We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Still loved it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was our second time to this resort! The resort is great. We ran into a few snags, but overall it was an awesome trip. The staff was veryyyyyy friendly! I will say stay away from the resort medical doctor, it is outrageously expensive!!!. He is not an employee of hotel, so they really couldn't help with the outcome. One of my favorites this year were the shows! These are some of the most talented people! They work so hard to make every night awesome! Also shout out to the spa. It was very nice, and I would surely go again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grwnands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this review, May 2, 2016
Dear: grwnands

We have read your opinion and really appreciate the valuable time you have taken to share your comments regarding your stay at Barcelo Maya Tropical.

La Gerencia
Barcelo Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,594
    1,007
    325
    158
    94
See reviews for
1,934
1,198
40
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (630)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

What can I say,the Barcelo Maya Tropical hotel has been the best hotel I have ever been to! The swimming pools are absolutely outstanding.THE ANIMATIONS!!! Oh my gosh,David,Esteban and Sammy (the animators) are the hottest lads I have ever seen,haha! We spent all day just chilling in the pool,drinking and enjoying ourselves :) Staff is really friendly,especially the guys who work at the bar! After a week we didn't even have to say what drink we want,they knew what we like and served us straight away,haha.Wherever I went I was always welcomed with a smile:) Me and my family (dad,mum & sister) enjoyed ourselves to the fullllll.Since I am a teenager,I didn't really fancy staying with my parents aaaalllll the time.I usually went on the beach and participated in the beach activities the animators organised :) Beach volleyball etc. To all you teenagers out there,thinking you will have nothing to do apart from being bored with your parents..Don't worry! I've met so many other girls and guys there who are similar age to me,so there was ALWAYS something to do,ahaha. Oh,and the food .. It wasn't the best buffet in the world,I have to say,but overall it wasn't too bad,my parents loved it anyway haha (I probably didn't enjoy the food as much as my parents did because i'm a junkie eater haha).I am ever so glad and thankful my parents took me there.Will remember this vacation for the rest of my life :D Definitely worth going ;)

Room Tip: Do not choose a room near the theater,there is a lot of noise during the night due to the performanc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ilovetravellingLol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this review, May 26, 2016
Dear ilovetravellingLol,
We have read your opinion and really appreciate the valuable time you have taken to share your comments regarding Barcelo Maya Tropical, we are glad to know you liked the service of our staff, thank you very much for sharing the positive regarding safety, it is very important for us to make this place as safe as home for our guests. The main goal of Barceló Maya is to fulfill the expectations of every single guest we have the pleasure of serving, since we want them to return home totally satisfied and with the desire to visit us again.
We look forward to host you back.

La Gerencia
Barcelo Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

We just got back from our vacation from Barcelo Maya Tropical. Excellent resort. There was lots to do during the day and in the evenings. During the day we spent time at the ocean which was amazing as always. They can kayaks, bike, jet skis all ready for day use. All part of the all-inclusive. They also had several massive pools that connected to each of the resorts...so it pretty much was on huge pool to be honest. The pool bars and snack bars were excellent. Great tasting food and great service. Restaurants were also very clean and stylish.
Rooms were good, staff were AWESOME and were very friendly.
Would love to go back again. Would recommend for all ages, families, or couples.
Enjoy!

Room Tip: The rooms facing the pools/ocean have really nice patio furniture...but are less private. The room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank gkreim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this review, May 2, 2016
Dear: gkreim

We are pleased to know your comments, since they help us to constantly improve, thank you very much for having choose Barcelo Maya Tropical for your vacation as well of your kind recommendation to your friends.



La Gerencia
Barcelo Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Overall our experience at the Barcelo Tropical was very good. We had the misfortune of being at the resort during Ernesto, but this did not diminish our vacation. Check-in was fairly quick, and we were placed in the section of the Veracruz building, closest to the beach. Our room on the 1st floor was clean, but did have that musty odor when we first entered. We did not smell it the rest of the week, because we kept the air conditioning quite cool. The beds and pillows are very firm, but we did not have any issues sleeping.
Food was plentiful, and drinks were good. We tried all the beach grills at the Caribe, Colonial, and Tropical. There were always quesadillas, salsas, and guacamole, as well as, burgers, hot dogs, and pizza. The regular buffets also offered a pasta bar at supper, and an omelet bar at breakfast. We felt that breakfast was the best meal of the day. We ate at the specialty restaurants Capri and Kyoto. We made our reservations the second day of our stay and had a 9:30 time at Capri. The food was a better quality than at the buffet, but not quite the Italian you may expect. Our reservation at Kyoto was at 7:30. The food and show were quite good.
Service for the most part was good. There were a few servers that were less than cordial. There were two (Noe and Veronica) that were always friendly and very helpful. The bar staff tended to be overworked, so there was sometimes a little wait for a drink. One bartender at the Caribe pool bar was incredibly attentive, and kept our glasses full. (I wish I remembered his name.) Most of the staff walking the grounds would give and hola when you passed them.
There were plenty of activities to keep us busy. The whole Barcelo Maya complex is huge; you will do plenty of walking. We played tennis, ping-pong, minature golf (remember to use bug spray), went to the shopping plaza, and gym. We didn't do the evening shows because we were usually tired from the sun, so I cannot comment on them.
The grounds were beautiful, and well kept. There were plenty of beautiful flowers and plants. We saw a variety of birds and lizards throughout the property. The pools are huge, and there was also something going on at the Tropical pool. Seating was a bit more of a challenge earlier in the day, and on the day of Ernesto.
My favorite thing about this resort was the beach. It was long, with beautiful water, and you could snorkel right off the beach. We brought along our own snorkeling gear so we could be in the water as much as we wanted. This was the first time my 13 year old stepson had the chance to snorkel, and he loved it. We did miss a few days of snorkeling because of the storm clouding the water. The pier in between the Caribe and Colonial offered a great place to snorkel with large schools of fish. We never had issues finding chairs on the beach. We walked the whole beach and found that the beach towards the Palace is much rockier while towards the Caribe it is much sandier.
We really enjoyed our time together, and did not have to leave the resort; we had plenty to do. I would recommend this resort to a family or a group of friends traveling together.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank godjess76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this review, May 3, 2016
Dear: godjess76

We are pleased to know your comments, thank you very much for having choose Barceló Maya Tropical for your vacation. We really appreciate your visit and the time taken to write your impression about your stay.

La Gerencia
Barcelo Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Lake Park, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

We were originally booked on Colonial but got last minute changed to the Tropical due to already being "fully occupied". We ask a week before our arrival for a king size bedroom, at check in we got a two double bed room, we were put on a first floor room on the Yucatan building actually the second room on the first biulding coming out from the lobby; as soon as we get into our room there was water condensation in the floor (slippery) and some black ants roaming around, I called the front desk and request a change, since we were with two childs I was not to expose them being bite at night. Our request to be changed to an upper floor was rejected and they told us they were all booked. So the finally send a cleaning lady to spray the room and wipe out the water, that was it!. Well days later (3 out of 7) after coming back from dinner the sofa was full of ants and to add more drama the pipe from the bathroom sink was broke, so we have enough and we demanded another room, we eventually got a third floor room and "some" ammenities (wine and fruit) that never arrived to our room. People are cold and not customer oriented, it seems they are just looking for tips, food is so so, drinks are not that good and well pool bars are just full of people trying to get drunk on cheap drinks and cocktails. Be careful with the pool, is not that clean and people got cold and flu symptoms if sataying too long.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Axel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this review, May 26, 2016
Dear Axel M,

We would like to thank you for the time you have taken to share your comments regarding your past stay at Barcelo Maya Tropical, we want you to know that the comments and suggestions we receive from our guests are taken seriously since they tell us what we are doing right, what we are doing wrong and how we can improve. You can be sure we will work on the issues you mention. We deeply appreciate you recommendation to family and friends.

I hope you will allow us the opportunity to serve your future lodging needs.

Best Regards

La Gerencia
Barcelo Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

I did not like to go there, but there was the wedding of my granddaughter, and I am so glad I did, best experiance nice rooms, clean, friendly staff, good food, nice pool, nicer beaches, lots of sunchairs, some minor problems, but nothing to be concernd, over all great holidays, would go back any time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ginkgo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this review, May 3, 2016
Dear: Ginkgo8

We are pleased to know your comments, thank you very much for having choose Barceló Maya Tropical for your vacation. We really appreciate your visit and the time taken to write your impression about your stay.

La Gerencia
Barcelo Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MORRIS COUNTY ,N.J.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

The resort was top notch in all respects,except nothing to do after dinner,no shows,no lobby bar,no casino nothing to do,except go to bed..I realize that casino's are not allowed in Mexico,the resort should provide more night time entertainment in the evening.

Room Tip: Stay off the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RADM11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this review, May 26, 2016
Dear RADM11,

We would like to inform you that Maya Beach resort it has been renovated, all public areas including lobby, restaurants, bars and some pool areas were completely redesigned with added facilities and services, now the Maya Beach rooms and facilities and Colonial are now at the same level and same price range.

Kind regards,

La Gerencia
Barcelo Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Barcelo Maya Caribe
#13 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,995 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Maya Palace
Barcelo Maya Palace
#6 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,726 reviews
19.1 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,142 reviews
18.4 mi away
Ocean Riviera Paradise
Ocean Riviera Paradise
#75 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Maya Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Maya Tropical

Property: Barcelo Maya Tropical
Address: Ctra. Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez, Km 266,3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#7 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#7 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Maya Tropical 4*
Number of rooms: 479
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Barcelo, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Barcelo Maya Tropical reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Maya Tropical Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Maya Tropical Riviera Maya/Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing