We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Barcelo Maya Palace
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We thought this resort was perfect for our mulit-generational family trip. We celebrated our 10 year anniversary with our kids, a 6 yr old and a 4 yr old, and our parents. Everyone had a great time! There were enough activities to keep everyone interested. Starting with the kids, they really enjoyed spending time at the kids water park, on the beach and snorkeling. We thoroughly enjoyed hanging out on the loungers, and snorkeling right off the beach. The parents enjoyed spending time with the grandkids and participating in the various activities the Barcelo staff had planned, water aerobics and even a watermelon eating contest. We enjoyed most of our meals at the buffet restaurants. The food was very good and were impressed with the variety that was offered on a daily basis. The only minor negative points is that there is a bit of walking from the rooms to the pools and restaurant areas, which we did not mind and the specialty restaurants were just okay.

We would revisit this resort again without a doubt!

Room Tip: Try to get a room in section 8100.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samhp77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2017

Dear Guest,
We always find it nice to read that our guests went home with great holiday memories and we are very grateful for the time and effort you spent to share your personal experience at our Barceló Maya Palace hotel with us and Tripadvisor readers.
We are thrilled to read that you felt welcome and supported from the moment you arrived until the moment you departed and will not fail to share your compliments with the entire réception team as we know it will be a great source of motivation to keep on going the extra mile.
Again we thank you for this wonderful review, it has been a pleasure for us to read and we look forward to serving you again soon
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,996)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,986 - 3,992 of 7,997 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2013

This is hands down the most beautiful place I've ever been or stayed. We had our wedding here and everything was amazing from start to finish!

Rooms: Super nice and roomy, nice large bathroom, and the mini-fridge was stocked daily with water, beer, etc. and a few little snacks as well. Our air-con was WAY too cold when we got there, but we called the front desk and they came right away and adjusted it. We had our kids (age 2 and 5 with us) and would have been even better if they had affordable "family suites" as it was difficult putting my little guy to bed with us all in one room. We made it work though :)

Beach: The most awesome thing about this resort is the snorkeling right out in front of the Palace! I saw and swam with Turtles daily, saw some other cool fish, and my older daughter (17) and my sister-in-law even saw a Manta-Ray a bit further out! craziness! Also you can buy little bags of fish food in the swim shop and hundreds of fish will swim all around you to eat it :D We never wore swimming shoes at all and were just fine.

Pools: We spent most of our time at the kids pool under one of the shaded lounger areas - it was perfect for my 5 year old but a bit too deep for my toddler (I just stayed with him and held his hand and he loved it too) The other pool is really massive and amazing too - biggest pool I've ever seen! The towel lady did not speak English at all and she got a bit confused and would not give my Father-in-law his towel card back...you just have to be a bit firm with them or have the bartender come and translate. Obviously not everyone there can speak your language.

Building/Grounds: I was super impressed with the grounds, gardens, and buildings. Everything was really clean and safe. It is a fairly large resort, and my biggest mistake was not bringing a stroller for my toddler. We did a lot of carrying him back and forth which was pretty exhausting. BRING A STROLLER IF YOU HAVE A LITTLE MUNCHKIN! LOL. Otherwise I didn't think it was too huge to handle for any regular folk ;).

Food: Honestly, I really liked the Buffets...especially with kids. It's just really easy and there is so much to choose from that you can't go wrong. I think I had a shot of Baileys in my coffee every morning ;) We went to one of the restaurants (Italian) and the food wasn't particularly that good.

Wedding: AMAZING!!! We had our ceremony at sunset which was so beautiful and then had our dinner/reception right on the beach (Cocos Beach). I would recommend this resort to anyone who wants to get married away. We only had a group of 20ish people and It was perfect for us, but I also saw other weddings with larger groups and it looked fun as well!
Also, with the "Strawberry Wedding Package" we got premium wrist bands which was nice because we didn't need a towel card, got premium liquor, and free wifi (although the wifi would not work from my room - that was kinda a bummer).

Weather: The weather was perfect (and HOT) almost the entire week we stayed (Nov 18-25). The only time it rained was a couple evenings just for a short period that never affected us at all - and once the day we were leaving, which was perfect because we were just getting ready to leave anyways.

I can't wait to come back again for our anniversary or another Family trip!! :))

Room Tip: We were in the Oaxaca Building, which is farthest away from the lobby and kids pool - But having a w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsDavidson2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2017

Dear Guest,
We always find it nice to read that our guests went home with great holiday memories and we are very grateful for the time and effort you spent to share your personal experience at our Barceló Maya Palace hotel with us and Tripadvisor readers.
We are thrilled to read that you felt welcome and supported from the moment you arrived until the moment you departed and will not fail to share your compliments with the entire réception team as we know it will be a great source of motivation to keep on going the extra mile.
Again we thank you for this wonderful review, it has been a pleasure for us to read and we look forward to serving you again soon
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Having traveled to many all-inclusive resorts at different destinations, I must say that Barcelo Palace was one of my favorite ones.
Even the bad weather ( low 70s for most of our stay) didn't completely spoil the vacation.
The resort is beautiful with the small water park for kids on premises, perfectly manicured gardens, nice beach with great snorkeling and Delphinarium on premises.
The entertainment team is there doing their usual salsa lessons and water aerobics but not annoying like in most other resorts, where they constantly bother you to join their activities
The food variety at the buffet was great, but pretty much the same selection for lunch and dinner that got old after a week. The waiter service was just OK, for the most part it took them on average 10 minutes to bring you the drink that you ordered. However, they were very courteous and smiling all the time.
We went to Brazilian, French and Caribean seafood restaurants and the were all beautifully decorated with the best food at the Brazilian steakhouse, in my opinion.
The alcohol is all top shelf, however don't ask them for any complicated mixed drinks- it seems like they just don't know how to mix them. We tried Margarita at a few bars at the resort, and it was horrible. Make sure to try tequila shots with sangrita- that was awesome.
The rooms are spacious with a huge bathroom. We traveled with out 2 kids and they slept comfortably on 2 sofas in the room.
So overall, great trip with the only negatives being poor cocktail service, monotonous food, horribly hard mattresses and bad weather ( not the hotel's fault, obviously)
Would definitely return

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrShura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2017

Dear Guest,
We appreciate your comments and the time you take to write to us. We are working to respond in a timely manner to each of our guests comments, we regret that our response now seems untimely but we assure you that we take very into account your recommendations. Best Regards, The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

This resort is luxurious and very well located.
The beach is very large with beautiful turquoise water. Snorkelling is nice on site. I saw many fishes, turtles and a barracuda. There are a lot of chairs available and we didn't need to get there early to get some.
The 2 buffet restaurants are very good with a lot of variety. The advantage of a large resort is the possibility of having a lot of food! The a la carte restaurants were good except the caribe restaurant which was very ordinary and food was better at the buffet.
The rooms were junior suites with a large bathroom with a separate shower. The beds were hard for our taste but we slept well. The refrigerator was always packed with colas, juices, and water. There were also peanuts and chips. The room was always very clean, just like the resort.
The pools were very large also with water slides for the kids.
Even if it is a wonderful resort, if you are travelling as a couple, i would recommend a resort for adults only. Having traveled to both, i think its more relaxing when there are no kids around screaming all the time. But for a family it's a great place.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank AlexandraD2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2017

Dear Guest,
We always find it nice to read that our guests went home with great holiday memories and we are very grateful for the time and effort you spent to share your personal experience at our Barceló Maya Palace hotel with us and Tripadvisor readers.
We are thrilled to read that you felt welcome and supported from the moment you arrived until the moment you departed and will not fail to share your compliments with the entire réception team as we know it will be a great source of motivation to keep on going the extra mile.
Again we thank you for this wonderful review, it has been a pleasure for us to read and we look forward to serving you again soon
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

We went with a group of 25 family members in early November for 8 days. Food was great, our favourite was the Brazilian restaurant. Weather was decent, occupancy was about 30%, maybe that's why it felt a bit vacuous. 80% of us got sick from the food for 1-2 days, even though most took appropriate supplements (duceral), which makes me think something along the food prep line needs to be looked at. Beach was fairly nice but a bit rocky. Jaguar disco was fun but mostly empty. Staff were very honest in our experience, and helpful. Other members of our group were frustrated by the check in process that took more than an hour, even with their upgraded rooms, but our check in was fine. The room upgrade is expensive and not worth it in our opinion. Almost everything but drinks are the same, but plus a bottle of tequila in an upgraded room and better waterfront location. The evening shows were wonderful, even though there were often as many spectators as performers. The security showed in two occasions their professionalism in getting inebriated guests home to their rooms with all their belongings intact, unlike other places in Mexico where watches and wallets may habitually go missing. All in all we had a good time but would probably go elsewhere next time. It was a lot if fun but for some reason I don't long to return. We spent the first 3 days of this trip at Club Med Cancun and would go back there in a heartbeat.

Stayed: November 2013
Thank Familyofquatro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2017

Dear Guest,
We appreciate your comments and the time you take to write to us. We are working to respond in a timely manner to each of our guests comments, we regret that our response now seems untimely but we assure you that we take very into account your recommendations. Best Regards, The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

First time at an all inclusive.
Tipping is not necessary but expected
Knowing Spanish helps

Pros
Great beach, pools and snorkeling.
Good but slightly repetitive buffets

Cons

Vast property, room can be a 10 min walk to anything if you are unlucky.
Restaurant reservations fill up fast
Wifi is slow and expensive

Stayed: December 2013
Thank advum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2017

Dear Guest,
We appreciate your comments and the time you take to write to us. We are working to respond in a timely manner to each of our guests comments, we regret that our response now seems untimely but we assure you that we take very into account your recommendations. Best Regards, The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Last week was our fifth visit to the Barceló Maya Beach Resort. We stayed once in Colonial and the other times were all at Palace. Every visit was wonderful. The food quality, variety, freshness etc. is excellent in the buffet restaurants and snack shacks (if you can call them a shack!!) we visited two of the a la carte restaurants this visit and the service and food quality was excellent as always. All the staff are very courteous and appreciate your interaction with them. We tend to tip very generously to all the staff including housekeeping, and they truly appreciate it and thank you by providing extra special attention to you!!! We booked our vacation right on the Barceló website and put special instructions on where we wanted our room, the floor level and even which side of the building.....all of our requests were honored without question. We love dining outside at the buffet for each meal.....very romantic .....listening to the waves crash at the beach and watching the moonlight over the ocean. Be sure to specify the liquor you want...for example, do not just order a Margarita, but rather order a Margarita with Repesado tequila and grand marnier.....they have all the top shelf liquor there and it is yours for the asking....but if you just order a generic drink they will make it with generic alcohol. Far superior with the good stuff! Cannot recommend this resort often enough!!

Room Tip: the buildings are all concrete so noise reverberates a bit...we prefer top floor in a NON adjoining...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2017

Dear Guest,
We appreciate your comments and the time you take to write to us. We are working to respond in a timely manner to each of our guests comments, we regret that our response now seems untimely but we assure you that we take very into account your recommendations. Best Regards, The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
0 mi away
Barcelo Maya Colonial
Barcelo Maya Colonial
#5 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
6,487 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
5,121 reviews
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Maya Beach
Barcelo Maya Beach
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
9,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Barcelo Maya Caribe
#12 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
3,732 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
#4 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
10,656 reviews
10.5 mi away
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
#77 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
13,894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Maya Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Maya Palace

Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez km 266.3 | Xpu Ha, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico (Formerly Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range: $279 - $546 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Barcelo Maya Palace 4.5*
Number of rooms: 756
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Barcelo Maya Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Maya Palace Riviera Maya/Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing