We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third visit to Barcelo Palace”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Barcelo Maya Palace
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Third visit to Barcelo Palace”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We recently returned from this resort after a 9 night stay in June. This was our third visit to the Barcelo Palace and we were overall very pleased. The ONLY complaint we have ( and it has been consistent the last 2 trips) is that they really don't care about your room requests. It is obvious that they just assign rooms as you check in with no pre-planning involved. We traveled with our 3 children ages 8, 14 and 16. Upon check in not only were we not given a connecting room (as requested 4 months prior) but our rooms were not even together. There were 4 rooms separating us. Needless to say it was a MAJOR inconvenience and will probably affect our decision to return next summer. They did eventually move us to a connecting room 2 days and 5 trips to the front desk later...( THANK YOU EDGAR )! We have been to several other all inclusive resorts including the Palladium, Dreams, Riu, Valentin and Majestic Elegance and have never had this treatment from the front desk staff ( esp regarding our room requests). Also, don't expect any "special " treatment or free uprgrades if you are a return guest- It does not happen here.
The pros to this resort are what have kept us coming back. 1. The beach is amazing. Always shade and never had to go out early to claim a spot on the beach. 2. Rooms are nice and well-appointed, always clean. 3. Food in our opinion is above average for a resort this size. 4. The staff ( excluding front desk) are friendly and work very hard. We were always greeted with a smile and friendly "hola" . 5. Family oriented with lots of kids and activities. 6. Awesome beach front pool. 7. Good drinks but wish they had a better selection of beer- a light beer would be great.
Overall a great family resort. However, we will probably try a different resort next year due to the hassle with our room situation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 233beachlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this review, April 10, 2017
Dear Guest,

We appreciate all your feedback , we wanted to apologize about the delay on the reply but rest assured that this valuable comments have been shared with all our leaders of each department of the hotel in order to continue providing the positives and avoid the negatives to achieve our main goal which is Guest satisfaction.

We hope we have the chance to welcome you back !!

Best Regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,811 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,189
    1,577
    643
    220
    182
See reviews for
3,905
1,517
41
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,312)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warrenville, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I stayed at the Barceló Maya Palace Deluxe on vacation for a destination wedding. It was fantastic! The property was beautiful, immaculate, and family friendly. The rooms were very spacious as well as the bathrooms. I traveled by myself, but would definitely return with my own family! There was awesome snorkeling right at the beach.....I bought a mask and snorkel my third day....wished I had gotten the first. There is fish food for sale at the beach bar.

The only reason I didn't give this property an "excellent" review was because the staff wasn't very friendly and check-in did take forever! The staff wasn't rude....just not friendly....and no one got second cards for the room keys. We did go to the French restaurant, and our waiter was the friendliest guy on the property! :)

I found plenty of selections at the buffets, for breakfast and dinner without any problems.

It was my cousin who got married and the wedding and reception we excellent!!! The staff that worked the reception we great and kept our drinks coming. The beachfront dinner and dance floor were amazing!!!!

Definitely would return!!!!!

Room Tip: My room was garden view in the Oxaca building.....was nice an quiet....and not a far walk from the a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leslie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this review, April 10, 2017
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments and evaluation. We are sharing all this with our staff in order to motivate them to keep up the good work .

We also want to offer you an apology due to the time it took for the reply as this feedback is of great importance to our hotel.

We hope you can visit us again soon!!

Best Regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

When booking this resort, I had an open mind. All reviews are based on facts & opinions. Would I stay at this resort again, MAYBE.... All in all, the resort is beautiful. Pools, gardens and just the resort itself is perfect. I have to admit, front desk has no desire to explain to you the ins and outs of the rooms. No greeting, no happy beginning or happy ending. I feel of all the different staffing the front desk lacks the most...Our first room had no air conditioning (2433) and it smelled very musty. We asked for a new room (which we got) and the air conditioning was working very little. Although we should of asked to move again or for an upgrade we stayed. The pools are amazing, the beach was fun, the food was decent. We truly enjoyed one server named DANIEL ZUNIGA . Daniel is a waiter at the International Buffet. He worked very hard to make sure our experience was perfect all week. He was funny, very nice to talk to and he truly enjoys his job. Please request his section if you decide to book at this resort. All in all I would give this resort a B. Again, the front desk needs social skills, and the rooms need to be updated or serviced. Housekeeping was very good. Plenty of towels and cleaned well.....The spa was absolutely divine. My husband and I both got a couple message and it was perfect.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this review, April 10, 2017
Dear Guest,

We appreciate all your feedback , we wanted to apologize about the delay on the reply but rest assured that this valuable comments have been shared with all our leaders of each department of the hotel in order to continue providing the positives and avoid the negatives to achieve our main goal which is Guest satisfaction.

We hope we have the chance to welcome you back !!

Best Regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We are a family of six, two adults with four kids, for which reason, at the time of booking, we requested connected rooms. We booked at Palace Deluxe, the top one out of the five resorts at Barcelo. When we checked in we were told they don't have any connected rooms available, but we'll be put on the waiting list, which obviously meant we shouldn't raise our hopes. So we kindly asked for adjacent rooms, but we were turned down again. Eventually we got two rooms that were 24 numbers apart. We offered to pay a premium to make it more convenient for us, but clearly nobody was willing to make an extra effort to accommodate us; we even tried the following day and we got the same response. They only give you a key per room when you check in... The whole service throughout the resort was kept at a minimum. There was no pool or beach side service, except cleaning the cups; the entertainment at the pool very low and no organized daily activities available, such as archery, shooting, biking, etc. The room was kept clean, but the fridge was not fully restocked. Not impressed with the food either; the kids' stations had a poor variety of items; long wait at the grill station, as they didn't want to cook more than it was requested, and also long wait at the eggs station in the morning. At peak hours there wasn't enough staff available and the employees were clearly struggling to keep up. This happened one morning in the restaurant, when nobody was available to clean the leaks on the ceramic floor beside a working station. Sure enough, when I passed by from the serving area, I slid on the slippery surface and fell, got a few small cuts on my hands and a bruised elbow that still hurts. Although I was offered help right away and a security person cleaned the cut and gave my a band-aid, I was quite disappointed that nobody offered an apology, no one followed up, there was no incident report, nothing that would make the staff responsible or accountable for their (lack of) actions.
Pros: The resort looks very nice, the beach is beautiful, and compared with other resorts, you can actually enter the ocean without hitting rocks. The pools are also very nice, including the kids' pool.
But the resort lacks that extra something that can come from the staff to make you feel more welcome. Take Iberostar for example, they had beach parties with cooking paellas on the beach, you could snack at the pool or beach and side service was continuous (but extra staff is required for all these), the pool crew was going over and above to make it fun for you to be there and they were treating you like a member of their family, the daily fun activities made such a difference, they were cooking in the kitchen until the last minute and the food carving was overly displayed, every day we'd have a towel figurine in our room, etc. But all these little things (that, yes, you can live without) involve more time and money that Barcelo doesn't seem willing to spend.
Overall not a bad experience, just not special at all. We've made more special for ourselves with a few booked excursions outside of the resort.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank iulir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this review, April 10, 2017
Dear Guest,

We appreciate all your feedback , we wanted to apologize about the delay on the reply but rest assured that this valuable comments have been shared with all our leaders of each department of the hotel in order to continue providing the positives and avoid the negatives to achieve our main goal which is Guest satisfaction.

We hope we have the chance to welcome you back !!

Best Regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

No greeting upon arrival. Check-in took forever. Only gave 1 card key, when asked for a second card, they said to come back the next day and might get another. EVERYONE was so rude and not helpful. They basically laughed at every request that was made and was not accommodating at all. No pool or beach side service. Rooms were big but everything smelled so sour like mildew. Fridge was not cold and was not restocked. No entertainment throughout the day. No music at pool areas or lobby bars. Only music was the piano played by guests. A/C would cut off in lobby bar every night at around 11pm. They tried to say that the A/C broke but such a coincedence that it cut off at the same time every night. It seem like they were trying to kick everyone out. Food was not great for a 5-star resort. It was the same type of food in all the buffets everyday. You have to make reservations to the restaurants as soon as you get there, otherwise you will be eating at the buffets the entire time. They did not have many open reservations available. Overall, we will never come back to this resort. For the money that was paid, the service and experience was horrible. Motels have better service than this "5-star" resort.

Room Tip: Don't go to this resort!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank AN703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this review, April 10, 2017
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review, we are sorry about our reply being delayed as we really appreciate that you have taken some time to write your comments about your experience in our hotel and this comments have been noted and shared with the leaders of every department.
We have been working hard to improve all our opportunity areas in order to achieve all our guests’ satisfaction.
Once again, we thank you for staying with us and hope to welcome back soon.

Regards,

Them Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Stream, New York
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

In terms of Architecture, this resort is very nice. Food was great, service was excellent. If your preferred scotch is Dewars White label, bring your own. The Discotheque was nice but DJ kept on playing house music or techno ...Good i guess for teenagers ...I met some great workers : Alejandro, Manuel (bar at the lobby), Randy, Oscar (bar by the pool). I was in room 8031 Suite Monarca..My family enjoyed the trip., Club premium was a plus....I cannot forget to mention José Sánchez from Tarifas ...they delivered what they promised...

Room Tip: suite ocean front club premium - it is a corner suite ...dining room, living room, bedroom, hamac..e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ernst E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this review, April 10, 2017
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments and evaluation. We are sharing all this with our staff in order to motivate them to keep up the good work .

We also want to offer you an apology due to the time it took for the reply as this feedback is of great importance to our hotel.

We hope you can visit us again soon!!

Best Regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We went as a group of 20. Overall the hotel was nice. Some issues with rooms like TV remotes not working, AC did not work in some rooms, drains slow, soap dispensers not working right, you have to go hunt down service, etc. These are little items that I would not care and would still give the hotel a good rating.

But everyone has pet peeves right? Mine was you canNOT book restaurants!!! Every time we asked its all booked. When we do get in, the restaurants are half full. An ALL inclusive resort in which you cannot dine at the restaurants you want. Fine dining is part of the deal/package. If you cannot have that, you have a nice hotel.

If you go during the summer - they are too busy to accommodate everyone. If you go off season like in Sept. they don't have enough customers and start shutting down restaurants.

Room Tip: Try going off season and maybe they keep the restaurants open. Then you might get to actually dine a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ti009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this review, April 10, 2017
Dear Guest,

We appreciate all your feedback , we wanted to apologize about the delay on the reply but rest assured that this valuable comments have been shared with all our leaders of each department of the hotel in order to continue providing the positives and avoid the negatives to achieve our main goal which is Guest satisfaction.

We hope we have the chance to welcome you back !!

Best Regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Barcelo Maya Caribe
#12 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
3,377 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,620 reviews
16.4 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#31 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
7,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Ocean Riviera Paradise
Ocean Riviera Paradise
#77 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,045 reviews
1.7 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,663 reviews
19.4 mi away
Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Maya Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Maya Palace

Property: Barcelo Maya Palace
Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez km 266.3 | Xpu Ha, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico (Formerly Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Barcelo Maya Palace 4.5*
Number of rooms: 756
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, BookIt.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Barcelo Maya Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Maya Palace Riviera Maya/Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing