We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Catalonia Yucatan Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Catalonia Yucatan Beach
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Vaughan, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

nice place, more for older couples, met alot of nice ppl, this is not a place if your are looking to go dancing, you are in a secluded area but very safe. There are bikes that you can take to go around, you can also go into town with a bus or taxi, cheaper to go with the bus about 2.50 us and taxi is 20.00us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 4greeneyes6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Yucatan Beach, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.

It's a pleasure to know that you had a good time with us and you will keep a good memory of Mexico and our Hotel.

We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations.


Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    667
    708
    236
    82
    46
See reviews for
480
828
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oshawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We just returned today from Catalonia Yucatan. Had the best time ever! Met loads of great people and the staff are totally amazing. The hotel and rooms are amazingly clean, the grounds are beautiful and you will never go hungry! I want to make a special mention to my boys at the Tequila Bar...Nazario, Jeremias and Manuel and one more but cant remember your name, you boys made the trip really great, and so nice to be treated so well by people who truly enjoy what they do. I am already booking for next May. One last thing, if you dont stay in the superior rooms, bring a kettle for coffee in the morning....I would totally recommed the standard rooms but they dont provide a coffee maker...but if thats the only downfall....big deal!

Room Tip: I would really recommend the standard rooms, 3rd floor...you look out on the pool and the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank 124cheryl124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Yucatan Beach, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.

It's a pleasure to know that you had a good time with us and you will keep a good memory of Mexico and our Hotel.

We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations.


Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Amazing!! Can't fault the place.. Stayed for 11 nights for honeymoon total relaxation great entertainment plenty food choice and drink.. Would defiantly go back. Staff are so friendly and helpful no matter what! Plenty of trips available if you want to go anywhere would deffo recommend coco bongos and Captain Hook.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank MrsGrayskull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Yucatan Beach, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.

It's a pleasure to know that you had a good time with us and you will keep a good memory of Mexico and our Hotel.

We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations.


Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My cousin and I went from sept 22 to the 29th. We had an amazing time at this resort. There weren't as many tourist staying as we thought there will be but I guess that's also because it was this time of the year. But the resort alone was breathe taking, it has an amazing view of the ocean and it was close to all the restaurants they had to offer. When given those vaulter coupons for the specialized restaurant be sure to use them, you won't be disappointment. The food was amazing, had the best steak I ever ate ever! The staff were super friendly and they are very helpful! I felt as if I was treated like royalty, they are genuinely nice and caring. The only down side is if you are looking for a great night life, this isn't the place.. It's more for relaxation and spending some quality time in the resort. The nearest night life is 20 minutes away in playa del Carmen. But over all, I have no complaints :) love it.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank _misskayyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Yucatan Beach, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.

It's a pleasure to know that you had a good time with us and you will keep a good memory of Mexico and our Hotel.

We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations.


Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

The experience at Catalonia was average to me. The resort feels small. It would be much better if the theater was outside. Sections of the beach are rocky but it is great for snorkeling. It is really worth to get out there, the fish and reefs are spectacular. My biggest downturn is the lack of proper kids pools. There is nothing for kids 5 to 8 as the baby section is too shallow and the adult section too deep. My daughter almost drowned there as there is a huge step into the adult pool that is dangerous.This hotel is very safe as it's within a gated community and you are free to take a walk down the street. There are stores with memorabilia, as well as restaurants and even dolphins! Overall I think this resort is great for adults but not so much for kids.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mysun1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Yucatan Beach, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We deeply apologize if your stay with us was not a perfect experience

Starting with myself and all my colleagues and managers, we are disappointed to have not met your expectations during your stay with us.

I hear all your comments, and certainly we will take seriously your feedback and see possibilities to improve and make sure your next visit will exceed your expectations.

Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

First time at this resort.have been to the one in Tulum( which was fabulous)
This resort was much better than I anticipated. Ground and the rooms were quite nice and very clean. Beach was not spectacular but the small area was enough to still enjoy it.
I feel that this resort's most precious commidity is their staff they were warm and went above and beyond to make your stay more enjoyable. The Animation staff in particular were awesome, working diligently to get the guest involved in activities without being pushy. Shout out to my girl Pita her sense of humour made rainy days bearable.
\kudos also to staff in the restaurants who went out of their way to get me a cappucino if not offered at the restaurant we were in.\overall a great resort and would highly recommend it to most. Only people who may not be as enthusatic are people who like to walk alot on the beach, there really isn't a great expanse of beach to walk other than that Thank you Catalonia for giving a great experience on our holidays

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cristina56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Yucatan Beach, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.

It's a pleasure to know that you had a good time with us and you will keep a good memory of Mexico and our Hotel.

We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations.


Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I visited this resort end of January. Gorgeous weather, rooms were basic, no mini fridge or bottled water, but were so clean.We had a basic room, top floor, facing pool partial ocean view. after seeing the privileged rooms honestly I think the basic rooms had a much better view ! buffets were great always lots of choices, never a long wait to be seated . We tried the steakhouse, very good and Japanese restaurant worth the wait excellent !! Don't miss the creperie , best milkshakes and Creps ever ! The location was safe but expensive for any outings because so far out . The beach was very disappointing , very small and rocky but all and all a nice vacation, great value ! Probably won't stay again unless we get a great deal since the beach area was so disappointing.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Downton77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Yucatan Beach, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.

It's a pleasure to know that you had a good time with us and you will keep a good memory of Mexico and our Hotel.

We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations.


Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
0.0 mi away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#11 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 stars 6,557 reviews
23.0 mi away
Catalonia Playa Maroma
Catalonia Playa Maroma
#4 of 5 in Playa Maroma
4.0 of 5 stars 5,494 reviews
9.7 mi away
Catalonia Royal Tulum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Barcelo Maya Beach
Hotel Barcelo Maya Beach
#9 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 stars 6,963 reviews
1.8 mi away
Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe
Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 stars 4,750 reviews
8.8 mi away
Occidental Grand Xcaret All Inclusive Resort
Occidental Grand Xcaret All Incl...
#64 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 stars 10,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Yucatan Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Yucatan Beach

Property: Catalonia Yucatan Beach
Address: Av. Xcacel Lote 1 Plano 2 MZ, Puerto Aventuras 77783, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#12 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#13 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Yucatan Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Catalonia Yucatan Beach Resort & Spa is located in the heart of the Riviera Maya, on the private estate of Puerto Aventuras. Located on the beautiful Mexican Caribbean coast, this resort is directly on the beach and offers a comfortable and peaceful atmosphere, perfect for a relaxing break. This mystical area boasts many Mayan archaeological ruins that include Chichen Itza, Tulum and Tikal as well as the natural attractions of Xel-Ha, Cozumel and Xcaret. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Catalonia Yucatan Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Yucatan Beach Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Catalonia Yucatan Beach Puerto Aventuras
Catalonia Yucatan Beach Riviera Maya/Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing