We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Barcelo Maya Palace
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Resort is 4 stars and very nice. It is an hour from Cancun airport so plan appropriately. We upgraded to club or premium level and received the service from our private conceirge. We did this because of a bad experience with an over an hour checkin in the DR. Very nice not to have to wait in long lines while the tour groups check in and out. If you upgrade you can go to a speciality restaurant every night and there are lots of choices! Barcelo has 5 resorts here and one can go to the others via a shuttle in the evening (as some of the restaurants are on the other resorts). We stayed in Barcelo Bavarro in the DR and this resort is a smaller version. One thing...if you upgrade to a premium room, those rooms face the pool. This is not a problem unless you want to go back to your room in the middle of the day and take a nap. Then the room will be noisey. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. Very nice family resort with great kiddie pools and plenty of room at the adults only pool for super quiet! The food buffet has a lot of choices and service was excellent.

Room Tip: If you can afford the club premium do so as the rooms are very centrally located
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BostonSundancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2017

Dear Guest,

We appreciate all your feedback , we wanted to apologize about the delay on the reply but rest assured that this valuable comments have been shared with all our leaders of each department of the hotel in order to continue providing the positives and avoid the negatives to achieve our main goal which is Guest satisfaction.

We hope we have the chance to welcome you back !!

Best Regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,563)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,970 - 3,976 of 7,563 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2013

This is our second year staying at the barcelo palace... Great place! The service is amazing, it feels like the employees really enjoy their work, taking great care of the guests... The resort is very clean, nicely decorated. It has something for all ages, our 9 year old loves the activities. Recommend the club premium upgrade for sure... As well as the adult only pool. The food is acceptable - predictable. Not great, but in the top tier of an all inclusive in Mexico.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank SuzanneColumbusIn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments and evaluation. We are sharing all this with our staff in order to motivate them to keep up the good work .

We also want to offer you an apology due to the time it took for the reply as this feedback is of great importance to our hotel.

We hope you can visit us again soon!!

Best Regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

While we've never had a particular desire to visit the east coast of Mexico, we were very happy with our holiday on the Mayan peninsula this past February and especially with our stay at the Barcelo May. We've stayed at Barcelo-managed resorts on the Pacific coast before, but I must say that this facility, from our perspective, is certainly their nicest. The food, service and ambience was excellent. For the two weeks we were there, I cannot think of a complaint. For families travelling with young children, I don't think you could find a more "child friendly" environment.

The swimming areas - pools and beaches - were good. The "a la carte" restaurants were excellent. The nightly theatre activity was superb and very professional. The one recommend-ation on accomodation for those of us who may not want to whoop it up all night is "get a room facing on to a green belt" so you escape the din of the theatre. It also enables you to see the wonderful bird and animal life that lives in these environs and there is a lot of it.

Travelling outside the resort is easy as there are "collectivos" (15 passenger vans) stopping at the entrance to the facility constantly. They are inexpensive (30 pesos to Play del Carmen). If you are expecting the flavour of old Mexico, you won't find it here. Playa del Carmen, the closest town to our resort, is just another very expensive tourist trap - but worth a visit. We visited a cenote and some ruins which are certainly worth seeing once. There are some small out-ports close to the resort that are fun for breakfast or lunch. They are like "gated communities" developed around a village theme so there is a commercial component (restaurants, bars, hotels etc.). You'll enjoy all of it!

Room Tip: "get a room facing on to a green belt" so you escape the din of the theatre. It also enab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank colin t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments and evaluation. We are sharing all this with our staff in order to motivate them to keep up the good work .

We also want to offer you an apology due to the time it took for the reply as this feedback is of great importance to our hotel.

We hope you can visit us again soon!!

Best Regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

DO NOT STAY HERE!!!! Period. Not sure where the good reviews come from. Apparently, these travelers have not experienced anything of quality which actually wouldn't take much. My advice....search for the bad reviews, and that's basically what it was like. We were here with an extremely large wedding party. First time to Mexico. Extremely disappointed. Will never seek out and/or stay at this or any related property EVER AGAIN.

Room Tip: Don't stay here. That's the best tip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jen0148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review, we are sorry about our reply being delayed as we really appreciate that you have taken some time to write your comments about your experience in our hotel and this comments have been noted and shared with the leaders of every department.
We have been working hard to improve all our opportunity areas in order to achieve all our guests’ satisfaction.
Once again, we thank you for staying with us and hope to welcome back soon.

Regards,

Them Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

It was our first visit to Mexico and we were not disappointed! They gave us free upgrade to Palace from Tropical and everything was great - the food, the pools, the kids center, the room. We only didn't like any of the restaurants we visited - the brazilian and the seafood ones, the menues are very limited and probably after the excellent buffets our expectations for the quality and taste of the food were higher. We also liked the evening shows a lot, they start at 9.30 and the kids we already sleepy at that time after all day playing at the beach and the pools, but we were able to see four of the shows and they were well worth it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stefka A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments and evaluation. We are sharing all this with our staff in order to motivate them to keep up the good work .

We also want to offer you an apology due to the time it took for the reply as this feedback is of great importance to our hotel.

We hope you can visit us again soon!!

Best Regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We have travelled to the Riviera Maya area a few times, and visited a number of large and smaller scale resorts. Nothing we have been to is as nice as the Barcelo, especially the Palace. Our kids beg, when can we go back to Barcelo? That includes teenagers! Yes, seriously positive words from teenagers!!!

The common areas, pools and waterfront are stunning. The lobbies are huge, wide open and drop dead gorgeous. The pools are massive and wonderful with swim-up bars. There's even a more secluded adults-only pool area with shaded beds if you want to really relax. I would add that we liked the enormity of the place: we were never bored.

And unlike many all-inclusives where the food is uneven, we were extremely pleased with everything we ate, including the buffet style offerings. Plus, the restaurants that require a reservation were outstanding. We're not huge foodies, preferring quality over quantity, and the quality was quite good. Same for the drinks. When you pay for the Palace (versus the other Barcelo hotels (also very nice) on this large complex) top-shelf drinks are included, although you might have to remind the bartender occasionally. BTW, we found the resort workers to be incredibly nice and helpful. Most of the workers we spoke with really seemed to appreciate and enjoy their jobs, which makes the experience much more pleasant.

We did a bunch of off-site excursions which are being pushed on everyone the moment you step off your plane in Cancun. Zip-lining through jungles, swimming with dolphins, shopping in the nearby town - all fun. However, our children insist (and we agree) that we will just spend more time enjoying the Barcelo property next time. We loved it and will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ken R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments and evaluation. We are sharing all this with our staff in order to motivate them to keep up the good work .

We also want to offer you an apology due to the time it took for the reply as this feedback is of great importance to our hotel.

We hope you can visit us again soon!!

Best Regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Perfect place for an idilic vacation and with all commodities and activities. It does not leave modern ammenities and commodities back but places them in such an environment starting from the natural surroundings and counting the way the hotel building itself was planned that you might feel that you dont need anything to live but to just enjoy beeing there, no TV, no computer, no nothing else, and yet, you might use them in case you think you need them which, to me, was not necesary at all. I one sentence: it goes to the bottom line idea of a restful vacation time.

Room Tip: Always wear sandals when walking on the beaches.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emiliocisneros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2017

Dear Guest,
First and foremost we would like to thank you for the praising review you shared following your recent visit to our hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your expectations.
We are also grateful for your highlight on the efforts of our maids to keep our installations and accommodations spotless at all times in order to guarantee our high standards related to hygiene and cleanliness which is one of the most important aspects for Barceló.
Once more we thank you for sharing your experience with us and look forward to serving you again soon.
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
19.6 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4,270 reviews
0 mi away
Barcelo Maya Colonial
Barcelo Maya Colonial
#5 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
6,178 reviews
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Maya Beach
Barcelo Maya Beach
#11 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
8,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,898 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Barcelo Maya Caribe
#12 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
3,548 reviews
16.4 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#30 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
7,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Maya Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Maya Palace

Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez km 266.3 | Xpu Ha, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico (Formerly Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range: $260 - $627 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Barcelo Maya Palace 4.5*
Number of rooms: 756
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Barcelo Maya Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Maya Palace Riviera Maya/Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing