We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not All Inclusive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Barcelo Maya Palace
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
New Albany, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not All Inclusive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Dont be afraid to move rooms if your room smells of sewer and it was bad
Please be aware they claim to be an all Inclusive Resort but when you get there you will be charged extra for Room Service and Internet, and be carefull all drinks are not included they will be charged to your room, The place is beautifull but they are not all Inclusive ,only if you pay for their Premium Plan, unfortunately I didnt find that out until I was there

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PatrickQ1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review, we are sorry about our reply being delayed as we really appreciate that you have taken some time to write your comments about your experience in our hotel and this comments have been noted and shared with the leaders of every department.
We have been working hard to improve all our opportunity areas in order to achieve all our guests’ satisfaction.
Once again, we thank you for staying with us and hope to welcome back soon.

Regards,

Them Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,499
    1,354
    537
    184
    160
See reviews for
3,144
1,346
31
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,254)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Midlothian, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

A little late on this review. We traveled here in May with a nearly 2 and 4 year old at the time. We chose this resort over many because of the water park(s). There are actually two if you count the sister property right next door which you have access to if staying at the Palace. The water parks are perfect for little kids. I loved that there are lifeguards on duty and they really do keep watch. At first I was taken back by the fact parents are not aloud to go down the slides but understand that it is a safety measure that prevents the little ones from getting hurt. Our kids had the best time playing in one of the two water parks daily. The water parks alone make this resort a 5 star but only giving this resort 4 stars because of the food. Which having traveled to many AI's resorts I'm fully aware food is not always the best. But was really disappointed in all of the food especially the buffets at this resort and its sister properties all of which are next door to one another (believe there are 4 total) and the fact that there is no 24 hour room service (included) which i think is a must when traveling with young children. Also, I think it's crazy you have to make reservations in advance and between the oddest hours. Children are very unpredictable especially when it comes to meal time. Having to think ahead to when you think everyone would be hungry, get ready, and go eat is usually (always) a mess with little ones. It would have been so nice if room service was included so we could have had a peaceful meal here and there with out the fuss of being out in public with two tired and fussy babies. Or even if they had an outdoor grill/snack bar where you could walk over to grab a hamburger, hot dog and fries while in your swim suit. Those were really my only complaints and a big one for parents with young children. However, Again I think the water parks totally make up for it and we will be returning to this property in the future.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kmp717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this review, January 8, 2017
Dear Guest,
First of all we want to thank you for your preference and we appreciate the fact that you took some time to write your feedback about our resort.
As a hotel is it is very satisfactory to see that our guests enjoyed their stay here, and we will continue providing the service with the same quality and improving in our areas of opportunity.
We hope to welcome you back soon !!

Best Regards.
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

first of all, i have to say that from the second you get to the hotel till the moment you leave, the experience is absolutely fabulous! the people working in the hotel make you feel welcome and are always available to make your stay pleasent: from the reception, the concierge service, the people in the food and beverage service even the housekeeping service!!!!

the hotel is really spic and span! you feel that every inch is spotless! the food in the buffet is pretty good and the diversity amazing!!! always hot and a lot of choice! lets not even go to the speciality restaurants!!! OMG they are absolutely great! the french one is a most! the choice of alcool at the bar is pretty spectacular! for an all inclusive they have a lot of premium quality bottles! and the animation team always there to make your day even better and never get bored!

last but not least, you can shop!!! there is soooo many choice of souvenirs and clothes and pharmacy, even wine! all of this inside the hotel! you dont even have to go out to the city! ( although i recommend dearly to go visit riviera maya, but you dont need to, thats what i am saying!!) and at the end the internet acces is pretty strong even in the rooms, not only in the lobby !

so guys please go check this place, if you want all fun and no stress, this is the place to be for a wonderful vacation! at least for me it was soooo great that i am going back on february with my family!

Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd floor for a better view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valeria17155032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this review, January 8, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your amazing feedback, this motivates us as a hotel to keep up the good work and improve day by day to create great experiences to our guests.
We really appreciate your evaluation and hope to welcome you back soon!!

Warm Regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

The overall stay was excellent. A lot of activities during the day. Snorkelling is awesome.

The only thing which went wrong: they gave us a room without safe. Since our friends stayed next door we didn't bother pushing to change room. The day before we left, we forgot our cellphones on the night table: we got them stolen !! The policy there is a 3 days investigation.... The hotel and security managers didn't do anything. We left without anything... However, On the Monday when we got back home, they sent us an email offering a 7 days stay at the same hotel for free, we had to use it during the
coming year.

Conclusion: if you get to your room and there is no safe, make sure you change room!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pattsy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this review, January 8, 2017
4 Stars

Dear Guest,
First of all we want to thank you for your preference and we appreciate the fact that you took some time to write your feedback about our resort.
As a hotel is it is very satisfactory to see that our guests enjoyed their stay here, and we will continue providing the service with the same quality about the things you liked and improving in our areas of opportunity as the ones you´ve mentioned.

We hope to welcome you back soon !!

Best Regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

It was our second visit to the Barcelo Maya Palace. We had a great experience the first time, unfortunately the second visit didn't meet the (high) expectations we had.

The biggest issue for us was that both buffets at the Palace were closed for dinner time for 3 out of 5 nights we stayed there. The buffets were the MAIN reason we returned to the hotel, as the selection and the quality was great, in my opinion better than some of the a-la-carte restaurants. Had we known, we would have booked at a lower priced hotel.

And then there were little things: Our bed was awful. It wasn't as bad last year. The housekeeping forgot to refill the minibar and the snacks two days in a row. And finally, the palapa beds at the adults pool are no longer free. Needless to say that none of them were used because of this. Wifi is still charged a a high price when it is provided for free in many other hotels.

On the up side, it is a beautiful hotel. We love the lobby with the magnificient ocean views, the top-shelf alcohol (not too many resorts where you can drink Chartreuse) and the food is just great. The pools are very nice, and there are plenty of sunloungers for everyone.

For beach lovers, the beach is very rocky due to the reefs. So not the best place for people who like to swim in the sea.

Last year I would have recommended this resort without any reservations. Now, not so sure.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this review, January 8, 2017
4 Stars

Dear Guest,
First of all we want to thank you for your preference and we appreciate the fact that you took some time to write your feedback about our resort.
As a hotel is it is very satisfactory to see that our guests enjoyed their stay here, and we will continue providing the service with the same quality about the things you liked and improving in our areas of opportunity as the ones you´ve mentioned.

We hope to welcome you back soon !!

Best Regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We are big snorkelers and do this about 8 hours a day. We love the Barcelo group for snorkeling right off the beach. There are differnet rock formation in different areas. To the left are deeper areas with large rocks and fish. To the way far right is a shallow area with oddly very big fish. We have seen big barracuda, large fish, turtles, tons of sting rays, conch, so much to see. At this resort we enjoy lots of different fish to see and a great environment, bars, food, dining, service and so much more. We love them and all of their fish. Enjoy.

Room Tip: We have stayed in the lower cost colonial and beach. Those are fine too. You get access to almost...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank intenttraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this review, January 8, 2017

Dear Guest,

We are very happy about your feedback as our main goal is to leave all our Guest satisfied . We will continue all the hard work to keep satisfying all our guests and we hope to host you back real soon!!

Best Regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

in 2 yrs we have been to Dreams Huatalco,Rio Palace P.V. and twice to Bacelo Palace,all 5 star resorts but Bacelo Palace has that little extra.We are already booked for this christmas We just hope that nothing has changed ,as everything last visit was perfect,only thing they have no control over are their guests,dont go in spring break!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 983steve42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this review, January 9, 2017

Dear Guest,

We are very happy about your feedback as our main goal is to leave all our Guest satisfied . We will continue all the hard work to keep satisfying all our guests and we hope to host you back real soon!!

Best Regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Barcelo Maya Caribe
#12 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,000 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,183 reviews
19.1 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#33 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,612 reviews
1.8 mi away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,169 reviews
5.4 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Maya Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Maya Palace

Property: Barcelo Maya Palace
Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez km 266.3 | Xpu Ha, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico (Formerly Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Barcelo Maya Palace 4.5*
Number of rooms: 756
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Barcelo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Maya Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Maya Palace Riviera Maya/Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing