We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barcelo Maya Palace
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good place”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Beautiful beach, great pulls and good food, drinks are a little watered down like in any all inclusive resort. There is a diving shop right in the hotel so it is very convenient for divers and the diving spots are very good, the reef is not as rich as in Cozumel but still pretty good

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Judasal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this review, April 10, 2017
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments and evaluation. We are sharing all this with our staff in order to motivate them to keep up the good work .

We also want to offer you an apology due to the time it took for the reply as this feedback is of great importance to our hotel.

We hope you can visit us again soon!!

Best Regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,007
    1,530
    612
    215
    174
See reviews for
3,686
1,492
39
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,299)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Otsego, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

The beach, the rooms, the staff, and the ammenities were so fantastic last year that we have booked a return trip in March of 2013. I can't wait.

The only caution I have is skip ordering wine when dining at the restaurants. Very overpriced for the selection (and not a part of the premium package).

Date I want was Feb 2012, going back in March of 2013

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this review, April 10, 2017
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments and evaluation. We are sharing all this with our staff in order to motivate them to keep up the good work .

We also want to offer you an apology due to the time it took for the reply as this feedback is of great importance to our hotel.

We hope you can visit us again soon!!

Best Regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Barcelo is such a reliable brand - we've been to 3 (Dominican Republic, Cabo San Lucas, & Mayan Riviera). The Palace Deluxe is THE place to stay. The rooms were nice and clean/comfortable. The food was fantastic. The pool was gigantic and clean. The drinks were all top shelf! The beach was close to the pool and was kept really clean. All the hotel employees were really nice and our group felt safe the whole time. We had a blast and I'd love to go back someday. We went to a few of the other Barcelo Hotels connected to the complex and noticed that the Palace Deluxe was of a much higher quality and were were glad we paid a little extra to stay there.

Room Tip: There is an upgraded package that ensures you have an ocean/pool view, includes free room service, p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Greg N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this review, April 10, 2017
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments and evaluation. We are sharing all this with our staff in order to motivate them to keep up the good work .

We also want to offer you an apology due to the time it took for the reply as this feedback is of great importance to our hotel.

We hope you can visit us again soon!!

Best Regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level 6 Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Beautiful resort, however I don't recommend the premium club upgrade. We are not getting what we were promised and I have to beg for every thing we do get. Definitely NOT first class service here. We chose this place because we are traveling with children and their pool is the best! We are only 3 days into our trip and are already sick of the repetitious food at the buffet

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JanBalMilwaukee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this review, April 10, 2017
Dear Guest,

We appreciate all your feedback , we wanted to apologize about the delay on the reply but rest assured that this valuable comments have been shared with all our leaders of each department of the hotel in order to continue providing the positives and avoid the negatives to achieve our main goal which is Guest satisfaction.

We hope we have the chance to welcome you back !!

Best Regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannonsburg, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We had 35 couples here from our company here. We are all 40+ years old. This was the fourth time coming to this resort and every time we have a robe night at the bar, where we wear our robes over our cloths. This year they would not serve us and made us leave the bar. We are not a rowdy bunch and were only going to be there an hour tops. They said they had a policy about this type of thing. They do have a policy about children being in the bars after 7p.m. but there were still kids in there that night past 8. After we left I came back to get a drink and all the bar tenders and managers were laughing about it. Well, there goes a half a million in revenue for this place. T.W. Grand Rapids Michigan

Room Tip: Food will be cold, and not taste good at all. Nobody here speaks english well at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank T-roy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this review, April 14, 2017
We appreciate your comments and the time you take to write to us. We are working to respond in a timely manner to each of our guests comments, we regret that our response now seems untimely but we assure you that we take very into account your recommendations. Best Regards, The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannon Falls, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I just got home from a week long stay at the Barceló Maya Palace Deluxe and am already trying to figure out when I can return. From the time my family and I arrived, we were constantly in awe of this beautiful establishment. The staff was always courteous and attentive. Both the beach and pools were immaculate-as well the hotel property. The food was plentiful and very good with beautiful presentation in every restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Casey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this review, April 10, 2017
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments and evaluation. We are sharing all this with our staff in order to motivate them to keep up the good work .

We also want to offer you an apology due to the time it took for the reply as this feedback is of great importance to our hotel.

We hope you can visit us again soon!!

Best Regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

My family stayed during the holidays and before we booked, I thoroughly read the reviews. As most others stated, the grounds are beautiful and well maintained, the rooms are nicely appointed and the food was so so. Our room 8376 was about a 5-7 minute walk to the restaurants and a few minutes less to the pools/beach (not bad and we can use the exercise). Our boys ages 9 & 5 enjoyed the Kids Club which as well supervised and organized. The beach is a bit rocky in areas but we quickly figured out the best spots & did not have a problem finding chairs. The snorkeling off the pier was great and it is a nice walk to the other end of the beach. We were only able to secure 3 dining reservations in the Brazilian and Caribe restaurants during Christmas week but we did not make a huge deal of it since we knew going in that the holidays are busy! My kids actually preferred the buffets (probably just a kid thing). My sister and her family stayed in a room near ours and had some trouble keeping the room cool but also felt sick when she was in the room. She was fine outside the room. We suspect mold as an issue. As others stated, the rooms are nice and the beds & pillows are rock hard. All in all, we did have a wonderful time and felt our stay and service at the resort was good.

Room Tip: Make dinner reservations in specialty restaurants upon check-in Bring plenty of single bills for ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toeknee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this review, April 21, 2017
Dear Guest,

We appreciate all your feedback , we wanted to apologize about the delay on the reply but rest assured that this valuable comments have been shared with all our leaders of each department of the hotel in order to continue providing the positives and avoid the negatives to achieve our main goal which is Guest satisfaction.

We hope we have the chance to welcome you back !!

Best Regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Barcelo Maya Caribe
#12 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
3,310 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,506 reviews
16.4 mi away
Paradisus by Melia Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus by Melia Playa Del Car...
#31 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
7,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Ocean Riviera Paradise
Ocean Riviera Paradise
#77 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,847 reviews
19.4 mi away
Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Maya Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Maya Palace

Property: Barcelo Maya Palace
Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez km 266.3 | Xpu Ha, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico (Formerly Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Barcelo Maya Palace 4.5*
Number of rooms: 756
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Barcelo, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Barcelo Maya Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Maya Palace Riviera Maya/Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing