We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“And week at the Carolina Beach Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Catalonia Yucatan Beach
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“And week at the Carolina Beach Resort”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

March 14th until the 24th 2013 really enjoyed our stay very clean and well maintained resort. The staff are very friendly and professional. The staff is very hard working it also has a great spa. The front desk staff are very efficient. We went with Nolitours. They were also great as they were at the resort most days. The restaurants were also good. It staff were fast and professional a lot faster the most restaurants in Canada.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenguy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Yucatan Beach, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear kenguy25,

We would like to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.

It's a pleasure to know that you had a good time with us and you will keep a good memory of Mexico and our Hotel.

We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations.

Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,948 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    768
    782
    262
    87
    49
See reviews for
541
936
26
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ontario
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We were here two years ago and had a great vacation . So shopping for a last minute march break trip it came up again so off we went .
In two years this resort is as good as it was then .There is nothing you can complain about .The whole resort is kept well groomed .Its amazing how many people they have employed to keep the place tip top .The rooms were great , they were booked to capacity so we got upgraded at no charge to an oceanfront priveledged room .Perfect!
Every staff member had a smile no matter what ,bartenders were great .
The food was excellent ,great selection with a few places to choose from .We never ate off resort and never tired of the food .The only thing I can say about the frontline food people is I would never want your job. We cannot believe how rude people can be to these workers ,rather embarassing.
The layout of the resort is perfect ,there are actually two sides you can choose to spend your time .It seemed all the loudness and march breakers were on one side and the rest of us were on the other which is separated by restuarants and a block of rooms .Then there is all those that choose to be on the beach .
Doesn't matter where you are in this resort ,everything is close .
A full week on the resort and there is nothing I can complain about ,a great stay!
By the way we shopped in the marina store in puerto aventurous for a particular tequila .It was 480 pesos and we wanted two so we opted for the collectivo to Akumal and purchased 2 bottles at 250 pesos a piece. the ride was 60 pesos for the 2 of us each way .So we spent a couple early morning hours going to Akumal ,got to ride in a collectivo for the first time ,got see our old stomping grounds and saved 30 bucks .
We would return but recomend making an effort to shop else where unless you don't mind spending top dollar.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lukinfirsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Yucatan Beach, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Lukinfirsun,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your last stay with us.

We feel very proud and glad to hear such nice comments from our repeat guests, It is great to know that you had a good holiday with us.

We definitely hope to see you again soon for yourthird visit, it will be our pleasure to welcome you once again!

Sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We travelled with our two children aged 4 and 6. They loved the kids club! A special shout out to Maya and Sharon! They were wonderful and made our vacation a special one! We could spend time alone and our kids loved spending time playing with the other children. Mini disco was good but a little too late in the evening for little ones who played hard all day : )
Rooms we were in 4315 beds were awful! Need to be replaced sunk in the middle and broken wood underneath the mattress!!!!! and the air conditioner looked liked they never cleaned the vents or filters lots of dirt came out when turned on!
The resort is small and you have a wonderful view of the ocean in all eating areas, and most rooms! We had a great vacation but expected a little better food for the star rating and better beds!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Yucatan Beach, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Tracey P,

We would like to thank you for your feedback of your last stay with us. We are deeply glad to hear that you spent a great time with us and your kids loved the miniclub, I will let Mara and Sharon know, I am sure they will fell very proud.

Please accept my apologies for the condition of your room, I will address this to the housekeeping and maintainence department in order to fix it and ensure this situation will not happen again in the future.

We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations.


Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager



Yours sincerely,

Hote Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 20, 2013

This hotel is falsely advertised. When you book at Yucatan, you may just get a room at the Catalonia Riviera Maya, next door.

The on-site Nolitours rep unapologetically explained to me that the two hotels are run as one, with two lobbies. She had no empathy for the fact that I had used the imagery of Cat Yucatan to convince my parents (aged 80 and 86) to spend the money and health insurance for a family get-together there. We had 3 groups converge there (3 rooms). We took great pains at time of booking to ask for rooms near each other, and away from the disco (young kids in one group). The young-kids group was first shown the room adjoining the lobby ... across the hall from the disco. We complained and got a better (nice) room. The next two groups, including the seniors, were pointed at two rooms in the bowels of the Riviera Maya, in the corner farthest from the Yucatan and farthest from the beach, with window views of other rooms' windows. This is despite the fact that we had booked and paid 6 weeks in advance for Cat *Yucatan*. We complained A LOT, very stressful for the seniors, and after about an hour got better rooms.

It's beautiful, we had a great time, but we will not go back because we cannot expect to repeat our experience. I feel like we dodged 3 bullets and may not be as lucky next time, since we had gone to great lengths at booking time to specify what we wanted (cross-referencing our booking numbers, etc.)

Room Tip: You have little control over what room, or what hotel, you will end up in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mums80th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Yucatan Beach, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear mums80th,

Thank you for writing us your comments about your stay with us, the opinion of our guests is very important to us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.

We regret not having been able to fulfill your expectations regarding your stay with us.
Regarding the room situation, I would like to inform you that our hotel operates with a “run of the house” system and therefore any requests concerning room location or view cannot be guarantee as they are subject to availability, our Front Desk department does its best to comply with all the requests, however this is not always possible.

Be sure that myself, my colleages and all the hotel staff will take your comments very seriosly in order to surprise you positively in your next visit to our hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Great weather the last 2 weeks of February.Finally got brave and swam in the ocean only to have 2 women and 1 guy who looked like "The Crusher" talking about seeing a baby shark.End of Ocean time.The Special stuff. The Creperie . Lots of Ice Cream Yummy.A La Cartes.Wonderful.
Special Thanks to Publo and his staff in the steakhouse.Observed great daycare staff.Kids had a great time.Well looked after.Loved the late night pool room bar.We beat them women every game.Nice Shooters.
Cons;
Great staff except in the Morning Buffets.Workers don't look happy at all.Hard to get a coffee.Forget the wait to be seated.I was privileged and all i wanted was to go seat my self and eat and have my beverages served to me.Need more staff.Short order cooks don't make full use of the grill space.2 omelettes at a time.
My pet peeve and not just this resort was how certain Francos would just go to the front of the line,ignoring us in line while they ordered ahead of us.Good and bad with every nationality.Just soundind off.
Loved the Staff

Room Tip: Worthwhile to upgrade to privileged.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LESPHEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Yucatan Beach, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear LESPHEL,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your last stay with us.
It is good to know that you had a good time and enjoyed our facilities and services.

I apologize if you did not receive the level of service you were expecting from us at the buffet. Be sure that all these comments will be forwarded to the person responsible for the restaurant.

We definitely hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, it will be our pleasure to welcome and pamper you once again!

Yours Sincerely
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Wonderful customer service oriented staff, excellent facilities superior to many of the larger Mayan Riviera resorts. Clean rooms with great housekeeping, good gym, excellent restaurants (buffet and a la carte), lots of palapas, variety of entertainment, good shopping (shops and market stalls), beautiful grounds, lovely pools, great animation staff, good snorkelling. Stayed in a Privileged room (more spacious and nicer bathroom) in the Riviera section, and was happy to have the minibar filled with water. People we met showed us their regular room in the Yucatan, and it was very nice as well (they were very happy with it during their two week visit). Steak House was amazing, as was the Mexican and Japanese restaurants. Bike tour of Puerto Aventuras provided a chance to see the local area and encouraged us to walk in for shopping and a look at the dolphins (my daughter and a gal she met went running in Puerto Aventuras and had no trouble finding their way around). The hike to the highway to catch the Collectivo to Tulum was a bit far, but manageable, and far more affordable (35 pesos) than a taxi (325 pesos) or the tour offered by the operator. Close to Akumal and the best snorkelling on the coast. Have stayed in 4 resorts on Mayan Riviera, and this small hotel compares very favourably with others, would definitely stay here again, and am encouraged to try a Catalonia in the Dominican. The hotel clearly values its clients, trains their staff very well and emphasizes customer service!

Room Tip: Rooms away from the ocean are quieter, away from pools. Riviera section Privileged rooms are wonder...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Yucatan Beach, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Susan K,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your last stay with us and for such nice comments.

It is great to know that you had a good time and enjoyed our facilities and services.We feel very proud of the impression you had from the hotel and our lovely country.

We definitely hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, it will be our pleasure to welcome and pamper you once again!

Sincerely

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dauphin, Canada
1 review
Reviewed March 17, 2013

clean,clean,clean,well run. however noisy from room to room. had to change rooms because of noisy winnipeg traveller who had a booming voice, air has only on or off, no temp. adjustment.beach rocky, no hot tub, anywhere, food real good, 75 min. from airport. excellent staff trying to do there best to make your stay fun and help you in anyway, and not on mexican time either!

Room Tip: upgrade to piviledge, well worth the $40.00 a night
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tam714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Yucatan Beach, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Tam714,

We would like to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.

It's a pleasure to know that you had a good time with us and you will keep a good memory of Mexico and our Hotel.

We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations.


Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
0.0 mi away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,353 reviews
12.4 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
23.0 mi away
Catalonia Playa Maroma
Catalonia Playa Maroma
#4 of 5 in Playa Maroma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
#75 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11,795 reviews
11.7 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
156.4 mi away
Hotel Barcelo Maya Beach
Hotel Barcelo Maya Beach
#11 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Yucatan Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Yucatan Beach

Property: Catalonia Yucatan Beach
Address: Av. Xcacel Lote 1 Plano 2 MZ, Puerto Aventuras 77783, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#12 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#13 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Yucatan Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Catalonia Yucatan Beach Resort & Spa is located in the heart of the Riviera Maya, on the private estate of Puerto Aventuras. Located on the beautiful Mexican Caribbean coast, this resort is directly on the beach and offers a comfortable and peaceful atmosphere, perfect for a relaxing break. This mystical area boasts many Mayan archaeological ruins that include Chichen Itza, Tulum and Tikal as well as the natural attractions of Xel-Ha, Cozumel and Xcaret. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Catalonia Yucatan Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Yucatan Beach Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Catalonia Yucatan Beach Puerto Aventuras
Catalonia Yucatan Beach Riviera Maya/Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing