We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine hotel for a week away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Barcelo Maya Palace
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2013

very nice beach and everything you need for a week of lounging in the sun. If you want to go somewhere be prepared to travel a bit. The hotel offered lots of water amenities and decent restaurants. For just a week in the sun this place will be just fine

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jmacpitt2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2017

Dear Guest,
We appreciate your comments and the time you take to write to us. We are working to respond in a timely manner to each of our guests comments, we regret that our response now seems untimely but we assure you that we take very into account your recommendations. Best Regards, The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,590)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,710 - 3,716 of 7,590 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2013

We travelled to this resort as part of a destination wedding. The wedding was very beautiful and the weather turned out to be perfect for our entire stay. Neither of these qualities had to deal with the resort though.
As a group of Canadians, this was the first resort we have ever been to where no one else in our group ran into someone from Canada.
On the first day we arrived, we checked in and then attempted to find our room which proved a challenge. Luckily, the doorman staff were very helpful in taking us with our luggage to the right spot. Once in our room, the layout was quite nice and the bathroom was unique to anything else we have experienced; in a good way.
Once settled in, trying to find a restaurant open at 6:30 pm turned to be more difficult than we realized. Barcelo Maya Palace is very spread out and difficult to navigate. We were refused entry into 3 different a la carte restaurants before a guest staying at the hotel informed us a buffet was open near the front desk area. Why did the front desk staff not inform us of this or any other resort staff member we encountered? We asked ourselves the same thing.

As guests at Bacelo Maya Palace, we were given wristbands which enabled us to use other resort facilities. When we inquired about the amenities at adjacent properties, none of the staff at our resort could give us any useful information. Usually, my wife and I enjoy taking part in some activities offered. This was the first trip where we did not participate in anything because the event was in Spanish or we had no knowledge of where to participate. I understand we were in Mexico and the majority of the people at the resort were from either Mexico or a South American country. All of us on the trip would have appreciated a little more entertainment or events in English.
I still could not tell you where I saw a schedule for ocean activities.

All of the a la carte restaurants require men to wear pants without flip-flops and you are required to make a reservation with a concierge. While concierge are located conveniently throughout Barcelo Maya Palace, you can only view menus from restaurants on the Barcelo Maya Palace side. We inquired about menus from restaurants at Barcelo Maya Colonial and we were told we had to inquire at that resort. This was a minor inconvenience for my wife and I as long walk was probably needed. Once we made it to Barcelo Maya Colonial we were able to see menus BUT we were told we could only make reservations at the Palace side. ???? So much for accommodating guests! My wife and I walked back our resort where we were told we could not make anymore reservations at any restaurants on the Colonial side until the next week. We attempted to make reservations on a Wednesday, the 4th day of our week. While this was frustrating, the food we did eat at all restaurants was very good.

Initially, we were impressed with our room quality and cleanliness. However, I squished a bug on the floor of our bathroom on Thursday morning and the bug was still squished on the floor upon checkout on Sunday.

We were not impressed with what was not included with our room package. We chose a junior suite which did not include the following:
- room service (an addition 90 pesos per item ordered)
- wifi (internet had to be paid for)
- minibar was not stocked
Be sure to keep any receipts from purchases made at gift shops. Shops only accept credit card or they will charge your room. USD was the best currency to use for paying the room charge at the end of our stay.

Booking this resort eluded to resort credits. DO NOT BE CONFUSED BY WHAT THIS RESORT CALLS CREDITS! You do not actually get resort credits, instead, you are given a book of coupons which require you to spend a certain amount before a coupon can be used.
For example, with the spa, the book includes a $30 USD coupon. A massage costs $120 USD which means your room will be charged $90 USD for the 1 hour massage. Not a significant amount of savings to us as we can get a 1 hour massage in Canada for $80 CAD.
As another example, we considered upgrading our room with the $400 coupon. Cost of upgrading our room, which had to be done for 7 days to use the coupon, was $185/night or $1295. We would have had to pay $895 out of our own pocket to upgrade. We could not see any value in a coupon which does not even cover Half of the upgrade cost.

Barcelo Maya Palace will not be earning our travelling dollars in the future. I cannot recommend this resort to others who are not fluent in Spanish. Maybe if we spoke a little Spanish our experience would have been different. All-in-all, we did enjoy our time away from work. While other resorts have met or exceeded our expectations, Barcelo Maya Palace failed to provide us with a good experience.

Room Tip: If you can, take a premium club room which includes room services and wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Insure K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2017

Dear Guest,
We appreciate your comments and the time you take to write to us. We are working to respond in a timely manner to each of our guests comments, we regret that our response now seems untimely but we assure you that we take very into account your recommendations. Best Regards, The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

This was our first experience for us in Mexico. We chose this resort over Atlantis because it is all inclusive so we didn't have to worry about having our wallets robbed every time we needed a bottle of water or bag of chips. What a wonderful decision. From the time we checked in until we left(Oct. 12-19, 2013) we had more to eat and drink than we could have ever needed. The buffets had a large selection of food and drinks. The quality was pretty standard for buffets, after a day or so you figured out what you liked(. We had dinners at the Seafood, steak & pasta, and French restaurants at the Palace and at Kyoto's at the Colonial. All of the meals were excellent and the presentation was wonderful. With only a couple exceptions, the service at the buffets and restaurants was wonderful. The waiters/waitresses were very friendly and very attentive. In between eating, we split most of our time between the incredible pools and the large private beach. It was perfect for our 2 families (4 adults, (2) 11yr olds, and (1) 14yr old). The snorkeling right off of the Palace was incredible, every day we came across something different from the many, many colorful fish to puffers, eels, water snakes, sea turtles, rays, even a small squid. The only time we left the resort was a scuba diving and snorkeling excursion to Cozumel through Dressel Divers at the resort. And yes, another incredible experience for me and my 11yr old son on our first time scuba diving. The rooms were very nice and had lots of space to move around. The only negatives were the hard beds and plastic like sheets that made it hard to sleep in the somewhat humid conditions. That being said, the housekeeping did a great job of daily cleaning. They were quick to fix a couple minor issues with the soap dispensers and were quick to restock the mini bar and snacks whenever we called. I would recommend this resort to anyone looking for a large resort experience that you don't have to leave if you don't want. It is a little far from the "city nightlife" but that wasn't what we were looking for anyway. I am still going through withdrawls from non-stop service, morning until night. We will be back!

Room Tip: We were in the Michoacán building 8132, 1st floor in the 1st building closest to lobby. Very short...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2017

Dear Guest,
We appreciate your comments and the time you take to write to us. We are working to respond in a timely manner to each of our guests comments, we regret that our response now seems untimely but we assure you that we take very into account your recommendations. Best Regards, The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

On our fifth stay at the Palace , we were pampered as usual, or even
more, because employees know you, are sooo friendly.....the services,
be it food, cleanliness, rooms, everything is really outstanding....one
lives like in an illusion, where the word "no" is banned and everyone
working for your well-being....all services are top class, impeccable!
we believe it is one of the best resorts in the Riviera Maya offering
excellent ratio quality/price.....
-

Room Tip: not too far from the main areas , but if you want absolute quiet, then far from common areas like p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gloria i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2017

Dear Guest,
We always find it nice to read that our guests went home with great holiday memories and we are very grateful for the time and effort you spent to share your personal experience at our Barceló Maya Palace hotel with us and Tripadvisor readers.
We are thrilled to read that you felt welcome and supported from the moment you arrived until the moment you departed and will not fail to share your compliments with the entire réception team as we know it will be a great source of motivation to keep on going the extra mile.
Again we thank you for this wonderful review, it has been a pleasure for us to read and we look forward to serving you again soon
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

My husband and I traveled to this beautiful resort and absolutely enjoyed the beach, activities, food, and hospitality! We sat by the pool and just relaxed each day with a cocktail in one hand and a book in the other. The weather was perfect each day!!! We enjoyed all the reataurants on site and had fun at night at the different bars and club. We are a very easy-going couple and enjoyed the time away from work and home. We prefer Barcelo resorts and have stayed at a few other locations in Mexico and have experienced the best quality and service each vacation! We are definitely sold on Barcelo and I have to say Riviera Maya was our favorite location thus far!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Marianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2017

Dear Guest,
We always find it nice to read that our guests went home with great holiday memories and we are very grateful for the time and effort you spent to share your personal experience at our Barceló Maya Palace hotel with us and Tripadvisor readers.
We are thrilled to read that you felt welcome and supported from the moment you arrived until the moment you departed and will not fail to share your compliments with the entire réception team as we know it will be a great source of motivation to keep on going the extra mile.
Again we thank you for this wonderful review, it has been a pleasure for us to read and we look forward to serving you again soon
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I read 100's of reviews of this resort before going with friends last week (Oct 19-26, 2013) and I have to say that I was a little nervous because most reviews were raving about the place, but then there would be the handful of "OMG, I hated this place". As a first time traveler to Mexico and first time ever at an all-inclusive resort, I wasn't sure what to expect. I'll try to break it down in a way that I would find helpful:

Accomodations: The resort itself is exactly as pictured on the website! Stunning. We kept thinking of it as the Aria (awesome hotel in Las Vegas) of the Riviera Maya. The room was gorgeous, dark woods, quartz dual sinks in the bathroom, luxury, luxury....until you go to lay on the bed. Seriously, we all agreed this place would go from a 4 star to a 5 if the bed was more comfortable. The room is huge and has everything you need...even candles to light in the bathroom!

Food/Restaurants: We went in what they said is the "low season" so the place was not overrun and we had no problems making reservations the night we arrived. We had read that it can be hard to get tables so we booked our reservations for the whole week the very first night. The decor at the French restaurant was my fav...so beautiful in all black and white and I liked the food, though my friends just thought it was okay. The Brazilian is how everyone describes it, the meat is dry and not very flavorful. The service in all the restaurants is impeccable, best I've ever experienced even at the nices restaurants in the States. The Japanese restaurant was the best as far as food and entertainment goes. The seafood one was good too and we went there twice.
The buffetts - Here is were I seriously have to disagree with anyone who says the buffet's were bland or didn't offer much variety. For breakfast there are build your own omlette stations, waffle/pancake and other sweets stations, a selection of cheeses, a whole station of fruits, hot and cold cereals, international selections of quiche's and stuff I've never heard of, a whole bread section with bagels, breads and rolls, an entire mexican bread section, yogurts, meats if that's your thing in the morning, bacon, sausages of all kinds, potatoes including hashbrowns. For lunch, they had hamburgers, hotdogs, nachos, salads, pasta's, carved meets, sandwhiches, chili, icecream and other desserts, seafood, etc.
Dinner was unbelievable: A grill station where you can have Rib-eye made to order, or sausages, another grill where they would grill shrimp, scallops, fish to order, tamales (2 kinds), nachos, lasagna, many different dishes of pork, chicken, beef, huge salad and dessert tables, two or three different soups, fried tacos, taquitos, tostadas...I could go on and on. We NEVER got bored there. Plus, the staff are the most friendly and helpful. They pulled out all the stops...even carring our plates to our table for us!

Beach: The beach is a bit "shelly" in places but so beautiful and nothing like our beaches in California. There is so much beach that you can simply stroll down until you find a slice of beach just perfect for your tastes. I loved it. Plenty of chairs were available and we didn't find anyone trying to save chairs.

Pool: The pool is even better than the pictures. Bar staff are nice as can be and make strong drinks. The pool is the cleanest I've ever been in. We didn't have kids but if I'd brought mine they would have had a ball!

Entertainment: We went to three of the evening shows and they were fun and entertaining. the music was spectacular! And again, the bar staff make some mean drinks!

All in all you I don't know if you can do better. This stay has set the bar for me for all-inclusives and I may have just been ruined for any other. Ignore the nay sayers and just go!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the pool. We had rooms in the 8100 section and did not have to walk far to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Trvlbug C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2017

Dear Guest,
We always find it nice to read that our guests went home with great holiday memories and we are very grateful for the time and effort you spent to share your personal experience at our Barceló Maya Palace hotel with us and Tripadvisor readers.
We are thrilled to read that you felt welcome and supported from the moment you arrived until the moment you departed and will not fail to share your compliments with the entire réception team as we know it will be a great source of motivation to keep on going the extra mile.
Again we thank you for this wonderful review, it has been a pleasure for us to read and we look forward to serving you again soon
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This review is a little late. We (4 adults and 2 kids aged 2 and <1) stayed at the Palace between December 9 - 20th 2012. This resort is a long trip from the airport and we would definitely recommend taking a private shuttle. The trip was booked through Expedia and as a result we received a complimentary upgrade to the premium club upon arrival. The premium club meant we had a room close to the pool and had access to the premium lounge. Based on our experience I would not pay for this upgrade as the resort is already excellent and the added amenities were not significant.

The Barceló complex is quite large and we enjoyed walking through all of the various resorts. There is a nice path that goes from one edge of the complex all the way to the other. As a guest of the Palace you have access to all of the restaurants and bars of the other resorts. We never had any issue pulling into a lounge and getting top notch service at any of the resorts.

Travelling at this time of year we did not have a problem with finding a chair on the beach or around the pool. The kids loved the children's pool and we found ourselves spending most of our time in that area. Supervision is a must for younger children if they are going to be using the waterslide. We found ourselves pulling a few kids out of the water after they went under at the bottom of the waterslide.

We tried many of the a la cartes and really enjoyed the Japanese at the Tropical. The Japanese a la carte at the Palace was hosted in their lunch buffet restaurant and was not as good. We had the opportunity to try all 3 of the a la cartes at the Palace and they were good (not great). The food and service at the a la cartes seemed to be a little better at the Tropical. We did not have any problem finding something to eat at the buffet. The menu is similar every night, but with the large selection of food it is not too difficult to find something you like. Alternating nights between buffet and a la cartes helped to keep the food interesting.

The weather was absolutely beautiful and we only had a quick shower one afternoon. We did try snorkelling in front of the Palace on several occasions. There are fish, turtles and rays to be seen, but the coral is not in good shape. There are better snorkelling opportunities off the resort if you are willing to travel. For a quick 30 minute swim the snorkelling by the dock and in front of the Palace met our needs.

We did not have any issues with insects or mosquitos. Nobody in our group used bug-spray at any time during our stay. Be sure to take lots of sun screen as the prices at the resort are double to triple what you will pay in Canada.

We enjoy travelling to Playa del Carmen and have stayed at the Sandos Caracol, Iberostar Tucan and Barceló Palace. This year we will be trying to Iberostar Paraiso Maya. I would rate the 3 we have stayed at as Barceló #1, Iberostar (close 2nd) and Sandos (distant 3rd).

We found it difficult to fault this resort as the staff were friendly and courteous and the resort was spotless. Definitely recommend this resort to travellers with young children. Based on our vacations to date the Barceló Maya Palace is currently sitting as the best.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank calgarianheadedsouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2017

Dear Guest,
We always find it nice to read that our guests went home with great holiday memories and we are very grateful for the time and effort you spent to share your personal experience at our Barceló Maya Palace hotel with us and Tripadvisor readers.
We are thrilled to read that you felt welcome and supported from the moment you arrived until the moment you departed and will not fail to share your compliments with the entire réception team as we know it will be a great source of motivation to keep on going the extra mile.
Again we thank you for this wonderful review, it has been a pleasure for us to read and we look forward to serving you again soon
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
19.6 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#11 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4,281 reviews
0 mi away
Barcelo Maya Colonial
Barcelo Maya Colonial
#5 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
6,189 reviews
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Maya Beach
Barcelo Maya Beach
#11 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
8,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,918 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Barcelo Maya Caribe
#12 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
3,557 reviews
16.4 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#30 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
7,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Maya Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Maya Palace

Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez km 266.3 | Xpu Ha, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico (Formerly Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range: $269 - $640 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Barcelo Maya Palace 4.5*
Number of rooms: 756
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Barcelo Maya Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Maya Palace Riviera Maya/Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing