We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good vacation, many "rules".”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I went with my family (more than 10) including some children. It was my first time there but second for my son and his wife (previously at Colonial).
Let me start with the goods: very beautiful property, well maintained landscaping, good weather, exciting time with fishes around the dock (you can touch them,hundred of them).
Regarding meals, they were acceptable. Breakfast was the better with more options.Staff was gently but need more training and experience (don't know what a diet Coke is?).
Pools are wide and plenty of activities for children and adults.
Room were clean and wide with balcony. Room maid was good.
Beach has rocks but you can find some spots with no rocks and take a good time there. Aquatic sports are good and easy to get some equipment. Jet sky expensive.
Now the bad: many "rules" that could affect your visit. Example: "no allowed tables at restaurant with more than 8 people because it is not the "rule". When asked for two attendants and join two tables,they said it is not the "rule". Another example: while waiting for family I put my feet on a living room table ( I know it is bad education, but relax we were on vacation and it was only for few seconds). Immediately a courteous girl came and asked me in front of everybody to put my feet down because it was not the "rule". For me it had no sense to act in this way for only few seconds of breaking the "rule". After several complaints we finally got a table to accommodate entire family, but I still asking me if for they "client satisfaction" is first instead of unnecessary "rules".

Room Tip: Ask for Yucatan building, second, third floor, lower numbers.These rooms are near pool, amphitheater...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marqluisd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2016

Dear marqluisd,

We would like to thank you for the explanation of Barcelo Maya Tropical you have written, Our goal is to provide excellent service and maintain great facilities for the enjoyment of our guests. We deeply appreciate your scores and will work on your suggestions.

Once again thank you very much; we look forward to your next visit.

La Gerencia
Barcelo Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,033)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,004 - 2,010 of 5,034 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013

Couldn't have been better! Glad we stayed at the Tropical it was overall nicer than the Maya side which was more expensive! Restaurants need to open earlier for each meal and they need a better variety but for the most part we found something to eat each meal!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luckydiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2016

Dear Luckydiver,

Thank you for your comments regarding your past stay, Barceló Maya Tropical is committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities.

We would be grateful to have another opportunity to host you in the future.

Sincerely,

La Gerencia
Barcelo Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

This is a very beautiful property with plenty of places to relax in the sun and shade. The entire property was clean and well maintained. The staff (with the exception of one of the pool towel staff) were friendly and wonderful to interact with. Our first room- located on the first floor of the Yucatan building- had a very strong mildew smell so we changed rooms to the second floor on our third day. Our son and daughter also had a room on the first floor but did not have the strong smell ours had so they stayed there...guess it's the luck of the draw.
While the maid staff was helpful and friendly, they were rarely able to keep the room stocked with towels or washcloths. We would use towels and they didn't replace them the next day unless we called guest services- usually more than once. I don't think it was because they didn't want to but rather that they were running short of towels and couldn't keep up. Additionally, it took three days to get two additional pillows that we requested at check-in.
The beach was well maintained with plenty of lounge chairs to use. I would recommend having water shoes to avoid the large rocks in the water. On a calm day you can see your way past them but if there are significant waves, you'll tear your feet up pretty badly. The rocks are more concentrated for the first 15 yards- after that it's pretty clear.
The buffet food is what you would expect...but there is a fantastic selection and the wait staff was very friendly and helpful. The "specialty" restaurants are worth taking the time to reserve. Our favorite was Kyoto Japanese Steak House. The Italian and seafood places were good as well.
The only "problem" we encountered was during checkout. The hotel's credit card system was down and they could only accept cash in order to check out. I had to pay $30 in ATM fees in order to get money from the ATM in the lobby which seems crazy to me. The staff was empathetic but offered no alternative (i.e. take my card # and charge it when the system came back up). Since we needed to get to the shuttle we didn't really have any other options. Not very happy about how that was handled by the hotel.
Bottom line- The staff was wonderful to interact with and the property was simply beautiful. Outside of the minor issues we ran into listed above, this was a great trip.

Room Tip: First-floor rooms are more nice (no stairs) but often have a strong mildew smell to them. Pick a hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Todd N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2016

Dear Todd N,


We appreciate your kind recommendation of Barcelo Maya Tropical. Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.
Once again thank you very much for your visit, we look forward to your next one!

Sincerely,
La Gerencia
Barcelo Maya Tropical

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

My fifteen year old daughter and I just came back from 5 nights at the Barcelo. We were very pleased with the hotel, staff and beach. Our room was in an excellent location, only a short distance to the pool. It was a short walk to the buffet restaurants and given the amount of food available, it's a good thing we were getting some exercise! We ate most of our meals at the buffets and were more than happy with the selection of food and the service. We ate one meal at the Italian restaurant which we enjoyed. I particularly liked the location of the pool to the beach - just steps away. The beach was beautiful, with lots of chairs, shade, and smooth, clean sand. We did bring watershoes after reading reviews about the rocks. We wore them twice - both times were when it was very wavy so you didn't have time to check the ocean floor while you were getting knocked by the waves. The hotel gift shop sells watershoes if you feel you need them and didn't bring any. We wanted a relaxing time so we didn't go to any of the shows. I would definitely go back to the Tropical (or Colonial which appears to be its twin).

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanetOO7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2016

Dear Janet007,

The main goal of Barceló Maya Tropical is to fulfill the expectations of every single guest we have the pleasure of serving, since we want you to return home totally satisfied and with the desire to visit us again.

We look forward to hosting you again in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us prior to your next visit.

Warmest Regards

La Gerencia
Barcelo Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I went to Barceló with two girlfriends in August 2013 - great all-Inclusive resort consisting of four hotels all right next to each other. Barceló Maya Palace Deluxe, Barceló Maya Beach, Barceló Maya Caribe, and Barceló Maya Tropical. We stayed at the Tropical property. Very large property - lots of walking to pool and beach but laid out nicely. Beautiful landscaping and open-air lobby. The restaurants were only okay...but it's free, right? the Capri (Italian) was probably the most disappointing. Buffet was great though. Housekeeping came at strange hours and didn't always refill our mini-fridge with bottled water or clean glasses. The pools were great - swim up bars included, but I hope you like Corona Extra, because that's the only beer available. Overall, only a couple minor disappointments - I'd definitely recommend this resort to anyone - great value! We booked through Delta Vacations.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 772lindsayr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2016

Dear Lindsay R,

We really appreciate your scores and recommendations, thank you for being our guest, we would continue working very hard in order to fulfill our guests expectations.

Barceló Maya Tropical is committed to providing our guests with the highest quality of services and facilities.

Please feel free to contact us for any further assistance.

Best Regards.
La Gerencia
Barcelo Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

First of all, we bought the colonial and they assigned the tropical without a reason..

when we get there they assigned the room and it was not clean at all, no towels; we request to clean the room and nobody came and we request a change of room to Michelle Rebollar from front desk and she said they are on the way and never came...

one night they were cleaning with water the hall between room they made a lot of noise, they made in the night.... but the water went to my room and we request 6 am to clean up and dry my flooded room and they came to my room at 3:33 pm after 3 calls ... that is not acceptable...

and the most terrible thing.... if you are american and blonde.. you can get vip assistance from everyone... if you are mexican or any latin american you will get discrimination...

I wont go back to this hotel...

Room Tip: if you are american and blonde... you can go... and do not go in high season... they can not make it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlos A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2016

Dear Carlos A:

We are pleased to know your comments, since they help us to constantly improve, thank you very much for having choose Barcelo Maya Tropical for your vacation. Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.

We are sorry about the inconvenience, all our guests are really important for us, we want you know that your comments and suggestions are taken seriously.
Barceló Maya Tropical is committed to providing our guests with the highest quality of services and facilities.

We hope you will allow us the opportunity to serve your future lodging needs.

La Gerencia
Barcelo Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

This being our first time at the Barcelo, it was more than was expected. The service was great, from the restaurants to the bars and the cleaning staff. They were all nice and friendly. The pools were clean. The beach itself was good. You can avoid the rocks in the ocean, and that makes it very enjoyable. The food at the seafood restaurant wasn't bad, but it wasn't good. The food we had everywhere else was good, even great. The only thing we didn't like was that the people in the surrounding rooms were pretty noisy, so it was hard to sleep at times. That was about the only bad thing we experienced there. I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J_Campbell2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2016

Dear J_Campbell2013:

We appreciate your kind comments and the time you took to share them on Trip Advisor, it is very important for us to thank our guests’ confidence.

The main goal of Barceló Maya Tropical is to fulfill the expectations of every single guest we have the pleasure of serving, since we want you to return home totally satisfied and with the desire to visit us again.

We are working in all of the departments to make your experience as better as posible.

We look forward to host your family again in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact us any time before you coming back as we are committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities.

La Gerencia
Barcelo Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
19.5 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#9 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
4,388 reviews
0 mi away
Barcelo Maya Colonial
Barcelo Maya Colonial
#5 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
6,350 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Maya Palace
Barcelo Maya Palace
#6 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
7,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Maya Beach
Barcelo Maya Beach
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
8,887 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Barcelo Maya Caribe
#12 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
3,660 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
#4 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
10,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Maya Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Maya Tropical

Address: Ctra. Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez, Km 266,3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#7 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range: $250 - $491 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Maya Tropical 4*
Number of rooms: 479
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Barcelo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Barcelo Maya Tropical reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Maya Tropical Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Maya Tropical Riviera Maya/Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing