on the beautiful Mexican Caribbean coast, this resort is directly on the beach and offers a comfortable and peaceful atmosphere, perfect for a relaxing break. This mystical area boasts many Mayan archaeological ruins that include Chichen Itza, Tulum and Tikal as well as the natural attractions of Xel-Ha, Cozumel and Xcaret. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Catalonia Yucatan Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Yucatan Beach Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Catalonia Yucatan Beach Puerto Aventuras
Catalonia Yucatan Beach Riviera Maya/Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing