We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Catalonia Yucatan Beach
Nearby Hotels
Barcelo Maya Beach(Puerto Aventuras)
$279
$216
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
$322
$279
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Maya Palace(Puerto Aventuras)
$371
$243
Barcelo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Maya Colonial(Puerto Aventuras)
$251
$182
Barcelo.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Maya Tropical(Puerto Aventuras)
$251
$182
Barcelo.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Maya Caribe(Puerto Aventuras)
$251
$182
Barcelo.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya(Puerto Aventuras)
$638
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$532
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
LM by Inmense(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
$97
$94
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya(Puerto Aventuras)
$352
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,160)
Filter reviews
2,160 results
Traveler rating
877
846
290
92
55
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
877
846
290
92
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgated communitya la cartesplaya del carmensnack barwater shoestapasfishcrepesstandard roomriviera sidejapanese restaurantair transatpure chill out barthomas cooksteakanimation staffsea lions
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
781 - 786 of 2,160 reviews
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Room 4150 BED BUGS! We stayed at this resort with 13 other wedding guests for a week. Our bride and groom were not given an ocean view room though they paid extra for it and were not moved for 6 days into one that provided a better view. That night they moved they awoke in the middle of the night covered in bites and brought a water bottle with many of the little bugs to the front desk. They were immediately moved and are being compensated with free services and extras but please beware and be advised that if one room here has bed bugs that there are likely many others that do as well with sheets being shared after laundering. Our room was bed bug free fortunately but right beside the bar and a tad noisy until late in the night. One night at 4:10 am there was someone using either a grinder or tile cutter right outside our bedroom door. I do not feel that this is the best time to do reno's. We opened the door and asked him to stop and called the front desk as well. They advised that no one should be working in that area and shortly after that the man was gone. The system for the resturants is terrible, the worst I have seen thus far. Having a reservation desk like most other places would work much MUCH better. We stayed at a two star resort previously that had better organization than this resort for resturant reservations. Four floors and no elevators working. On the wedding day the photographer got a great workout of climbing up and down 388 stairs but not so good for the mother in law to be who had trouble with them and couldn't make it upstairs to see the bride and groom before the ceramony. I am a very easy going person who normally has only good things to say but I feel we really should be honest with the problems that happened while staying at this supposed 4.5 star resort.

Besides the above obvious problems there was good along with the bad. The drinks and food were very good. Loved the Italian, Japanese and Mexican resturants! Delicious food and always something I wanted seconds of. The scuba/dive team is amazing and so much fun! We signed up for lessons and a dive for 129.00 usd which was def worth it and amazing. Snorkeling in the lagoon and off the beach is very good! I saw an octopus in the lagoon, many baby baracuda's along with a couple adults, star fish, hermit crabs, sea cucumbers and tons of fish. The resorts redeaming factor may be it's great snorkling and water activities. Many pools and swim up bars to lounge at as well as great service in the bars and resturants.

The marina is so close and a great walk down the street with many beautiful condos and homes to admire on the way. We did some shopping but found the prices to be quite expensive. A small bottle of vanilla was selling for 8.00 at the marina and a HUGE bottle at duty free on the way through the airport home was 6.50 ... def go to Playa Del Carmen or wait till you are leaving at shops at the airport to buy your gifts. There are TONS of shops both at Playa Del Carmen and the airport to take advantage of and get the best bang for your buck. NOTE: Do not take the "free" shuttle from the resort to Playa Del Carmen unless you feel like going to the Jewellery factory for two hours and being pressured into buying over priced items. Get a private taxi for 35.00 dollars (not pesos) each way instead.

Never been to Xel-ha ... DO IT! Beautiful and amazing day with so many things to do and only a half hour drive from the resort.

All and all we did enjoy our trip and tried not to let the bad ruin the good but we def will not be returning nor recommending this resort to others. There has to be better than this in the area and upon returning, which we will as this area is FABULOUS, we will be staying elsewhere.

Room Tip: DO NOT STAY IN 4150! BEDBUGS! Building 1 is close to the bar and quite noisy at night.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Forshizzlemarizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay and have no real complaints. We asked to upgrade right away and were offered privileged at half price. Even though the room was nice, we decided to upgrade again to a suite. It was less than $300 and the room was amazing! Even with the two upgrades, we paid less $1300! it was a great deal! There was some inconvenience with having to wait in line for the a la carte restaurants but honestly the buffets were very good so if you didn't get in, no big deal! The food selection was great and no issues with sickness at all. Staff were friendly and helpful. The best part of this resort is that it's so close to the marina. We walked down almost everyday to see the dolphins and browse the shops and just gawk at the huge yachts! It was so much fun and very safe. It's nice to not be confined to the resort. The one downside of this resort is that the beach is rocky but if you read reviews in advance (which we did) you knew to pack water shoes! Plus the snorkelling right off the resort was fantastic so that made up for the beach. But if you're looking for miles of beach, this wouldn't be your
kind of resort. This was our third trip to the Mayan so we only did one excursion to Tulum and Jungle Maya. It was okay but I could see how some people would find it boring. Overall we had a great experience. I would recommend this resort for those who want to do a little more than just sit by the pool or beach. Take advantage of the marina and snorkelling!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AnMSmith123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, Director General at Catalonia Yucatan Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear AnmSmith123

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your last stay with us and for such nice comments.
It is great to know that you had a good time and enjoyed our facilities and services. We feel very proud of the impression you had from the hotel and our lovely country.
We definitely hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, it will be our pleasure to welcome and pamper you once again!

Sincerely
Hotel Manager
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

My daughter, two year old granddaughter and I (gramma) travelled to this resort for a wedding. We were given a room overlooking the wait line for the Japanese restaurant and next to the stage where the nightly shows occurred. After two nights listening to every word of the entertainment, with a two year old not able to sleep till the show was over we asked to be moved. The front desk said the only room available was a suite for $$$. Thinking the suite would be more secure (i.e.: no people right outside our patio every night) we paid the extra $$$ even tho we had previous paid $$ for the upgrade to privileged room. The combination of the original booking and upgrades should have put us in a five star resort royal suite, which this place is definitely not!

We were given a room on the street side on the main floor. The first night a man came by twice and spoke to us thru the fence while we were on the patio, each time we had to go inside. The second night, a man while it was dark stood by the fence staring at us, we yelled and threatened to call security and the fellow ran off. The front desk said they would send someone. No one came. Upon opening the patio door, we noticed the man was again peeping thru the fence and did not run off till we yelled again for five minutes. We again called security. No one came. We changed rooms again. Other than the bellboy, no one from security showed.
After speaking with the tour operator, security met with us two days later, we wanted to ensure that no other guests had the same experience. After the meeting, we received an email the night before we left indicating it was not their fault that as the incident occurred outside the resort (we were on the patio, peeping tome was on the other side of the fence ) they were not responsible and maybe we were like to have a free massage and some wine which was silly as we were leaving the next morning.. Needless to say we declined.

The service staff was wonderful, the food not too bad if you don't mind waiting in the one hour lineup every night, the beach was nice to lounge on.

I definitely would not return nor recommend this resort.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Canadiantraveller797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We have travelled a number of times and have stayed at numerous all inclusive resorts. This is the first time I feel compelled to write a review about a resort.
The Catalonia Yucatan/Riviera Maya is a resort I would definitely not be going back to, and would definitely not recommend.
We checked in and they promptly tried to upgrade us to a “privileged” room. The upgrade would have upped our vacation budget by about $1000. For that we would have chosen a different resort. I didn’t like the segregation aspect of the privileged and non-privileged areas. You should treat every guest the same way.
We were given an adequate room situated in the middle of the resort. The downside of this was that their delivery / work area is also situated in the middle of the resort. At all hours, trucks beeping as they are backing up or angle grinders whining away, didn’t make for a relaxing stay.
As far as the staff was concerned, there were a few that were genuinely nice. Other times, I felt like I was an inconvenience just by asking for a drink from a bartender.
The ala carte reservation system has been mentioned in previous reviews. A lot of standing in line just to get a reservation. Other resorts we have been to employ the concierge system of booking everything once at your leisure, which works very well.
We managed to make the most of our vacation. The sun was still a lot warmer there than back home. What it boils down to, is that if you have not been on an all inclusive vacation before, this resort is probably for you. If you have experienced other resorts, you will know that this one is lacking.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Just got home to a lot of snow !! This resort is smaller which I love we went with our 2 kids 6 and 9 year old boys they had a great time lots of snorkeling and great gated community which we felt really safe walking around. We took bikes (free) down by the marina saw some dolphins and cute shops and you don't even need to leave the resort. I have no clue why people complain I realize you cant please everyone but I have been to 9 different resorts in different places and this was the best food anywhere my older son is sooooo picky and he eat a ton no one got sick. Lots of choice meats and great variety for everyone don't listen to the haters we met a ton of people who loved the resort also everyone we spoke to had the same opinion. The staff were awesome Alfonso, Valerio , and many more were all very kind great with my boys and made the trip that much better so thank you! It can be cool in the morning and at night in jan and feb so make sure to bring more than one sweater as we did but the days were perfect weather. This resort is actually 2 resorts in one but you share all pools and bars really still felt like one resort but not to big just perfect to walk around and you can find everything really easy. The beach is very rocky but so much to look at great area to snorkel but if you are a beach lover and just want to run in and out may not be the place for you as it can be a bit tricky getting in and out we loved it. We have not one complaint about the resort the only thing that should be looked at as many others have spoke about is the dinner a la cart no reservation thing with kids and all it is hard to wait till 9 for dinner and you can wait in line and still not get in kinda crappy but buffet was just fine for us also.
All in all we would for sure go back to this resort I am not a fan of huge resorts! I don't like to have to take a train around which lots of resorts do. This resort is quaint and personable we met so many great people because it was a bit smaller.
ROOM we did not upgrade did not feel the need as we really only sleep in it but our room was awesome with the best view #4127 many of the rooms on the Maya Riviera upgraded side face trees and bushes but on the Catalonia side most face the ocean and the pools which you can sit on the balcony and still enjoy some entertainment.

Room Tip: 4127 was the best view we face the ocean and the pools. Was perfect i think in that block any on the 2/3/4 floor would be great. At night we could have our kids sleeping in bed while we sat on the balcony with drinks still had a great view close to the bar to grab more drinks :)
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Terraboberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, Director General at Catalonia Yucatan Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear Terraoberra

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your last stay with us and for such nice comments.
It is great to know that you had a good time and enjoyed our facilities and services. We feel very proud of the impression you had from the hotel and our lovely country.
We definitely hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, it will be our pleasure to welcome and pamper you once again!
Sincerely

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews