We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Barcelo Maya Palace(Puerto Aventuras)
$223
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $247/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Barcelo Maya Colonial(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
$204
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Catalonia Riviera Maya(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Maya Caribe(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
$205
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Barcelo Maya Beach(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
$205
$172
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$362
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Resort(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barcelo Maya Tropical(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
$242
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$379
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (5,312)
Filter reviews
5,312 results
Traveler rating
2,500
1,591
687
304
230
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,500
1,591
687
304
230
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsseaside grillworld cafeel patioadult poolfamily pooldreams pabarracuda barsushi restaurantpreferred clubexplorers clubnatural pooldolphin viewcoco cafemarina sidewater showfish tacoskids club
Filter
Updating list...
4,108 - 4,113 of 5,312 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2010

Our AAA Travel agent recommended this hotel for our 10th anniversary. While we were there we also booked the Tulum and Xel-Ha excursion, which was awesome. We would recommend that to everyone...it was quite an adventure!
Hotel Pros -
The check-in was quick and efficient (no beverages or anything like that upon arrival). Everything was very neat and clean. Housekeeping staff did a great job. We were never without clean towels. The mini-bar was always stocked in our room. Room service was excellent. We ordered it at least twice a day for extra bottles of water and breakfast/ dessert. The restaurant staff were friendly and always helpful. The food was good, but lacked consistency. We enjoyed the Seaside Restaurant because of its location right off the beach. The Spa was great. We had the best deep tissue massages we have ever had... anywhere, seriously. The fitness center is decent and has all the equipment you might need. The hotel offers tons of activities for kids and plenty of entertainment choices if you like Elvis impersonators and magic shows. The beach has snorkeling and other activities. There were plenty of lounge chairs on the beach. Unless you arrive early, though, the shaded areas were gone first, but opened up quickly in the afternoon. There are 2 pools (one is for adults). The hotel is within walking distance of a marina which has little stores, restaurants and live dolphins.
Hotel cons-
The hotel is an hour and 15 minutes from the airport. This is mostly due to the terrible roads. As for the rooms...the door to our room was not sealed well. Whenever a neighboring door closed it would rattle our door, which prevented me from sleeping well. I shoved towels under the door to block the light and lessen the rattling. The shower did not have a shower curtain, so water ended up all over the bathroom floor which did have a drain, but the water did not actually drain naturally. We used our dirty towels to soak up the excess water so we did not have to walk through 1/2 inch of water to use the bathroom in the middle of the night. Depending on when we bathed, the housekeeper might make it by to squeegee the water for us. Many staff members did not know much English; they knew key phrases, but little else that could enable a conversation. The adult pool was a total drunkfest at times. We found the swim up bar there was always dominated by a dozen or so people who would hoot and holler at passers by and who tried to get everyone in the whole pool to do shots with them. The family pool was filled with children, so we were never able to actually use the swim up bar and we only went in the pool once. We also had to compete with children for good seats at the Barracuda bar. I read were other travelers were denied a "coupon book". We ran in to that as well. Our AAA travel agent told us we were elgible for a $200 coupon book good for discounts at the Spa, bottles of wine and other upgrades. The front desk and our hotel Apple rep said we were not eligible unless I could provide something in writing, which I did not have with me. The Apple rep said he'd look in to it and for us to come back around lunch time. We did and he said to come back at 3 p.m. When we returned at 3, he was nowhere to be found. We left him a note asking him to get back to us, which he never did. As we walked by, we happened to see him hanging out in the Desires bar watching a game (when he said he'd be meeting with us). The next day my husband inquired about the coupons at the front desk again and they told him we were not going to receive them. My husband said it was fine and he'd take it up with the travel agent when we got home. Around 5 p.m. that day, the front desk called to let us know we could have a coupon book after all. The most ridiculous part about this (aside from the terrible service from the Apple rep) is that the coupons require travelers to spend more money at the hotel to use them. Why the hotel wouldn't just give everyone the coupons is beyond me. For instance, we spent $200 at the spa even with $80 in coupons (which we would not have done without the coupons). That situation was frustrating, but was resolved okay.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CE_Illinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2010

We spent our honeymoon at Dreams. We are a young couple from the NE region of the US. We are not new to travel and usually stay at topnotch places such as Bellagio and Borgata Casinos. Eat at nice restaurants as well. Resort was VERY clean and service was amazing, anything we needed we had. Our 5th floor honeymoon suite had jacuzzi on deck and was great, never had shortage of towels, shower NEVER flooded floor so not sure why people complain about that.

Late night activities were not to be had, but after the day of sun and dinner and drinks, we were too tired to go out at 11pm anyway! Food was above average, not top of the line but definitly good and a nice selection was given. We were pleased.

Kids were definitly a part of the place, but never annoying, they are so busy having fun and playing that its great for them. I would definitly bring my kids there, good mix for them and adults.

We took two tours on Catamya Catamaran and a trip to Xel-Ha. Both were well worth it for us, really makes you feel like you are on vacation. Room service 24 hours was great, mini bar with beer and water and soda was great as well.

Beach is smaller but water clear as can be, and fish everywhere to snorkel or just stand with in the water, actually better than when we went on the boat to snorkel. Beach chairs are abundant but getting a prime location is an early morning proposition, but thats only fair.

Also the spa is very nice, couples massage was great.

Over we had a nice mix of activities, drinking, resting, and eating. Couldnt ask for more. I suggest bringing one dollar bills for tips, as the service is really great!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ConwellNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2010

If you are worried about the negative reviews regarding this hotel, PLEASE ignore them. I think I read every review on this hotel before my trip and I was really worried about some of the comments. Honestly, I don't know who these people are. I watched a lady sitting next to me yell at a waiter because there were no coffee cups on the table. Really? If you are going to complain about something so petty, you need help!

This is our sixth trip to the area and it was absolutely wonderful! This was the first time we traveled with our children (ages 12 and 8) and they had the time of their lives. The entainment staff was amazing. Thanks to Jonathan and Orlando for entertaining all of us. The customer service staff was awesome as well (Fabian and Gustavo). We upgraded our room to the 5th floor marina view which was really nice too. If you have booked this trip, you will have an amazing time!

The Seaside Grill was really nice for lunch. It is an open-air restaurant right by the pool. You can order appetizers, sandwiches, burgers...food was amazing! We enjoyed all of the restaurants, the food is excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MexVac07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2010

This is one of my favorite vacations ever! First of all, we were given a free upgrade when we walked in due to them not being at capacity. We had a wonderful room with a huge bathtub on the balcony. It was like a movie! The room was absolutely beautiful and had an amazing view of the ocean. I cannot say enough about the staff.. The staff was so friendly, funny, and always doing their best to cater to all the guests' needs. We never had trouble getting drinks even while laying on the beach. Yes, there were a lot of children, but my boyfriend and I weren't bothered by it due to the fact that there are many areas of the hotel to explore. We got a massage on the beach in the cabana! We even enjoyed hanging by the kids as they were all having an absolute blast! The natural pool on the side of the hotel with it's wonderful bar is amazing and just gorgeous. The food was also great. Our favorite restaurant was Oceana which was the adults only seafood place. The buffet was awesome and food is available 24 hours a day! The best part of this hotel is that it is what you make it: whether you are with your family, a couple, or with friends, there is a place for you. Free kayaks, catamarans, and snorkeling. It is not glamorous, just laid back, simple and relaxing. Needless to say, we will be back and you should check it out!!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sarahknour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2010

This is the 2nd time we've been to this resort (we went 3 years ago when it was owned by Sunscape). Dreams has definitely made some improvements, especially in the beautifully decorated rooms and the addition of the sushi bar.
We had an absolutely amazing time!!!! We travelled with 3 small children (9, 6, and 3) and we had a family room (perfect for families of 5!). The beach is small, but very nice. A few of the days, the seaweed was a little much. That would be my only complaint!! But, it was cleaned up later in our stay and didn't hinder us a bit.
There are so many great things to do...from watching all of the fun and exciting pool games with the amazing and enthusiastic entertainment crew, to sitting and reading a book in a comfortable lounge chair while finishing that great book. We rode the catemarans, snorkeled (in the beach area and in the natural pool....which is perfect to introduce small children to snorkeling!), bungee trampolined, jumped on the water trampoline, danced it up one night at the disco, swung on the comfy swings at a bar right next to the ocean, ate at wonderful restaurants (Italian was our favorite!), watched Chicago win the Stanley Cup on a large screen on the beach, joined the World Cup opener (Mexico played) at a party in the disco at 9 a.m., saw a ventriloquist and cirque de soleil show, enjoyed a huge carribean spread on the beach for dinner one night, enjoyed paella and chicken tacos and guacamole for lunch right by the pool, etc. We ran out of time and didn't get to ride the kayaks this time or walk to the marina where you can swim with the dolphins or just watch them doing their tricks! Point being...there is so much to do here from nothing to everything! And, that doesn't even start on how amazing the kids club was!!! My kids didn't want to be with us (we had to force them!). Nothing can compare to the fun and care they received from each and every one of those wonderful and fun ladies who work there!! My kids even said they didn't know which was better...Disney World or Dreams!!!! Husband told me to "book again!"
Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ProfessorandMaryAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews