We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I've traveled the world and Barcelo's was a perfect family get away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Reviewed December 26, 2010

We traveled to Cancun via Sun Wing vacations. The entire trip was really great with the exception of the flight there and back. The Sun Wing airplanes are straight out of the 80's and have 0 room for a family to fly, and their in flight entertainment is a joke. We have a 4 year old and a 16 month old, and it was a nightmare in the tight compartments. The hotel and every other aspect of the vacation was brilliant, its too bad the flights were so hideous.

Barcelo's is an all inclusive resort with a plush and beautiful property. We stayed in the Junior Suite with a family of 4, and it was just right. The rooms were new and well kept, the maid service was just what it should be with turn down services at night. We actually tried to cut down on the maid visits but they would clean the rooms and towels anyhow. I was very happy with all the services.

The food at the buffets was fair to very good, and the al a cart food was excellent in my opinion. We traveled with another family of 3 who were equally if not more impressed than we.

One note regarding the bar drinks... Our vacation was a 7 day get away, and for a non drinker I figured I would step out of my norm and relax with some tropical drinks on the beach. So my drink of choice was the Pina Coloda. So get this... For the first 4 days I was pounding back the Pina Colodas like they were going out of style, thinking my tolerance for alcohol was pretty good for a guy that drinks about once a year. Then one day we are at the bar talking to a bar keep, and we ask about one of the slushy orange drinks in the mixer, the bar keep says what the drink is and mentions you need to add alcohol if you want a mixed drink. So, I notice the yellow Pina Coloda mix beside the orange and ask if that is pre mixed already, and of course the bar keep says no, you need to ask for alcohol for those too. It turns out my excellent tolerance for alcohol may not have been quite as good as I thought, I had been drinking virgins the whole time. Needless to say, once I started adding the booze to my drinks it was a different story, and even more embarrassing than this one...

My over all opinion of the Barcelo's resort and Playa Del Carmen was truly excellent, and I would recommend Barcelo's to anyone, especially if you have you children.

While planing our vacation I looked through a number of these reviews and found a lot of negative and positive reviews. I was a challenge to sort out what was valid and what was overly picky. I live in an average house in Coquitlam BC and work in the film and TV business. I have seen a lot of hotel rooms from my travels, and stayed in both ends of the spectrum, from the roach motels to plush luxury in New York and London. From a guy who has some modest experience, I hope this helps.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gasman1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2016

Dear gasman1970,

We are pleased to know your comments, since they help us to constantly improve, thank you very much for having choose Barcelo Maya Tropical for your vacation as well of your kind recommendation to your friends,
Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.
We look forward to host your family again in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact us any time before you coming back as we are committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities.
Warmest Regards,
La Gerencia
Barcelo Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,904)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,428 - 2,434 of 4,904 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2010

Good place with a lot of activity, beach is nice, food-some are good and some are bad. Entertaiment is worse I ever seen. Overal solid place for family vacation.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vlad6267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2016

Dear Vlad6267,

We really appreciate your visit and the time taken to write your impression about your stay, Barceló Maya Tropical is committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities, we will work on Fun Club and Entertaiment issues to improve them.
We have read your opinion and really appreciate the valuable time you have taken to share your comments regarding your stay at Barcelo Maya Tropical
We look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Best wishes,

La Gerencia
Barcelo Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2010

Just returned from an week long stay at the Tropical as part of a wedding group - beautiful and well kept. Very large - lots of walking, but that's probably a good thing when the only other things you are doing is eating, drinking and basking in the sun! Lots to do at this resort - games, water sports, kid's park. Only complaint was that they should probably do some updating to their hotel information books in the rooms - some info was incorrect i.e. 24 hour internet service was quite a distance from the Tropical (over at the Caribbe/Beach) and it actually closed at 11:00 p.m. Not the best news after a hot day touring Tulum/Xelha and a long walk over to find the internet! All in all it was a great week and I would stay there again anytime. Oh - don't forget that there are mattress pads on top of the box spring if you find your bed too hard. It takes a bit of work to get them pulled out, but I'm sure the cleaning staff would have done it for us if we'd asked!

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lleesch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2016

Dear Lleesch,

We would like to thank you for choosing Barcelo Maya Tropical to expend this holiday
Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.
We look forward to host you.
Best wishes,

La Gerencia
Barcelo Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2010

We stayed at the Barcelo from Oct 23-Oct 31st. We were worried because there was a hurricane headed towards Cancun, but we took a chance and went. It was wonderful! The resort is about a hour from the airport. I think the next time we go to the Riviera Maya we will stay at a resort closer to the airport.
This reosrt is made up of five resorts. We were at the Colonial resort. For a extra $300 we could of upgraded to the Palace. we choose not too, we wanted to be with our group of friends.
Staying at the Colonial only allows you four dinners at 2 different restaurants.
I was not to happy with that. The least we could of gotten was four different a la cartes.
We ate at the mexican restraunt twice and the Spanish restraunt twice. The serviice was very good at both.
The beach is amazing! we have been to a number of resorts in that area and this resort by far has the best beach we have ever seen.There is plently of shade available and more than enough chairs on the beach.There is no drink service on the beach.
There are things to use in the water free of charge..... big water tikes, snorkel gear, etc.
also , make sure you go by the pier and feed the fish- its fun to see all of them try for the food.
We had no complaints with the food- we all found something to eat while we were there- even of it was sometimes just salad and veggies. Breakfast was always a hit!!!
The swim up bar sometimes got a bit crowded and they could of used a bt more help there.
We took a morning trip in Tulum to see the Ruins. it was well worth it. We went with a tour group so we were dropped right at the entrance so we didnt have to walk. It is nowhere near a mile walk like they tell you it is- maybe a half mile at the very very most.
The riuns are amazing and well worth a trip at least once.
The resort offers the internet- it is $3.00 for 15 minutes. it is located in the gift shop. it was always easy to get on a computer.
There is also a sports bar at the resort right next door. Sunday night and Monday night football games are televised.
The activites staf fwas fun.however some of the dance lessons got kind of old- the lessons that took a half hour to learn. we would of peferred to dance to a bunch of short songs.
there is a small bus who will take you all around the complex. We took it to the middle complex where there is a shopping plaza.
we used the spa services also. people in our group got a massage on the beach and we got the gilrs hair braided.
we would go back to the Barcelo in a heartbeat-but we would probably stay the the next level resort so we had more choices for dinner.
if you have any questions i would be happy to answer them!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jackmuk7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2016

Dear jackmuk7,

We are pleased to know your comments, since they help us to constantly improve, thank you very much for having choose Barcelo Maya Tropical for your vacation as well of your kind recommendation to your friends,
Our main goal is to fulfill the expectations of every single guest we have the pleasure of serving, since we want them to return home totally satisfied and with the desire to visit
We would be honor to host you again in the near future.
Warmest Regards,

La Gerencia
Barcelo Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2010

We were there for a wedding. Very nice set-up and reception afterwards. The resort was HUGE. The food was good. We really enjoyed the snack bar by the beach. The staff was excellent! The grounds is constantly being groomed - beautiful.

Dislike
The long drive time to/from the airport. It was about an hour if you take a shuttle.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReallyLoves2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2016

Dear ReallyLoves2Travel,

We have read your opinion and really appreciate the valuable time you have taken to share your comments regarding your stay at Barcelo Maya Tropical
We accommodate many guests each day and we strive to make their stay a satisfying one. One of our goals is to provide service and facilities of great quality.
We look forward to host you.
Best Regards,

La Gerencia
Barcelo Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2010

Rooms are fantastic.
The beach is the best in the area as you're closer toTulum.
Staff is INCREDIBLY nice and friendy.

Rooms are very confortable and cleaned.

We really could not find 1 point to be improved.

Strongly reccomended both for business and private trip.!!

The SPA is fantastic!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maxolino76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2016

Dear maxolino76,

We appreciate your kind comments and the time you took to share them on Trip Advisor, it is very important for us to thank our guests’ confidence.
We really appreciate your loyalty to Barceló Maya Tropical. Thank you very much for sharing your experience, your scores and recommendations.
Barceló Maya Tropical is committed to providing our guests with the highest quality of services and facilities; we thank you very much for the kind explanation of the Resort.
We look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Best wishes,

La Gerencia
Barcelo Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2010

As an agent, I was there for both business and pleasure. This was a very large property. Be prepared to walk. Located one hour and 45 minutes from the airport. This is a perfect resort for families with kids of all ages; even teenagers. Lots of activities on site: good snorkeling, water bikes, kayaks, volleyball, waterpark, a great Kids Club - common areas are beautiful and well maintained and expansive. Great for large groups. Restaurants are many with reservations necessary. Buffet food was average. My favorite meal was the lobster at the seafood restaurant at the Tropical. Service was very good throughout. Beach is beautiful and large. The best sand was on either end. Of all the properties visited, this beach was the best. It offered areas of powdery sand as well as some areas of coral. The water clarity was amazing!!! The rooms offered double beds and a sofa with no pull-outs. The entire property, rooms, pools, grounds, restaurants were all clean. Feel free to contact me with questions.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank goandseetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2016

Dear goandseetravel,

We are pleased to know your comments, since they help us to constantly improve, thank you very much for having choose Barcelo Maya Tropical for your vacation as well of your kind recommendation to your friends,
Our main goal is to fulfill the expectations of every single guest we have the pleasure of serving, since we want them to return home totally satisfied and with the desire to visit us again.
Once again thank you for having chose Barcelo Maya Tropical for your recent stay and really hope to have your preference for your next holidays

Respectfully,

La Gerencia
Barcelo Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
19.5 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4,275 reviews
0 mi away
Barcelo Maya Colonial
Barcelo Maya Colonial
#5 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
6,182 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Maya Palace
Barcelo Maya Palace
#6 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
7,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Maya Beach
Barcelo Maya Beach
#11 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
8,697 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Barcelo Maya Caribe
#12 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
3,551 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
#4 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
10,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Maya Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Maya Tropical

Address: Ctra. Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez, Km 266,3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#7 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range: $212 - $547 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Maya Tropical 4*
Number of rooms: 479
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Barcelo, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Barcelo Maya Tropical reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Maya Tropical Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Maya Tropical Riviera Maya/Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing