We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Catalonia Yucatan Beach
Nearby Hotels
Barcelo Maya Palace(Puerto Aventuras)
$277
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Maya Colonial(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
$195
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Maya Caribe(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
$238
$191
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Catalonia Riviera Maya(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
$360
$174
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Maya Tropical(Puerto Aventuras)
$233
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
$220
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Maya Beach(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
$196
Barcelo.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Resort(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya(Puerto Aventuras)
$400
$333
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya(Puerto Aventuras)
$459
$349
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,181)
Filter reviews
2,181 results
Traveler rating
885
853
294
93
56
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
885
853
294
93
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgated communitya la cartesplaya del carmensnack barwater shoestapasfishcrepesstandard roomriviera sidejapanese restaurantair transatpure chill out barthomas cooksteakanimation staffsea lions
Filter
Updating list...
977 - 982 of 2,181 reviews
Reviewed January 29, 2013

This review is a tad bit late (we were there in Feb 2012). My sister and I went and it was our first all inclusive trip. We didn't really know what to expect but we were very pleased with the resort.
We stayed in your basic room and found it to be spacious and very clean. No complaints there! The resort itself it small, but it is also right beside their sister resort and you can use the facilities on both sides. The beach is small but very pretty. There is a small lagoon to the side which was nice to relax at. The grounds are kept very well.
There are two buffet restaurants to choose from. Both are very good and offer plenty of variety. We also tried a few of the a la cartes. The steakhouse was awesome! My only complaint reagrding the restaurants would be the snack shack as many times when you'd stop by the burgers would be dried out from sitting in the steam trays so long or there were none there at all. No big deal though because there was always something to munch on if you were really hungry.
The staff were very friendly, the entertainment staff were great! Always something going on to keep people having fun! The night shows were amazing as well. Don't miss Allegra. Definitely a must see show!
After everything that had been in the news at the time about Mexico we were nervous about travelling there, but the Catalonia Yucatan is in a gated community and you feel very safe. We wandered down to the marina and explored the shops there and had a great time. We would definitely go back!
Overall a great place to stay.

Room Tip: We had a room on the third floor in the corner by the elevator. It's close to the disco so you can hear the bass somewhat and sometimes in the morning you can hear the garbage trucks but it wasn't a big deal. We were happy with our room.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carrie-Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

No electricity or water in room until second day,late in day for electricity.No hot water until afternoon on fourth day .No effort by managment to make bad situation better(they could have at least sent a bucket of water so we could flush the toilet).I had to firmly ask a manager to follow me to our room & feel the water before we got hot water(after complaining to the front desk,on the phone,the concierge & the nolitours rep.each several times).the concierge asked us to come see her an offered us a bottle of tequila for our troubles,that never came until late on our last day & only after we asked her why she bothered asking us to see her(she looked embarassed).The room would have been nice if things were working & the grounds were nice.The jr staff tried hard & our maid did a great job making up the room.Some of the waiters & bar tenders were really good.High lights included the nice people we met there(other vacationers & afore mentioned jr staff),the japaneese restaurant & quad jungle trip(ran by other company).We were there Jan 17th--24th.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank bruce b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Yucatan Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We deeply apologize if your stay with us was not a perfect experience

Starting with myself and all my colleagues and managers, we are disappointed to have not met your expectations during your stay with us.

I hear all your comments, and certainly we will take seriously your feedback and see possibilities to improve and make sure your next visit will exceed your expectations.

Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Hotel Catalonia Yucatan on beach,that has snorkelling on the private beach as it has a small reef. Daily catamaran rides for 2 people max. Nice pools, great buffet. A la carte tickets per week isseued and go to the Japanese restaurant and steakhouse and Mexican for sure!

Clean room. My daughter had to have tub so we had shower/ tub combo. Blue ocean looks so gorgeous. Beach no vendors as private and plenty of loungers and palapa coverage. Vendors come with silver jewellry and trinkets around pool several times a week. Got silver earrings with Australian fire opals for 10% of other places and good quality. Also have entertainment, good prices to take taxi to Playa Del Carmen. Safe due to great security and Marina walking distance a must see. Tours to X Caret and Xel Ha and Sian Caan nearby and can be booked at Hotel lobby but lineups make it a slow process. Try to book tours in advance. Went through Transat/Nolitours direct flights from Vancouver.

Room Tip: Get room overlooking pool or ocean
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lulu1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Yucatan Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.

It's a pleasure to know that you had a good time with us and you will keep a good memory of Mexico and our Hotel.

We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations.


Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Must admit I was worried about coming here after reading the reviews - but have to say that I was impressed by this place for the overall price.

Yes, the food was a bit average, and we upgraded our rooms (no fridges is pretty hard going in the heat) but the location is just fantastic.

Use it as a base to visit Akumal, Tulum, or the cenotes. The wildlife in the area is mind blowing: turtles, raccoons, mantarays & pelicans. It's paradise for snorkellers. There were many people who didn't leave the hotel, more fool them! They expect everything on a plate. My biggest gripe was the rowdy behaviour of the guests - shouting & carrying on like a bunch of apes.

There was a power cut one night & guests behaved like it was Armageddon. I was ashamed of the way guests spoke to the staff. What an embarrassment.

We paid £700 for flights & all inclusive for a week from the UK. This hotel is brilliant value for the money.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank PosadaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Yucatan Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.

It's a pleasure to know that you had a good time with us and you will keep a good memory of Mexico and our Hotel.

We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations.


Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I have to pretty much agree with HumblTraveler's review below overall. Stayed Jan. 12-19/13, couple with two young children, and had the NoliPlus (Air Transat) privilege superior room package which gave a room actually on the Riviera Maya side of the hotel, though it is seamless and a compact property that really felt like one resort. Would like to try a suite if we went back, if the price was right, but room was in good condition. Overall very little to complain about. Very clean, privilege superior room was very good with mini fridge, flatscreen and nice marble bathroom etc. as others have noted. Maid service was without issue. Food service in buffets and some of the bars was sometimes spotty and staff person dependent it seemed, but not enough to cause us a concern; we are fairly relaxed and not about to get too over bothered or sweat the small stuff. Big picture is that we enjoyed the resort. We've been to higher end resorts, paid more, and to slightly lower quality resorts too in various countries with good experiences, and certainly enjoyed this resort. If the resort reads this review, one thing that was a bit of a drag, especially with kids and wanting to have a bit of a plan for evening meals, was that no reservations were taken for al la carts. You had to que up and see how long it might be, so planning for the evening at all was some nights a complete guess. Once you committed to go to a restaurant you could not wander around, though there were places right there to sit and have a drink if you could get a table. Waits were for us about 60 minutes or one evening was about 90 minutes. I would prefer to be able to book my time and run my vacation on my time and not have to gamble every evening if attending an al la carte. If we passed up the al la cartes I guess this would not be an issue, but it was nice to have table service. Anyway, big picture was that it was a positive experience and good value in the privileged superior room. We'd go again if the price was right for the privileged superior room or suite. Would have considered a suite this time but everything I read said suites were a max of two people, but we saw and heard of guests with children in suites so that is something I would try to book in the future. Also enjoyed being in a gated community and could walk to the Dolphin Discovery Centre in Puerto Aventuras in about 5 minutes. Didn't have to swim with the Dolphins to get alot of great picts, and there were shops and restaurants too.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank greenisthecolour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Yucatan Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.

It's a pleasure to know that you had a good time with us and you will keep a good memory of Mexico and our Hotel.

We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations.


Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews