We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“What a Resort!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
Owings Mills, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What a Resort!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I must agree with another review in that the resort was not as luxurious as other Dreams properties such as La Romano, Dominion Republic; and the room did not have sufficient lighting, but the overall experience was great! Service was impecable, and Juan Segura, Walter, and Manuel at the World Cafe' rendered fun, thorough, personable and exceptional service! The restaurants were romantic, food was delectable, and service was grand. Maurice, the marketing conceirge was very helpful in booking an outside activity (catamaran) and the ride and activities were fun, comfortable and well-worth the cost. The hotel conceirge was extremely helpful in arranging return flight seats and check-in. Dreams has become one of our favorite resorts and we will certainly visit a Dreams resort whenever we vacation and a Dreams resort is near.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, ask for quiet and you will receive a room off the beaten path but close to anywhe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Concierge-DreamsPA, E-Concierge at Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent stay at Dreams Puerto Aventuras with all the Tripadvisor community.

We're more than glad to know you had an excellent vacation with us and were able to enjoyed every service we have to offer. We hope to have the opportunity to host you once again in a near future.

Should need further assistance, please, do not hesitate to contact us.

Warmest regards,

Maripaz Martinez
E-Concierge & Social Media Coordinator
econcierge.drepa@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,860 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,886
    1,185
    464
    194
    131
See reviews for
1,809
1,259
40
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,124)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The resort is beautiful and its staff is incredibly helpful, corteous, accommodating and respectful. The only one thing we were not too happy was with the sushi restaurant. For sushi lovers this is not the restaurant for you. But despite that the overall experience was great.

Room Tip: Request a room by the adults pool, more quiet and easy access to the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cynthia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Concierge-DreamsPA, E-Concierge at Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent stay at Dreams Puerto Aventuras with all the Tripadvisor community.

We're more than glad to know you had an excellent vacation with us and were able to enjoyed every service we have to offer. We hope to have the opportunity to host you once again in a near future.

Should need further assistance, please, do not hesitate to contact us.

Warmest regards,

Maripaz Martinez
E-Concierge & Social Media Coordinator
econcierge.drepa@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

If this is your first time visiting the Cancun / Riviera Maya, you must know that they are very different vacation spots, even though they are about an hour apart.
Are you looking for nightlife, shopping centers, markets and restaurants? The Cancun is for you.
If what you are looking for is relaxation, nature tours, and archeological ruins, Playa del Carmen is your best bet.
Please understand that this does not mean an either/or situation, you can mix and match activities, it’s just a matter of time and distance optimization.
First of all, the Mayan Riviera and Playa del Carmen areas have many hotels, but not as many as Cancun. The distances between points of interest are very long, so you have to rent a car, or rely on taxis, which might end up being very expensive on the long run.

OK, on to the hotel review. It´s a very beautiful, functional place. The decoration is very simple but it works. It may not win many awards on aesthetics, but it more than makes up on service.
Our room was a junior suite, and it was a complementary upgrade straight from the manager. We didn´t have to ask for it, she offered it and it was great. The room has a king sized bed, a small couch, coffee table and decent closet space (You´re at the beach, your attire should consist of shorts and sandals, so no need for much space ;)
The bathroom was very spacious, with a double faucet and a great high-pressure showerhead. It included a clothesline, but because of the humid weather it´s not very efficient, I recommend sun drying on the balcony. Speaking of the balcony, it is a serviceable space with two chairs and a small table.
This is an all-inclusive hotel, so that means all restaurants and bars are accessible to you. There are several restaurants and they serve very delicious food. You are not allowed to enter any of them in your wet bathing suit.
1. World Café:
Breakfast buffet 7a.m. to 11 a.m. a variety of Mexican and American food, fruit and desserts. It has fruit drinks, coffee and soft drinks. Perfect for when you are waiting to leave to a park
Lunch 12:30 to 3 p.m. and dinner from 6 p.m. to 11 p.m.

2. Seaside grill. Fine meat cuts and chicken, with a variety of international entrees, soups and creams. Lunch 11 am to 5 pm, dinner 6:30 pm to 11 pm

3. Barefoot grill. Burgers basically. Located in front of the world café. 11 am to 5:30 pm

4. Coco Café: 7 am to 11 pm. Gourmet coffee and pastries. Think Starbucks, but faster and all included.

5. El Patio: 6 pm to 11 pm. Delicious Mexican food, beautiful place for a romantic dinner, especially after sundown

6. Portofino: 6 pm to 11 pm. Italian food. Only restaurant in resort with a dress code. Formal attire required.

7. Oceana: 6 pm to 11 pm. Seafood prepared in a variety of styles. No one under 18 allowed, not even babies.

8. Gohan sushi: 6 pm to 11 pm. Traditional sushi served on a second floor terrace. Great place to enjoy something different.

9. Room service, 24 hrs. A menu consisting of pizza, burgers, hot dogs and fast food. Service takes from 30 to 40 minutes to deliver to your room. Great for when you get hungry late.

The hotel has a family area and an 18 and up area. The former is always bustling with activity and has the most pools and the only beach access. The latter is way calmer and you can swim in the pools without fear of bumping into children.
The beach is very small but very beautiful. The water has the characteristic turquoise color of the region. And has a variety of fish swimming in it. Because the beach is almost in front of Cozumel Island (approx. 40 km. in sea) the waves are very mellow. Plus, it is very shallow, so the risk of drowning is very low. Next to the beach is a hammock area where you can lounge all day long and forget about the world.
All in all, it´s a great place to relax and unwind and enjoy excellent food and delicious drinks. The proximity of the hotel to the ecological parks and cenotes means you will probably be one of the first guests to arrive at these places.
Just be aware that other activities and services like the spa, romantic seaside dinners and wine are not included, you have to pay for them.
I highly recommend this place, it´s for couples wanting to enjoy the beauty of the Mayan Riviera, or families who wish to enjoy the thrills of the most beautiful beaches in Mexico.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank IO R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Concierge-DreamsPA, E-Concierge at Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent stay at Dreams Puerto Aventuras with all the Tripadvisor community.

We're more than glad to know you had an excellent vacation with us and were able to enjoyed every service we have to offer. We hope to have the opportunity to host you once again in a near future.

Should need further assistance, please, do not hesitate to contact us.

Warmest regards,

Maripaz Martinez
E-Concierge & Social Media Coordinator
econcierge.drepa@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldie, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Let me write this in cateogries:
Dreams Resort - Overall Very good, nice pool and beach area, safe for kids
Food - Excellent!!! Ample choices among buffet and the different a la carte restaurants. Service excellent. We are vegetarians and were taken care of very well. The cook, chef's would make what we like. Bar tenders are very good. The Baracuda bar is an amazing location!!!
Entertainment & Activities - Lot of activities in the resort to keep everyone busy. Entertainment team does a very good job to keep all entertained and have a good selection of fun and thrill activities.
Rooms - This is the only part which was not in the excellent category. The rooms lack lighting and are dark. We had soe problems the first day where we did not get the room we had asked for. They took care of it the next day.

Highly recommend to visit this resort with family.

Room Tip: Choose Ocean facing rooms if you want your clothes to dry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Shamik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Concierge-DreamsPA, E-Concierge at Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent stay at Dreams Puerto Aventuras with all the Tripadvisor community.

We're more than glad to know you had an excellent vacation with us and were able to enjoyed every service we have to offer. We hope to have the opportunity to host you once again in a near future.

Should need further assistance, please, do not hesitate to contact us.

Warmest regards,

Maripaz Martinez
E-Concierge & Social Media Coordinator
econcierge.drepa@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Fabulous holiday at 'Dreams'. Lovely rooms, superb beach and fantastic service from the staff. Particular thanks to Juan Segura, Walter and Manuel at the World Café, Cristian in the Seaside Grill and Oceana restaurant and Ricardo in El Patio. All of whom helped to make our holiday so very special.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Concierge-DreamsPA, E-Concierge at Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent stay at Dreams Puerto Aventuras with all the Tripadvisor community.

We're more than glad to know you had an excellent vacation with us and were able to enjoyed every service we have to offer. We hope to have the opportunity to host you once again in a near future.

Should need further assistance, please, do not hesitate to contact us.

Warmest regards,

Maripaz Martinez
E-Concierge & Social Media Coordinator
econcierge.drepa@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

I've stayed at a few different resorts run by the Dreams/Secrets/Karisma family and have had good experiences every time. This resort is a little bit less luxurious than the others I've been to, but they seem to make up for it with outstanding service, delicious food at all restaurants, and a very fun atmosphere. The location is ideal, as well, situated perfectly on little cove at Puerto Aventuras. You can swim with dolphins and snorkel from the resort as well!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elsie1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Concierge-DreamsPA, E-Concierge at Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent stay at Dreams Puerto Aventuras with all the Tripadvisor community.

We're more than glad to know you had an excellent vacation with us and were able to enjoyed every service we have to offer. We hope to have the opportunity to host you once again in a near future.

Should need further assistance, please, do not hesitate to contact us.

Warmest regards,

Maripaz Martinez
E-Concierge & Social Media Coordinator
econcierge.drepa@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Rutherford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

The resort was beautiful. Nice sized rooms. Activities for adults and kids all day long. Excellent service from every employee on the resort. The staff is very friendly and go out of their way to please you. My children are 18 and 14. We had a great time at the pool. The beach is beautiful. Plenty of chairs around the pool and on the beach. The food is also excellent. You literally eat and drink all day long! Great dinners on the beach! Great Spa! Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Ground floor has pool access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank rose k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Concierge-DreamsPA, E-Concierge at Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent stay at Dreams Puerto Aventuras with all the Tripadvisor community.

We're more than glad to know you had an excellent vacation with us and were able to enjoyed every service we have to offer. We hope to have the opportunity to host you once again in a near future.

Should need further assistance, please, do not hesitate to contact us.

Warmest regards,

Maripaz Martinez
E-Concierge & Social Media Coordinator
econcierge.drepa@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
20.8 mi away
Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Barcelo Maya Palace
Barcelo Maya Palace
#9 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 stars 4,955 reviews
1.4 mi away
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Barcelo Maya Caribe
#3 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 stars 3,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#14 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 13,916 reviews
17.5 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 2,489 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Barcelo Maya Beach
Hotel Barcelo Maya Beach
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 stars 7,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa

Property: Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Address: Km 269.5 Carretera Chetumal, Puerto Aventuras 77500, Mexico (Formerly Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa All Inclusive)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#10 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#10 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa is a getaway with near infinite pleasures. Guests of all ages experience Unlimited-Luxury(R), remarkable amenities led by spacious rooms and suites with lovely views, gourmet dining options, limitless top-shelf spirits and 24-hour concierge service - all wristband-free. Guests are entertained by miniature golf, complimentary greens fees at a nearby golf course, a PADI certified diving center and Dolphin Dreams by Dolphin Discovery, one of the largest dolphinariums in the Riviera Maya resort region. To unwind, Dream Spa by Pevonia(R) offers a generous pampering menu. For couples, the resort presents wedding, honeymoon and anniversary packages, and for business, facilities begin with the 1,646 square foot Playa Ballroom. It's all of this and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Dreams Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Dreams Resort Puerto Aventuras
Sunscape Puerto Aventuras Riviera
Sunscape Puerto Adventuras
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing