We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
39 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
$316
View deal
Booking.com
$347
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/31/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
travelup.com
$301
View deal
Hotels.com$316
Barcelo.com$316
Trip.com$565
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (14,395)
Filter reviews
14,395 results
Traveler rating
9,491
2,727
1,183
505
489
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
9,491
2,727
1,183
505
489
Show reviews that mention
All reviews other resorts french restaurant oaxaca building fish coco bar sea turtles premium level spring break family vacation adult pool beautiful resort dinner reservations specialty restaurants barcy club the check in process guest services great trip
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5,118 - 5,123 of 14,395 reviews
Reviewed May 12, 2017

We stayed for our 30th wedding anniversary from April 20-27. This was our first stay at the Palace, yet our 5th stay at the Barcelo (Colonial and Tropical in the past).
We arrived in the morning and knew that we'd have to wait until 3 to get a room, not a problem. However, we stood in line for 45 minutes upon arrival and then again for 1.5 hours at 3. There must be a better way for the front desk to process arrivals. When it was finally our turn, we were told that they had upgraded us to a 3rd floor oceanfront room-we were ecstatic!!! So then we go looking for the assigned room only to find 1st floor poolside...what??? My husband went back to reception to see what was up-apparently we were lied to by the original front desk clerk. Why???
I had emailed the hotel 10 days before arriving to arrange our anniversary dinner at the French restaurant for the night we arrived. I never heard back from the hotel. Fortunately, we were able to book in the next night-not our anniversary, but better than nothing.
On day 3 of our stay, my husband started feeling funny. On day 4, he was bedridden. I've been with this guy for 35 years and seen him sick 3 times-he is no wuss. He was so ill and weak I was worried we may not be able to fly home. Once home, he went to the doctor and confirmed to have salmonella. We've been home just over two weeks now and he is finally feeling back to normal.
We fell in love with the Barcelo ten years ago, but I don't know if we will ever be back. We certainly feel that it isn't worth the extra $$ to stay at the Palace.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
8  Thank stampinkris
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2017

Dear Guest,
Although we sincerely regret your disappointment with your stay in our Barceló Palace, we would like to thank you for sharing your comments as it will help us to identify areas of concern and act immediately so as to enhance our future guests' experience among us.
We sincerely regret reading that you were taken ill during your stay and lament not being informed immediately as we would have been able to assist you and call a doctor for a checkup. However we would like to reassure you on our hygienic procedures and point out that our hotel, like every other hotel of our company, undergoes regular internal and external controls on food safety and adheres to strict standards on food processing, manipulation and conservation; under no circumstances we would put our guests’ health at risk by offering food unfit for consumption.
We sincerely apologize for not being able to offer you the possibility to upgrade your room due to high occupancy during your stay and encourage you for future occasions to contact our call center to help you choose and book the accommodation type that best meets all your holiday requirements.
Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certaily look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future.
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2017

My girlfriend and I spend a wonderful week here at Barcelo Maya Palace. I have to say one of the highlights of our visit was the friendly service that we received every morning from Adan Altunar and Estela Itza during breakfast. They went above and beyond to make us feel welcome and taken care of. Their excellent service and friendly conversation quickly became the highlight of our days!!

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Albi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2017

Dear Albi R,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review!! We fell happy knowing that your vacation was excellent as you mentioned our friendly Staff has been taken care of you creating this great experiences and leaving you satisfied which is our main goal.

Once again we appreciate your kind comments and hope to welcome you back real soon.

Best Regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2017

Front desk personal were rude. Rooms were dirty and smelly. Worst vacation!
The Gerente never came out to talk to us! A group of eight, we all had problems.
I know people review this place as a 4 or 5 star. Don't believe it. You are better of staying at the lower price one because you will be treated better! And the 1000.00 bonus! It's a lie to railed you in. The only place you could use it is, the Barcelos Vacation. In other words if you purchase a time share you could get 40%off. 15 on spa that it's overed priced and 25%on upgrades. Oh. Only if you upgrade to premium. Starts at 169 a night. Oh, but wait a minute, only if there are rooms available. No free wi-if! Ridiculous! Oh, and you need a card to get your towels! The room above us was been remodel, at 11pm and noon, and 6:00am in the morning. The rooms got clean sometimes as late as 7 pm. Really? And breakfast is the same old thing everyday! So much for the palace status! It was no better than the colonial or Caribe. So why pay more? The elevators were filthy! And the beach had seedweed galore! Plus the palace's beach it's the worst. Rocks and seedweed.

Room tip: Michoacán building.
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Estelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2017

Dear Guest,
We first would like to thank you for choosing our Barceló Palace for your holidays in Riviera Maya and for letting us know your concerns relating to your time in our hotel as it gives us an opportunity to look at areas which may have for improvement and for that we are grateful.
We were most concerned to read your remarks on the service you expérienced whilst staying among us, mostly because your comments do not reflect the usual standard of service we strive to ensure for our guests, nevertheless please rest assured that your review will be shared with our head of departments for information and further revision.
Please rest assured we have taken good note of your remarks related to prices and sincerely regret your dissatisfaction, mostly beacuse we always strive to give the best value to our guests studying the prices in accordance with hotels of the same category in our area.
Thank you for your insights regarding our buffets, although we lament reading that we weren't able to meet your culinary wishes on this occasion, please rest assured that your comments will be shared with our Chefs to enhance our future guests' dining experiences.
Thank you again for your visit and constructuve critics, our primary goal being to assure our guests feel comfortable and fully enjoy their visits, we are eager to regain your confidence during another occasion if you gave us that chance.
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2017

This was a great trip. We booked our vacation for the Barcelo Tropical and when we got there we were told we had been upgraded to the Palace. We were very impressed with the property and had a great stay. We did visit the other resorts in the complex and all were nice and had something different to offer. The pool at the palace was huge with plenty of room. Same for the beaches. Never felt crowded. The water and the reef just off the beach was excellent for snorkeling with lot's of sea life. Food was pretty good at all of the buffets and restaurants. After seeing the other hotels I would absolutely stay at the Palace again over the other resorts on the property. All of the staff were very friendly and worked hard to make sure our stay was great.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
3  Thank E8639BPjeffb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2017

Dear Jeffrey,

We appreciate you kind comments and want to thank you for staying with us at the Barceló Maya Palace. Your comments motivates us to continue providing the best service possible to make all our guests satisfied . We are glad that you have enjoyed , the beach , the food , snorkeling and the hospitality of the staff.

We will be more than pleased to welcome you back hopefully soon.

Best Regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2017

This hotel is amazing, from the food at the buffets and the al a carte restaurants, the pool swim up bar to the kids water park.
if you can't be happy in this hotel then I'm not sure you could be happy in any hotel in Mexico.
Wonderful friendly staff that are always at hand to help you out with anything you may need.
We will most definitely return again.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank davidpK3624VM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2017

Dear David,

Thank you very much for your amazing review and evaluation! We feel happy knowing that you have enjoyed our restaurants , pools, water park and the friendliness of our staff. We are looking forward to have the pleasure to receive you back to your home away from home.

Best Regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews