We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Barcelo Maya Colonial(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
$233
$182
Barcelo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Maya Palace(Puerto Aventuras)
$218
Barcelo.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Maya Caribe(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
$233
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Barcelo Maya Tropical(Puerto Aventuras)
$233
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Resort(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barcelo Maya Beach(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
$195
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Catalonia Riviera Maya(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
$223
$181
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$445
$349
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya(Puerto Aventuras)
$412
$333
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$516
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (5,144)
Filter reviews
5,144 results
Traveler rating
2,460
1,547
650
286
201
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,460
1,547
650
286
201
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsseaside grillworld cafeel patioadult pooldreams pafamily poolbarracuda barsushi restaurantpreferred clubexplorers clubnatural pooldolphin viewcoco cafewater trampolinemarina sidewater showfish tacos
Filter
Updating list...
4,114 - 4,119 of 5,144 reviews
Reviewed December 8, 2009

I travelled to Dreams with family and friends for a family wedding. I was completely impressed with the hotel and the many many staff that were there to please us as quests. The food was excellent and plentiful. There were many activities to keep you busy, or if relaxing was the goal of the day, it was also plentiful. I do urge other tourists to respect the staff and remember you are in their country. For those holidaying with younger children, there is plenty to entertain them. I saw many younger children with happy faces. DO remember the sunscreen as there were also a few little lobsters....owie! Cindy, Merritt,B.C.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cindy053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2009

I cxouldn't answer the value part since I had a very discounted trip due to the fact I taught a yoga class and a water aerobics class while we weree there for one week. The room was nice a little small but we had a nice view of the pool. Food ws great and portions were small which meant you could try more things. Staff/waiters/bartenders were the best. I liked that the resort was near a tourist area with shops/attractions and not stuck in the middle of nowhere. If you have never been to the Yucatan before this would be a good place to start. For us it was one of the nicest places we had stayed at but then again we hardly ever stay at resorts. Pools were great and lots of activites planned for guests without paying more. Great entertainment (bands/magicians/dancers). I would go there again.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2009

This resort is very family orientated. A family traveling with children would enjoy this resort. However, if you are traveling for a romantic getaway with your significant other or with a group of adults to relax/party this is NOT the place for you!

The resort is small. The hotel has a main family pool and hot tub that looks over the beach. It was filled with families and kids. There is a very small adult only pool in the back, However it does NOT have an ocean view and is NOT an easy walk to the ocean as well as very few cabanas. There is also a small natural ocean pool. The beach is NOT adults only. The sand is nice, but the water is rocky...bring water shoes. There were mountain climbing floats in the ocean and a trampoline, BUT were for kids only. There is a kids club for children.

Meals: Food is average. There is only a buffet open for BREAKFAST The buffet doe not have great food. The fruit was tasteless and waffles suggy and mexican food tasted like food from a freezer. However, the omlet bar and kids buffet was good. For LUNCH the buffet is also open. There is also a beach grill with only hamburger items and NO vegetarian items. The hotel is NOT VEGETARIAN friendly. There is an open air resturaunt with decend food. For DINNER there are differnt ones open every night, thus NOT all are open every night. No reservations are needed. Only one is adult only. This places NEVER opened at the time that was scheduled...always later. There is 24 hour room service.

BARS: Not many bars. one in each pool and one on the beach. There is a small club inside. All the bars but the club close at 10pm. The club stays open to 1am.

Room: The room and bathroom/shower was very nice. The room was spacious and had a great view of pool and ocean. The bed was very comforatble. However maid service was not great. My room was not cleaned daily and my in room fridge was not stocked daily. The in-room beverages were cheap. A few waters, sodas, one juice and a few beers. No liquor. The tv has many english channels and lot of channels for kids. There are also parental controls for the tv. There is a dvd combo CD player in the room, however mine did not work. A few of the lights in my room did not work as well.

SPA: The spa was average. It is not fancy. It does not provide a daily pass with service purchase. Prices were decent and the services were average to good.

Activities: snorkling, kyak and catamaran are included. They are good. There is a list of daily activites such as yoga, water aerobics, soccer, vollyball etc. ALMOST everything is for adults AND kids. A few times I went to the activities such as yoga at 8am and no instructor showed. The gym is small and dark. There are 2 bikes, ellipitcals, and tread mills. A few weight machines and a rack of free weights, but only 1 bench.

Overall, the hotel is clean and the service good. The food is average. Atmosphere for families.

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank P_kittyDetroit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2009

I agree with all the recent reviews. Excellent hotel.

The rooms were nice. Nothing overly fancy. The mini bar was always refilled. The air, water pressure and hot water were great. Slippers, robes. Fixed a toiler problem within half an hour. The room was clean and always towels. When we tipped, we had towel art. The only complaint - no storage for a family of four clothing. No dressers. Two of us lived out of our suitcases - that was a pain! All rooms are close to the lobby and the beach. No trams or long walks :)

Beach. Perfect size to keep an eye on your kids. There is a beach area down some that was not crowded and had a bar at. The ocean had two rock climbing walls floating for kids. The rocky area by the wedding gazebo had decent snorkeling with calm water. The natural salt water tidepool was great to introduce snorkeling. Many smaller fish. You can check out snorkeling gear for an hour - we brought our own. Sign up in the morning for a Hobie Sailboat ride. The staff take two people at a time for a 20 minute sail. Nice for us who can't sail. No charge. The kayaks are fun too.

The hotel to the left (facing the ocean) has a great location for snorkeling too. All beaches are public so go visit! It has a large calm cove for kayaks and awesome fish to see. If you swim out around the rocky area, the reef is right there. We could only do that a couple times b/c the ocean was rough other days. When you sign up for water sports at our hotel, you can bring the slip they give you and go to the other resort and check out their kayaks (the same company runs the water sports along the coast).

The pools are nice. Since the sun goes down at 5, it cools off much sooner than you may be ready to go back to your room to get ready for dinner. The large hot tub area is a great place to hang out and watch the ocean. The sun actually goes behind the hotel around 3:15 so you are in shade. We would walk to the saltwater pool for sun or go to the hotel's beach beside us for an hour more sunshine!

The hotel offers bicycle tours of the nice, cut, gated, community of Puerto Aventuras. They do not have kids bikes. My son was 11 and could just touch his feet to the ground. The tours are twice a day. You just show up at the activities board and meet the guide. It was a great tour - 1 1/2 hours long. Nothing strenuous at all. You will visit the marina, a golf course and just bike past the condos and see the town. You will stop in the marina area for a drink. No charge. Great freshly squeezed lemonade!

The marina is a 5 minute walk from the hotel. Turn right at the bottom of the entrance. Turn left at the stop sign and stay left. A few little shops. Less prices than the vendors that set up at the hotel. If you want to swim with the dolphins, purchase the tickets before going or from Liberty Travel. $80 gets the deluxe package. Dolphin Discovery. Best prices we have seen ever!!! Nice Yachts to see too! A big plus - very little pushy sales people!!!

We traveled with Apple's Square deal also. Be careful with Apple. They act like you only can talk to them or you will be taken advantage of. My husband asked them how much the deluxe dolphin package was and was told $120. A desk area away, Liberty Travel offered the same package for $70. He liked that offer and went to discuss it with me. As he left, the Apple rep began bickering back and forth with the Liberty rep about stealing a customer. When we returned to book it, the price went to $80 and she couldn't explain why - but kept looking at the Apple rep. That makes me NOT want to book with Apple for any excursions. Best advice - don't tell anyone you are with a particular company - say you are AN INDEPENDENT TRAVELER!!!

The food was very good. Excellent service. The Seaside Grill was the slowest of all. The food great for lunch but I didn't like giving up an hour of sunshine to wait for a sandwich. The Oceana had great coconut shrimp and strip steaks. Everyone always had a smile! Beach service was fast, often and friendly.

Kids club was fun. My kids begged to go there for certain events. They even ate with them. Which freed us for dinner for two. How nice. The beach Mexican night was good. However, I saw many kids walking around with bread, butter and churros on their plate. They made cookies, sandcastle contests, movies and food on the beach, little camp out with marshmellows, face painting, Wii, rockclimbing wall, bungie trampoline, etc. Fun!

We went on one excursion of our own. We hired a taxi for three hours for $70. We went to Tulum (25 minutes away). Entrance $5 an adult (didn't charge for our kids). We saw the sites, swam in the beautiful ocean there and returned to the taxi. We had made arrangements to visit the DREAMS TULUM. We thought that would be a place of a future visit. NO-never! We felt like semi-criminals. The security walked us around (he was very nice though). We were sweating, my kids complaining they were thirsty and hot from Tulum - did they offer us a bottle of water? NO. It was like they were afraid we would touch something or break something. WE WERE DREAMS GUESTS!!! Another couple from our hotel wanted to visit too. We warned them. They said that when their son asked for a cookie, the guard said no. They were not welcomed at all. We both agreed, we would not stay there. Dreams should allow visits. They wanted to charge us a day pass to visit $55. Add that to the $70 taxi - a family of four would be almost $200! Just be warned - no one smiled at us or welcomed us there. The resort was way too big for our taste anyway.

Entertainment was okay. Something to watch. Since we got up early to enjoy more sun, we crashed by 10 every night.

We did use our transfers for the apple bus ride on the way down. It was an hour and a half ride. Only three stops total. Not bad. Going home, they wanted to pick us up almost four hours before our flight. We booked a van and split with another family of four for $80. It was worth $40 for us to gain one and a half hours on the beach and then get a direct ride to the airport. Worked great!! If you travel apple and use USA3000 - no more movies or earphones for music. Airtran bought them.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tamalePittsburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2009

This had been my fifth stay at this resort. On this trip we participated in an Apple Square Deal 6 Apple. Everyone on our flight (over 40) who had purchased the Square Deal out of Chicago ended up here. This resort is small, very tidy and the staff is very indulgent. A special employee is the pool concierge Mallory. She is friendly and a wonderful face for this resort. The food is good, and the service at all restaurants is amazingly special. I did not see the premium brand liquor (Grey Goose, Ketel One) in the regular bars. This was noted to be a perk on the web site. I don't know if Absolut is considered to be a premium brand. The aforementioned are only available in the Preferred Club lounge. Ollie is a very special bartender and ambassador for this hotel. The adult only section is enforced, so when the families who cannot read bring the kids over for a dip in the adult pool, they are gently reminded by the staff.

My only complaint is with Apple Vacations. My friend and I purchased a non stop transfer to the resort. We were placed on the bus with about 50 others who had not purchased this option. We were the first stop, but we had to wait for one couple who did not listen to the warning on the plane to avoid the folks who stand at the doors to get your attention. So they sauntered to the bus about 40 minutes later then most everyone else, but you know the type...............When we left, our flight was at 10:30 am. We were told by our friendly Apple rep at the hotel to be in the lobby by 6am, and if we were not there, the bus would leave without us. We were in the lobby by 5:45 along with about 15 others. The bus showed at 7:15. SO you can imagine how happy that crowd was. The hotel was great. The night before at check out, they arranged our wake up call and advised us to call room service to arrange breakfast at about 5:15. So aside from getting up an hour and some too too early, ...........this was Apple's shortcoming, not the hotel.
This resort is 1hr from the airport, which is the only draw back when you have an early flight.
I wondered why so many folks remind people to tip on this forum. We witnessed so many folks not tipping. The non tippers usually are the most demanding, isn't that always the case. It is a shame folks who can afford this resort cannot give a few dollars to the folks that make your vacation so special. How sad is that???

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rnlmcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews