We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Catalonia Yucatan Beach
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed April 16, 2013

This is a really nice resort with first rate restaurants. The food was consistently good in both the a la carte restaurants and the buffets.

The Spa here is modern, extremely clean and had great staff. Lots of exercise equipment and spa facilities - would have liked to have had time to use it more!

Our room was very clean, with a lovely balcony where we could sit and see the ocean. Beds were comfortable and the rooms were quite quiet.

All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Very helpful front desk, Pablo, thanks so much.

The only drawback to this resort was the beach. It was not the best, quite rocky in places. We did enjoy kayaking and noticed a lot of people snorkelling and heard that it was quite good.

Most enjoyable.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank janejo_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Yucatan Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

“Enjoyed our stay”

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your last stay with us and for such nice comments.

It is great to know that you had a good time and enjoyed our facilities and services. We feel very proud of the impression you had from the hotel and our lovely country.

We definitely hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, it will be our pleasure to welcome and pamper you once again!

Sincerely
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

883 - 889 of 2,131 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2013

Period of travel : Easter 2013 (MAR-APR).
We originally booked our 2 weeks stay at Catalonia Yucatan.
The area is just wonderful....but we ended getting room 1153 + 1152 which were really BAD !
So we were moved quickly (at no additional cost) to the adjacent Catalonia Riviera Maya hotel...so please click on this hotel to see my full review.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank dwld26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Yucatan Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Dear dwld26,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay with. We deeply apologize if your stay with us was not a perfect experience since the begining as well as for the condition of the rooms that were first assigned to you and we are disappointed to have not met all your expectations during your stay with us.

Overall, we are happy to know that this issue did not spoil your entire vacation and you had a fun and relaxing time with us.

Yours sincerely,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I would give this resort a 3 to 3.5 star rating. This is an older resort, but very well kept and clean.
They were always cleaning. Room 3104 was well kept. The bed was so very comfortable. The fan in the bathroom was not working, the hair dryer was not working, one of the main lights was out and the curtain rod to the balcony was malfunctioning. Maintenance was prompt and had everything in working order very promptly. But, after a day of travelling, you really did not want to go to the desk to complain about this and that. They should check the rooms before travellers arrive. The housekeeper did a wonderful job of cleaning.

Noli Tours should let vacationers be aware that due the the change in Mexican government and the new laws, American money is no longer valid. We came with American money and very little Canadian money. The hotel would only exchange Canadian currency. This law is two years old and a complete surprise to us.

La Brisas and El Mercado were the two main restaurants. The food was "okay" and diversified.
The Spanish, Mexican and Steak Restaurants were all excellent. The creperie was also great.
I did not like the fact that at La Brisas you had to wait in line for a seat and be escorted to your table. This is the first time I have encountered this on holiday. Please take some lessons from Barcelo which is practically next door. The service at all restaurants and bars was excellent.

The pools were very good and well maintained. The beach and swimming were just okay as it was very rocky, but had no trouble finding a spot on the beach under a nice palm tree. The beverages were definitely watered down for obvious reasons. The red house wine was okay when it came out of the bottle, while the white was awful. I was surprised that red wine could come out of a hose. This was very different, but that's what they did at the bar - wine out of a hose. I guess it saves time opening real bottles of wine.

The entertainment was fun. They had dancing on the beach, zumba at the pool et cetera. The kayaks were less than up to par. The bicycles were okay but my seat kept falling down.
The main entertainment in the auditorium didn't start until 9:30 p.m. so we missed most of that, but the one we saw was very good.

The walk into Peurto Aventuras was very nice. The trip to the Rio Secreto was excellent. The trip to Ek Balam and the Mayan Cenote was excellent also, but eleven hours on the bus was way too much. Thank you Danique for your patience and knowledge. She was pleasant and informative. I would suggest taking this tour with a group from your hotel so that you will not have to endure a longer bus ride and picking people up at different resorts. Although, thank you Carlos for a safe trip.

I have not as yet stayed at the same place twice and am looking forward to my next adventure.

Room Tip: The second floor was good as you could walk up without a problem. The elevator left a lot to be des...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shirley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Yucatan Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.

It's a pleasure to know that you had a good time with us and you will keep a good memory of Mexico and our Hotel.

We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations.


Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

The staff are extremely friendly. We had to move rooms due to leaky air con; it wasn't too much trouble for them either. Everywhere is clean and tidy. The food is nice for a picky veggie like me. Lots of colourful fish to see in the lagoon. Corona beer on tap, nom. Sea floor a little rocky so water shoes advised. The marina is lovely in the evening; dolphins and sea lions relaxing. Shops and hotel take US dollars as well as Mexican peso's. Looking forward to coming back.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Spangl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Yucatan Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.

It is great to know that you had a good time and enjoyed our facilities and services. We feel very proud of the impression you had from the hotel and our lovely country.

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments about our staff members, who work to make you vacation experience as memorable as possible.
We hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, it will be our pleasure to welcome and pamper you once again!
Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We just returned from a week-long stay (March 30 - April 6, 2013) at the Catalonia Yucatan. Overall we had a very nice vacation. The weather was absolutely beautiful! Remember to pack lots of sunscreen, however, because the Mexican sun burns quickly. The off-shore breezes trick Northerners into thinking they are not getting burned.
The food at the buffet was average. My husband was ill the last two days of our trip from something that he ate. Coffee was hard to come by and the cups were small.
We all agreed that Mikado (the Japanese a-la-carte) and the Creperie were the two best places for good food. We also ate at the steakhouse and the Italian restaurant. The appetizer (Bruscetta), the salad (Caprese), and the dessert (Tiramisu) were the best parts of the Italian meal. The main course was not very good.
The Pure Chill Out bar had an amazing view of the water and provided some shade from the sun. The seating was comfortable there. It was a great place to read a book and enjoy a cocktail.
Our best experience was at the poolside Tequila bar with our favorite bartender Nosario. Nosario had a gift for making guests feel special. He greeted my husband and me by name and with a smile each day. He and my daughters exchanged a special handshake greeting. We were sad to learn that he would be off of work on our last day there. He took the time to say goodbye to our family before ending his shift. He even posed for photos with us (that we lost because of a corrupted HD card, sadly).
My family and I were pleased with all of the activities that were available free of charge. My husband really enjoyed the beach volleyball. We snorkeled and kayaked in the lagoon. We used the bicycles to ride into Puerto Aventuras for some shopping. Dolphin Discovery is also in walking distance. My girls really enjoyed their dolphin adventures. There were many activities in the Riviera pool daily. Entertainment staff recruited kids and adults to join in on the fun.
The hotel was overbooked the week we were there and there were not many options with room choices. Our room was located directly across from the nighttime entertainment and was very loud. The room was kept clean and the cleaning staff created special towel sculptures each day. The standard room does not come equipped with a coffee maker or an alarm clock. We did not feel it was worth the money to upgrade to a privileged room since we used the room only for sleeping and showering.
I would recommend a room on the Yucatan side since that side is less noisy than the Riviera side. We checked in on the Yucatan side, but we were given a room on the Riviera side.
We booked through Nolitours and were supposed to receive a welcome package upon our arrival. After many visits to the front desk to inquire about it, we received our package on the evening before our departure. So for us it was more of a departure package.
The cleanliness, the staff (particularly the bartenders), and the location (away from the Cancun party zone) are the three best reasons to book at the Catalonia. It is a great place to meet people from all over the world. We met some great people from the US, Canada, England, Germany, Russia and, of course, Mexico!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DZatTheBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

March 16-24th. I recently got back from this resort and can't wait to go back. I was worried about the beach/water because of other comments about the rocks but it turned out better than any other beach I have been to. My friends from work also went to the Mayan and couldn't go in the water where they were because of the choppiness...but we could where we were because you could always swim on the sides that are shelter by the rocks. The water was calmer there, perfect for little ones.Great snorkeling right at the resort! Tons of fish to see. The lagoon was great too as you could have a dip and kayak over there.
Food was good, restaurants were wonderful especially the Steak House and Japanese. Staff was kind and welcoming. Standard rooms were just as great as any other resort I had stayed at before. We had a peak at other upgraded rooms while the maids were cleaning and we didn't see any reason to upgrade.
We took the ferry to Cozumel for $13 each way but would have rather just stayed in Playa Del Carmen as there wasn't much to do. Taxi ride from hotel to Playa Del Carmen was $22 each way.
Next time I come I will bring smaller Canadian bills, no need to convert to pesos, they like Canadian money, more so than American.Bring water shoes. Also bring a few empty large water bottles especially if you are staying in a Standard room. They have a self serve water dispenser at the Tequila Bar.
The elevators were a bit out of shape and some times didn't work but it wasn't far to the ground floor even with us being on the forth floor...that would be my only complaint if I had one.

Room Tip: Standard room was great. We looked at the upgraded rooms and didn't see a reason to upgrade. Als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cubagirlBc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Yucatan Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us and for such nice comments.
It is great to know that you had a good time and enjoyed our facilities and services. We feel very proud of the impression you had from the hotel and our lovely country.
We definitely hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, it will be our pleasure to welcome and pamper you once again!
Sincerely
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Smaller hotel, excellent service, food and entertainment. The specialty restaurants were awesome. No reservations - no problem. They make you comfortable while you wait. Better than any experiences in Canada and US. Wait staff very speedy and friendly. Was there over New Years, although the music wasn't my thing..the work the planners went through to make it a truly special occassion - crazy! 2 days to set up and only a few hours to tear down. 6:30 the next morning everything was back to normal. Our room was not a 4 star, but I believe we got what we paid for. Lovely view off the deck, quiet, clean. Would/will go back. Also, although we were not travelling with young children, they seemed to be very geared for them, with lots of activities through the day. Red flagged beach every day (had to fight for beach chairs ) but we enjoyed the water, did a bit of snorkling, saw many colorful fish...but if your a keener, I'd recommend a day trip specifically for this. I rated the Service as average, as I believe all the All Inclusives try to satisfy the travellers the best they can, at the time. The only issue we experienced, we had an emergency at home, it would have been nice to have access to a fluent english speaking person. A lot got lost in translation, which added more stress and frustration to the already complicated situation. (Nolitours / MYELLI "WORLD" TRAVEL on site and their Emergency number - was no help) We really will go back, and next time hope to relax.

Room Tip: The only complaint we heard was, do not get a beach room. You get the noise from the outdoor entert...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alaska-Highway-girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Yucatan Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us and for such nice comments.
It is great to know that you had a good time and enjoyed our facilities and services. We feel very proud of the impression you had from the hotel and our lovely country.
We certainly hope you do decide to visit us again in the future, and please feel free to contact our Concierge department during your next visit, if you do need any assistance during your stay.
It will be our pleasure to welcome and pamper you again!
Sincerely
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
0 mi away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
9,749 reviews
23 mi away
Catalonia Playa Maroma
Catalonia Playa Maroma
#4 of 6 in Playa Maroma
8,139 reviews
18.1 mi away
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda
#99 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
10,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#11 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,941 reviews
1.7 mi away
Barcelo Maya Colonial
Barcelo Maya Colonial
#5 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
6,496 reviews
1.8 mi away
Barcelo Maya Palace
Barcelo Maya Palace
#6 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
8,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Yucatan Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Yucatan Beach

Address: Av. Xcacel Lote 1 Plano 2 MZ, Puerto Aventuras 77783, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#13 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range: $159 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Yucatan Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Catalonia Yucatan Beach Resort & Spa is located in the heart of the Riviera Maya, on the private estate of Puerto Aventuras. Located on the beautiful Mexican Caribbean coast, this resort is directly on the beach and offers a comfortable and peaceful atmosphere, perfect for a relaxing break. This mystical area boasts many Mayan archaeological ruins that include Chichen Itza, Tulum and Tikal as well as the natural attractions of Xel-Ha, Cozumel and Xcaret. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Catalonia Yucatan Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Yucatan Beach Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Catalonia Yucatan Beach Puerto Aventuras
Catalonia Yucatan Beach Riviera Maya/Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing