We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Dont Waste your Money” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barcelo Maya Tropical

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Dont Waste your Money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

I stayed at this hotel in October for 10 days with my Mother for a family Reunion. Our family was getting together to celebrate a birthday !!
From the moment of arrival I got an instant headache. I had booked our rooms 5 months in advance and the hotel put us in the Barcelo Colonial because they had no more rooms left in the Barcelo Tropical.
We did not fight with them on this as we had just come all the way from Australia !!!
As their was 22 of us when we booked the restaurants for dinner they were not very helpful with seating us together. However while staying at the hotel their were 2 conventions for over 2000 people. The hotel closed down half the beach for them and allocated certain pools for them. One night they had a show on in the theatre for them which went on until 1am in the morning and they called this a family/children friendly hotel…. The noise was so loud we complained 3 times.
By the way this hotel has NO FREE WIFI, not even in the lobby!!!
The food was very much the same day in day out and for lunch and for dinner.
One last thing…. customer service at this hotel is crap they only take notice of you if you have money! But don’t get me wrong we met some nice waiters here, who were very good!!
Over all i would not rate this a 4 star hotel , its not even close!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank marika r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this review, May 20, 2016
Dear marika r,
We appreciate you have write us on Trip Advisor since this help us to constantly improve, thank you very much for having choose Barcelo Maya Tropical for your past family vacation. We accommodate many guests each day and we strive to make their stay a satisfying one. We apologize for the last impression taken and look forward to welcome your family back in the future.
Warmest Regards
La Gerencia
Barcelo Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,953 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,451
    957
    304
    150
    91
See reviews for
1,836
1,125
36
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (579)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

There are 5 resorts here; we stayed at the Tropical which is close to the Colonial sharing a buffet etc. The Palace is a step up and set apart. Overall an excellent resort, clean with friendly, hard working staff. Some of our favourites: Christy, Larissa, Anselmo, Marcy, Paula. The clock in our room didn't work and it was replaced quickly (after we figured out which department to tell...not the bell man, chambermaid or front desk). We knew to just keep telling everyone until we got it right (the concierge). Decent a la carte restaurants, especially the Italian. Beautiful beach, its own small reef so great for snorkeling (we took our own gear and used it every day we weren't on an excursion), good pools and activities. Lots of excursions and things to do in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JoanandDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this review, May 1, 2016
Dear: JoanandDoug

Once again thank you very much; we look forward to see you!

La Gerencia
Barcelo Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Recently had a 10 day stay at the Tropical. This was our 2nd time there and as before, it was wonderful. Except for the fact that we had several in our group. 3 couples were upgraded to the Palace, the rest of us left at the Tropical. It was fine with me since I was told there wasn't that much difference in rooms. I think our beach was better. I was just a little disappointed we were separated and not upgraded as a group since we traveled together. I do think they need to do some updating at the Tropical. We had some issues with things in our room. Overall we had a great time. The bar staff at the Barcelo are wonderful! Gilberto in the theater bar is GREAT!! Martin in the disco is SUPER!!

Room Tip: We stayed on 2nd floor this time instead of 1st floor. It seemed to help with dampness from humidit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Susie0129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this review, May 20, 2016
Dear Susie0129,

We appreciate your visit and the time taken to write us a review on Trip Advisor.

We thank you very much for your kindest words, you receive best regards from all of us.

We would be grateful to host you with your family and friends in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact us any time before you coming back.

Warmest Regards
La Gerencia
Barceló Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grain Valley, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

This was our second time to Barcelo Riviera Maya Tropical! It was just as good as the first! The beach is awesome! Snorkeling was awesome also! Restaurants were really good, buffets were okay. Gilberto and Martin our bartenders at the theatre were as good as we remember! We went with a group of 18!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank halldog33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this review, May 20, 2016
Dear halldog33,
We really appreciate you have write us on Trip Advisor since this help us to constantly improve, thank you very much for having choose Barcelo Maya Tropical for your family vacation and loyalty. We accommodate many guests each day and we strive to make their stay a satisfying one. We are pleased to know your comments regarding gilberto and Martin they are part our restairants staff. We look forward to welcome your family back in the future.
Warmest Regards
La Gerencia
Barcelo Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones,tropical@barcelomaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

This resort is one of the best i've ever had the good fortune to stay in. There's nothing to fault this idilic place! The food was second to none and the service was brilliant. Those hard working people who wait on in the buffets are great and have the patience of saints. The theme restaraunts are great too, especially the tapenyaki (hope that's spelled right). Nothing is too much trouble for the staff who went out of their way to be friendly and attentive. The pool bars were fun......there were no waiters around the pool, you had to get your own drinks. But hey....we all need a little exersise now and then!! There was plenty to do and see. The trips were great.We went snorkelling to the beach in Tulum.......amazing!!!!! The animation team work very hard to give you a different show every night and the shows were very good! Not your usual rubbish but well thought out themes and well acted! I would just like to say a big THANKYOU for such an amazing holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wendykeyworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this review, May 1, 2016
Dear: wendykeyworth

We look forward to host your family again in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact us any time before you coming back as we are committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities.

La Gerencia
Barcelo Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leominster, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at the Trop from Oct 19-26. This was out 4th trip to the Barcelo complex. Twice to the Palace and once to the Maya Beach. When we finally arrived at 4:00 p.m. on the 19th, we were told we were NOT on the Trop list nor were we on the Colonial list but had got upgraded to the Palace. That was sweet since we were repeat customers and a pleasant surprise.So..put the luggage on the shuttle and off to the Palace we went. Stood in line over 1/2 hour. The girl said we were on the list BUT we were cancelled for the upgrade. I asked why and apparently an issue with the reservation dept in the back. No other info was given so back to the Trop we went. After another 1/2 hour wait, the manager gave us a Club Premium upgrade so we could use the Palace facilities. The room was not upgraded not could we eat at the Palace restaurants. As mentioned previously, there were 3 large conventions that week so it was busy. We met a couple fron Oklahoma who had 10 in their party that DID get upgraded to the Palace..grrr. Other than that, it was a nice, relaxing week. Drink & food were great.I did send an email to Barcelo corporate nearly 2 weeks ago and have yet to receive a response. I'm not asking for the world, just an answer..we'll see...

Room Tip: I don't think the Tropical has been updated yet as some of the bathroom fixtures fell off the wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this review, May 20, 2016
Dear Mark H,
We have read your opinion and really appreciate the valuable time you have taken to share your comments regarding Barcelo Maya Tropical, we are glad to know you liked the service of our staff, thank you very much for sharing the positive regarding safety, it is very important for us to make this place as safe as home for our guests. The main goal of Barceló Maya is to fulfill the expectations of every single guest we have the pleasure of serving, since we want them to return home totally satisfied and with the desire to visit us again.

We look forward to host you back.

La Gerencia
Barcelo Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

The Barcelo tropical Febuary 2012 was the best vacation my family hever had! The service- cleanlyness-food-the people the pools and even more, it was to roll on the floor for...Me my wife and my two boys 14 and 16 had the time of our lives...Thank you to all the wonderful peuple at the Barcelo Tropical Beach staff !! Thank you Samuel!!!from the JONES family in Sept-Iles Québec in Febuary 2012...We love you Barcelo Tropical Mexico!!!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Guyguyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this review, May 1, 2016
Dear: Guyguyboy

We would be honor to host you again in the near future.

La Gerencia
Barcelo Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Maya Palace
Barcelo Maya Palace
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,325 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Barcelo Maya Caribe
#13 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,755 reviews
10.8 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
17.8 mi away
Sandos Caracol Eco Resort
Sandos Caracol Eco Resort
#69 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11,427 reviews
14.0 mi away
Playacar Palace
Playacar Palace
#18 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Maya Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Maya Tropical

Property: Barcelo Maya Tropical
Address: Ctra. Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez, Km 266,3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#7 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Maya Tropical 4*
Number of rooms: 479
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Barcelo, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Barcelo Maya Tropical reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Maya Tropical Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Maya Tropical Riviera Maya/Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing