We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PLEASE HELP. TELL ME ABOUT THE BEDS”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barcelo Maya Palace
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Okay, my husband and I and two young kids stayed at the Palace at the end of January 2013 along with another family of 4. That would have been our 4th or 5th visit there (9th or something in total to Mexico). Here's the problem: we felt that the Barceló had kind of lost some of it's great customer service and overall panache. We didn't love the front desk staff and paying for internet is a cash grab, but the biggest problem we had were the BEDS. We aren't picky and high maintenance, but the last time we stayed in January 2013, we could definitely say that the beds had deteriorated from our previous stays. I would go so far as to say that I wouldn't even give the beds we slept on to our worst enemy for free. I even took the mattress pad the maid had on the bed and folded it in half to sleep on. If the resort is 7/8 years old (can't remember exactly when it was built), then our bed was an original and NEEDS TO BE REPLACED. In

December of 2013, we went back to Mexico and decided to stay at the Moon Palace since we didn't want another horrible week of Barcelo beds. The Moon was great in some aspects and just okay in others (can't really swim in the ocean), and we had a typical hard bed but that was fine. Hard is fine, broken down mattresses with springs poking out at the Barcelo is ridiculous when you spend a lot to go to these resorts.

Here's the problem now: my sister and her family are coming with us in March when we go to Mexico and we need to book a resort that will accept her family of 5 (3 kids) in one room. Guess what! Barceló will accept 5 (colonial and tropical won't) but the reviews on here are mixed. One person said they had a brand new bed and then the next however many reviews said the beds were garbage.
We love the hotel: the beautiful grounds, the kid's spray park, the great beach and ocean for snorkelling and swimming and the fact that we have never had any gastrointestinal problems here. The service can be hit or miss (we tip handsomely), but even that doesn't bother us as we can go and get our own drink, etc. But the beds. Man.
Please help! I am hoping that the reviews people have in the next couple of weeks will address the bed problem as we need to book something asap. I've also looked at a few other resorts that will allow 5 people in a room and the tripadvisor reviews are scathing. Yikes. But if you've been to a great resort let me know. As of right now any others we've stayed at before (Iberostars, etc) want that family to buy two rooms to accommodate 5 guests and that gets pretty pricey.
Anyway, I guess I'm hoping someone will give me good news about the beds! Thanks.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BeachGirlNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear BeachGirlNow

Thank you for your preference! It will be a pleasure to see you en Barceló Maya Palace Deluxe on your vacation, we have different types of beds and hopefully you will like..

Receive a warm greeting from the Riviera Maya.
Barceló Maya Palace Deluxe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,592)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,645 - 3,651 of 7,592 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2014

Upon arrival we were introduced to a private check-in with an open bar! Fantastic greeting! We all did the premium upgrade. We had a challenge trying to book the restaurants for the 16 people in our group and only successful for three. That left us eating at the buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner for 7 days. I don't mind buffets if they have variety, but these were very repeatative even among the other resorts.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Bethany L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear Bethany L

Barceló Maya Palace Deluxe appreciates the time that you have taken to share your comments with us.

Have a good day!
Barceló Maya Palace Deluxe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Well its time to book our vacation again and here i am on TA trying to find a hotel thats better than the BMP in all the areas that matter to our family and i am having a hard time, this happened last year too, so much so we ended up spending our 2013 at BMP after saying in 2012 we would try something else. This is what you can't beat, the beach, the pool, the general environment. Now last year the food wasn't all that and thats what is throwing me off, when i find a hotel thats reviews boast excellent food, i'm usually compromising somewhere else, and its usually the beach or pool or lack of kids pool, a hard thing to give up when you are 6 and its what you are used to! The BMP beach has fantastic snorkeling, yes there are rocks and reef, but there is also plenty of space where you can just walk right in. You will see tons of fish in 2 feet of water and we saw turtles every day. The pool is so large and meandering it never feels crowded and i love the two zero point entry areas, great for kids to play, the kids pool is so fun, perfect for 2 (with help) to 7 year olds i would say. We could always find chairs, towels are easy. The beach is right there, so you can just flit between the two all day. You can walk pretty far down the beach past the other Barcelo resorts, the view from the beach looking back towards the hotel is mainly palm trees, and some low lying roof tops, no giant concrete monstrosities looming over you. But the food last year it wasn't so good, so what to do??? Hmmmm.

Room Tip: Just ask for a room close to the main areas, make up some reason you need it! ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank LianeNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear LianeNj

We are glad to know that you had a wonderful time in this paradise and it would be a pleasure to host you once again.

Have a wonderful day
Barceló Maya Palace Deluxe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

My boyfriend and I went for a wedding with a large group. Check in for us was a nightmare. They kept changing our room but wouldn't let us go to the room. This went on for a few hours but when we finally got our room we were happy. Bathroom was amazing! Rooms were clean.
We found the buffet hours inconvenient. Between 1030-1230, then again at 330-6 there is no food. We had to go to the resort next to us for food. The 24 hour buffet isn't really a buffet. It only consisted of premade sandwiches, olives, nuts, popcorn, apples and after 12am they put out pizza.
Beach was fantastic. Snorkelling was amazing. There is a reef right off the resort. We swam over coral and lots of fish. Even swam with a turtle. Pools were great. The swim up bar was fun. The adults only pool was nice and quiet. The cabanas were extra cost which I didn't like. Internet and wifi were extra cost which I think should of been free in the lobby.
The a la carte dinners were great!!! We had the Japanese, seafood and French.
Overall we had a wonderful trip and would return for the right price.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank trixyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear trixyt
Thank you for your preference! It will be a pleasure to see you en Barceló Maya Palace Deluxe on your next vacations.

Best Regards from Mexico Riviera Maya.
Barceló Maya Palace Deluxe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We spent 5 days in January at the Barcelo Maya Palace and had a very good time. I'd recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing vacation.

This is a beautiful property on the Riviera Maya near Cancun. It is large enough to offer a variety of activities like three live shows each evening, a variety of restaurants (see below), a dolphin show, fitness classes, sailing, tennis, concierge to arrange tours, and much more. The main attractions for most are probably the beach, pools, and inclusive food and bars. Almost all the people who worked there were very friendly, and many spoke excellent English. They place is kept very, very clean, which we appreciated. It also seemed like the property had excellent security.

We stayed at the Palace, and there were enough evening dining options to keep us happy for five dinners. The dining model at this all-inclusive is similar to those on cruise ships we've been on. We ate at four specialty restaurants, which require reservations and a slight dress code (e.g., closed-toe shoes and long pants for men), and one of the buffets one night, which is walk-in and more casual. The food was uniformly good, and the service was excellent. One NEW thing, starting Jan 1 2014, which was not too popular is the dinner restaurants are only free if you stay in that same hotel group, otherwise there was $25US per person surcharge. So for example, as Palace guests we ate at the French, Japanese, Brazilian, and seafood restaurants with no extra charge, but eating at the Italian or Steakhouse would have incurred a charge. This is a new policy, and wasn't very popular, so it might be revoked. Honestly, for a 5-day stay in the Palace, I don't think it is a big issue since the dinner options were good, but this could get annoying for a longer stay, or if you are staying at the Beach or Colonial, etc, where the full-service restaurant options may be more limited.

Our room was a Junior Suite, which was quite spacious, and had a nice terrace. Just a few minor issues: The beds were rather hard, and being a TripAdvisor readers, we knew to ask for a mattress pad, but they were out (must have been a lot of other TripAdvisor readers stayingthere too :) . We did get more used to the beds as time went on, but it felt good to get back to our bed at home. Second, the shuttle that runs late into the night is pulled by tractor, and is very loud. It didn't disturb sleep when the terrace door was closed, but I would have preferred some fresh air. Finally, a few of the electrical switches didn't work too well and there were a few brief power outages in the room, but we didn't let those things bother us.

Overall, this is a great place for a romantic or family vacation and I'd recommend it..

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear Mark B

First of all receive our greetings from Riviera Maya and thanks for your comments on Trip Advisor.
Our main goal is that all our guests have a pleasant stay and a happy return home; we are pleased to know that you enjoyed your vacation.
Thank you for your preference! It will be a pleasure to host in the future!..

Best Regards
Barceló Maya Palace Deluxe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

The beds here are rock solid and the food is cold and bland. Don't stay here! Service is ok. Beach is rocky. People who rate this 4 or 5 stars haven't traveled much and are easily impressed. I travel a few times per year and this is one of the worst places I've been for the money.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
5  Thank bnorlien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, General Manager at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear Traveler,

We are sorry that you have had this problem in your room, we would have liked you contacted us and we would have gladly placed a baffle to soften your bed.

Regarding the beach, we have almost 2 km. half white sand with no rocks where you can walk into the sea more than 50 m. with a depth of not more than 60cm. and also there is a rocky part where you can snorkel and find a variety of fishes, a pier and activity areas.


Regards,

Armando M. Becerra
General Manager
Hotel Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

By far the best vacation I've been on! Loved the resort service was good, the pool area, the beach, the bars, buffets and restaurants were great. Snorkeling off beach was amazing. Just can't say enough great things about it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank pwoods1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear pwoods196.

We are more than happy to know that you had such a great time at the Barcelo Maya and we are really looking forward to see you here on your next vacaction..

Best Regards Barceló Maya Palace Deluxe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
19.6 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4,282 reviews
0 mi away
Barcelo Maya Colonial
Barcelo Maya Colonial
#5 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
6,188 reviews
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Maya Beach
Barcelo Maya Beach
#11 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
8,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,916 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Barcelo Maya Caribe
#12 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
3,557 reviews
16.4 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#30 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
7,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Maya Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Maya Palace

Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez km 266.3 | Xpu Ha, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico (Formerly Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range: $269 - $640 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Barcelo Maya Palace 4.5*
Number of rooms: 756
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Barcelo, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Barcelo Maya Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Maya Palace Riviera Maya/Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing