We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
37 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
$284
View deal
Hotels.com
$284
View deal
travelup.com
$268
View deal
Barcelo.com$284
Booking.com$312
Travelocity$284
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (14,392)
Filter reviews
14,395 results
Traveler rating
9,494
2,727
1,182
504
488
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
9,494
2,727
1,182
504
488
Show reviews that mention
All reviews other resorts french restaurant oaxaca building fish coco bar sea turtles premium level spring break family vacation adult pool beautiful resort dinner reservations specialty restaurants barcy club the check in process guest services great trip
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5,164 - 5,169 of 14,395 reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2017

This was our second trip to one of the Barcelo resorts. The first was to Caribe and now to Palace. I must say they are very different feels to both properties. Caribe was very modern but the palace had a very elegant Mexican feel to it. The walk back to your room is through beautiful courtyards with flowing fountains. Very peaceful after a long day at the beach or around the pool.
Food was good at the buffets. Nothing to get excited about , but good.
The real culinary winner was Brasserie, the French restaurant. Try the lamb and also the chocolate surprise box.
All in all a very relaxing vacation.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank RandBwanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2017

Dear RanBwanders,

Thank you very much for your kind review. It is great to know that you have enjoyed Barceló this time at the Palace and know that you liked the proprty and our very special Gourmet Restaurant the Brasserie.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you back for the 3rd time.

Best Regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2017

This was our second time to the Barcelo Palace, so it's alwasys going to be a comparison to the first time. Two changes that I didn't like: the bedding, and the pillows. Honest to God, the sheets felt like they were plastic, and the pillows were so large they were hard to sleep on. Other than that we enjoyed everything about this resort. I loved the ocean, the on site shopping, the friendly staff, and a la carte meals. The french restaurant was our favorite and we went twice (like we did last time) A huge shout out to Fernando and Garmi at the French restaurant. Fernando, in my opinion, was the best server on the property. He asked my name, and treated me like we were great friends. Another shout out to Ulises at the adult pool. He made fabulous drinks and was so friendly. We also love the Tokyo restaurant in the mall, and the chef put on a great show.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 86cathrynfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2017

Dear Cathryn,

Thank you very much for your amazing review, we are very happy to know that you have enjoyed again your vacation at the Barceló Maya Palace and recieved an excelent service by the staff. We have already noted that feedback about the bedding and we wil change thos sheets soon. We are sharing this comments with the staff mentioned above for recognition and motivation.

We hopr to welcomr you back soon.

Best Regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2017

You really need an outdoor grill or pizza oven near the beach of the Palace. its a long walk into the buffet at lunchtime and I'm sure everyone would appreciate this. Also returning guests should be recognized with some sort of rewards program. Doesn't need to be something extravagant but a small gesture to show people you appreciate their loyalty. It's the small things that make big impressions in people. We love the fact that there is now a waitress at the adult pool makes it more special and she is lovely! The resort is clean and beautiful. The grounds are beautiful, the beach amazing and the rooms are spacious and quiet.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank josephcharlesp2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2017

Dear Joseph,

Thank you for staying with us , we appreciate your valuable comments and ffedback , we will definitely look into it as all our guests and repeater guest are very important for us and we want them always to feel home away from home.

We are glad that you had a great time and were able to enjoy the facilities at the hotel.

Hoping to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2017

Great service. Premium level was well worth it for the room location. Spend the extra, no one wants to spend a lot of money and be all the way in the back section of the hotel a mile away from everything. Also the premium club had faster service and is a full concierge service where you can arrange your activities while eating chocolate covered strawberries. Bar service was great and the pool is huge. But no jacuzzi :( it would have been nice at night. Make sure you make your dinner reservations ahead of time. They won't let you make reservations after 2pm. I don't get it. Barcelo maya palace is definitely the nicest of all the hotels at Barcelo. This spot has it all.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Jennie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2017

Dear Jennie L,

Thank you for your great comments and feedback . We are gald that you had a great time with us and you have enjoyed our premium services. There are Suites with Jacuzzi only at the Beach Resort for future references. Unfortunately The reservation system does not allow us to make reservations after 2pm only if the reservation is for the same day , but we reccomend our guests to book all the a la carte restaurants in advance to avoid waiting in line.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2017

We had an excellent trip. Pools and beach were beautiful! Only 2 complaints, Mexico Lindo at the Beach resort was horrible. Very bad service and completely raw steak in the middle. Also, the bus system needs work. It was very slow and drop off route doesn't make any sense.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank B9340AClorih
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us , it´s good to know that you had an excellent trip. We are sorry about the inconvenience you had at Mexico Lindo , we will definitely share this valuable comments to the management at the Beach in order to correct this lack of service.

We hope you can give us a second chance to host you.

Best Regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews