We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't chance going anywhere else!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2013

My wife and I use these reviews all the time so I am going to write this review as honestly as possible. My wife and I are 37 with no kids and this was our first vacation. There was good and bad with this trip. I'll start with the bad. When we arrived in Cancun it was raining and windy. We arrived at our hotel about 12:00. when we got there we were told that our name was not on the list. We used Cheapcaribbean/Olympus Tours. We were also told our room would not be ready until 3:00 but we were welcome to enter the resort and eat/drink and use the beach/pool and all facilities while we waited. We went back to check in at 3:00 and was told our room was almost ready. We waited until 4:15 and when we got to our oceanfront room, our balcony view was horrible. We couldn't even see the ocean because our view was blocked by the tops of palm trees. We were very disappointed. We even considered and pursued switching to a different hotel. The hotel was gloomy and our room and the hotel appeared neglected. There were renovations going on that were loud at times and our robes were worn and stained.
We complained to our Olympus Tours representative Yair at the desk. He was patient and listened to our complaints and did everything he could to help.
SO... the following day we were given a better room on the 6th. floor that was much cleaner with an awesome view of the entire ocean. A day or two later the rains stopped and the sun came out. We then found out that the hotel was not neglected by Dreams but had been recently purchased by Dreams and they were renovating to upgrade the facility.
The rest of our week was AWESOME! The food was great, the service was excellent. Everybody, including all the employees, the wait staff, chefs ,room service, maids are the friendliest people you'll ever meet. And the entertainment team did an awesome job with all the events. They're mission is honestly to be as polite, courteous, and helpful as possible. They are all awesome people and I think the people there are what made our vacation so beautiful. It was so nice having Yair from Olympus Tours to go to. We never felt stranded. It was very reassuring. They had events during the day and at night. The hotel at night is beautiful. The beach is a little small but after a few days we realized we were in our personal secluded slice of paradise.
Looking back I think our first impression was bad. We were tired and it was raining.
Bottom line, this place is awesome. We are already planning our next trip and I will be using Cheapcaribbean and a hotel in the AMRESORTS chain. They do everything possible to make your vacation the best.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JimRif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Concierge-DreamsPA, Social Media Coordinator at Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear JimRif,

FIrst and foremost, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review to share with us and the Tripadvisor community.

We truly apologize for any bad impressions caused upon your arrival here with us however we are delighted to hear that everything was resolved to your satisfaction and that this not did dampen your overall stay here with us. Please rest assured that all of your comments have been shared with the appropriate departments in order to be addressed and where possible improved.

We would be honored to be able to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Rebecca Tunstall
E-Concierge & Social Media Coordinator
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
econcierge.drepa@dreamsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,717)
There are newer reviews for Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,420 - 2,426 of 4,717 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2013

This resort offers a comfortable stay for familes with children. We traveled with our three children ages 16, 15 and 10 and they always hade things to do. Our 10 year old really enjoyed the flexibilty of coming and going to the explorers club and enjoyed the multitude of activities they offered. We wold have given tis resort a 5 rating but they had an issue with the the desires club do to remodeling that caused it to be closed the last two days we were there which resulted in no where for the adults to get together and relax with other adults we meton our trip at night. Highly recommended for families with preteen and teen age kids.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Martin/Jodi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Concierge-DreamsPA, Social Media Coordinator at Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear Martin & Jodi,

We are extremely pleased to hear that your enjoyed your family vacation here with us and we appreciate you taking your time to share your feedback. We truly apologize for any inconvenience caused by the maintenance work that unfortunately affected our Desire's bar during your stay.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you all back again in the near future where we are sure your stay will be every bit as special as this one was.

Kind Regards,

Rebecca Tunstall
E-Concierge & Social Media Coordinator
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
econcierge.drepa@dreamsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

This was our 4th year in a row of vacationing here. That in itself should say something. This resort is making strides to improve everything. Changing up menus is a good idea for returning guests. The lunches served on the beach were excellent. Oceania menu was improved. Most of the staff is very friendly and try hard to please. As with any resort there are some employees not up to par. It was a pleasure to be served by Domingo and Luis! Everything was set up nicely for our honeymoon by Jennifer Barnett...many thanks to her for a great job. I don't think anyone would be disappointed with a trip here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Concierge-DreamsPA, Social Media Coordinator at Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear Charles,

Thank you so much for once again sharing your experience with us. We truly value your loyalty as a returning guest and it was an honor for us to have been able to host you for such a special vacation.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you back again on many more future occasions and we sincerely wish you both the best in your married life together.

Kindest Regards,

Rebecca Tunstall
E-Concierge & Social Media Coordinator
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
econcierge.drepa@dreamsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Positives:
Amazing beach and water for kids - wave breaker allows for very calm water
Great pool
Decent rooms
Food FAR exceeded our expectations - the food is always an issue in Mexico. We travel 2x/yr and this is the first time in many years that I can say the food was great!!!
Small, quaint resort conducive to families
Dolphin experience was a big plus! Super!
Miguel the manager is fabulous and helpful!
Luis who was the manager of the restaurants it seemed was absolutely fabulous and went above and beyond.
Zeistef at the concierge desk was excellent as well!
Very helpful and extremely accommodating staff overall!
If you like a great massage see Yelena!!! Unfortunately they mixed up my resi but the other 15 people in our party all went to her, some twice! She's that good!

Negatives:
Rooms were just ok with bathrooms being old and basically glued together. But certainly not bad and VERY clean. This is coming from a very picky person.
The head guy at Portofino is a jerk. Food was excellent though.
Front desk staff was not great but I wouldn't focus on that. Don't care.

OK things:
Kids club is a great option but the ladies there are a bit rude and not very engaging. Luckily our kids had a bunch of friends there so it wasn't bad. Overall though it's a great option and they are open until 9:45 so if you're kids are over the age of 5, I'd say they'll be fine and have fun anyway! We left ours for a few hours here and there and for 2 evenings.
The entertainment staff is ok as well. Not as fun and engaging as I've seen but if you're on vacation and choose to have fun, you'll enjoy it!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Concierge-DreamsPA, Social Media Coordinator at Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and the tripadvisor community. As professionals in the guest service industry, we fully understand the importance of guest feedback, both positive and negative, as this is the best way to highlight the areas where we are exceeding expectations as well as the areas that may need to be addressed.

Please rest assured that your comments will be shared with the pertinent departments and we are confident that on any future stay we will surpass your expectations in every aspect.

Kind Regards,

Rebecca Tunstall
E-Concierge & Social Media Coordinator
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
econcierge.drepa@dreamsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Never written a harsh review before but DPA earned it. Multiple minor issues that greatly adversely impacted stay: Floor in room and bathroom rug dirty. Light bulbs out. TV not working. Repairman came, worked, and left without a word. Weren't sure if he went to get a something or if he was done. Tried and it still didn't work. Another call. On night air on balcony smoky. Staff removed light bulb from faulty light. Nothing like a near fire on vacation. Fixture never repaired so no light. Non-stop construction noise from 6:00am to early morning hours. One night with no water due to construction. Poor maid service. No pillow cases. Towels were ratty. Pillows removed and not replaced. Room not cleaned for 2 days. Went to desk in afternoon of 2nd day to request service. Soon thereafter staff found us on beach to tell us we had to move rooms because of construction. No earlier notice even though it later became evident that move had been planned at least since morning. Guess they don't plan their maintenance. Hotel wasn't full so not sure why we were put in that room. Told when to move vs. when would it be convenient which it wasn't at all since it was our last night. While we were ready at our mandated time, move was delayed because new room wasn't ready even though room had been assigned that morning. Don't know when we would have been told about move if we hadn't gone by desk. In new room, more minor things like safe not working and repairman never showing). Luckily there were some redeeming qualities. Nice beach with snorkeling although you have to watch out for the jet skis/sailboats in the swimming area, the onsite dolphin excursion, and dinner dining. Compared to other all inclusives I've been to, breakfast/lunch buffet was limited but dinners were very good. Drinks were so so.

Room Tip: Ask where construction is underway or planned to start during stay and avoid those rooms
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KKPERP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Concierge-DreamsPA, Social Media Coordinator at Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear KKPERP,

First and foremost, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback here on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay with us at Dreams Puerto Aventuras. We are extremely sorry to hear that our facilities did not meet with your full approval. All guest feedback, both positive and negative, allows us the opportunity to improve our services.

We apologize for any inconvenience caused by the unforeseen maintenance issue that arose during your time here with us. Unfortunately we have no reports of any near fires occuring.

Once again, thank you for expressing your opinion; it is very important to us as we are always looking for ways to improve our service and achieve ultimate guest satisfaction.

Sincerely,

Rebecca Tunstall
E Concierge & Social Media Coordinator
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
econcierge.drepa@dreamsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

The property is well suited for families with the adventure zone / activities and dolphins. The price was reasonable. The food okay. The service Good, not great. The building is old. There was black mold in our room, but they did move us up a floor the next day to a larger room with no mold. The pipes burst outside our room, but was cleaned up quickly. The view and folliage was nicer than in the city of Cancun. We would not stay at this resort again as we found others that were nicer, cleaner, newer at a better price after we arrived. Overall the other reviews paint a pretty accurate picture.

Room Tip: above the 3rd floor
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Believing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Concierge-DreamsPA, Social Media Coordinator at Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear Believing,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us here on Tripadvisor following your recent vacation at Dreams Puerto Aventuras. We apologize for not having exceeded your expectations during your stay here with us. Please rest assured that your comments have been shared with the pertinent departments in order to be addressed and improved.

We truly hope you will choose to return here with us once again as we are confident that we will be able to surpass your expectations on any future visit.

Sincerely,

Rebecca Tunstall
E-Concierge & Social Media Coordinator
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
econcierge.drepa@dreamsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Dreams Puerto Aventuras is fantastic! My girlfriend and I had a blast there. First off, the staff definitely made the trip! They're friendly, extremely helpful, and most importantly, FUN! Special thanks to 3 specific waiters. Jose at Portofino, Amado, and Juan at the buffet and SeaSide. They all went above and beyond to make dining memorable and fun. Jose even went above and beyond and delivered dessert to our room after work! Noe was our favorite Bartender. The entertainment team of Victor, Jesus and Giovanni are full of energy and hilarious! Finally, our housekeeper Oscar was friendly, fun and did a great job!
The resort is beautiful. The grounds are well kept. The room was clean, roomy, modern and comfortable! The bed was fantastic!
The drinks were top notch, and free flowing! We especially enjoyed the Coffee Bar where we would grab a frap with kaluah!
The food was very good, especially at Portofino! Oceana was a close second. The breakfast buffet was awesome too, and the omelette cook was great! The other food was very good too.
We met a ton of awesome travellers and everyone was friendly. The kids in the Explorers club also seemed to be enjoying themselves, and this would definitely be a place I'd be comfortable bringing my kids to one day! The adults only pool and jacuzzi were a nice change of pace to just relax, and the massages we got at the spa were top notch!
Be sure to take an excursion to see the cinotes, and jump on the collectivo and make your way up to Playa de Carmen!
Two Thumbs up for Dreams Puerto Aventuras!

Room Tip: I would recommend an Ocean View room on at least the 4th floor or higher!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Concierge-DreamsPA, Social Media Coordinator at Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear Eric,

We truly appreciate you taking the time to write and share such a wonderfully detailed review following your recent vacation here with us at Dreams Puerto Aventuras. It is always pleasing for us to hear when our guests have had the chance to experience and enjoy the Unlimited Luxury that we have to offer.

Our entire team will be overjoyed to hear such positive feedback as we truly pride ourselves on guest satisfaction.

It would be a pleasure to be able to welcome both you and your girlfriend back in the future.

Kind Regards,

Rebecca Tunstall
E-Concierge & Social Media Coordinator
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
econcierge.drepa@dreamsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
20.9 mi away
Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa
24.5 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#7 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4,743 reviews
16.8 mi away
Ocean Riviera Paradise
Ocean Riviera Paradise
#73 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
#41 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,540 reviews
14.8 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#32 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
7,390 reviews
155.6 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa

Address: Km 269.5 Carretera Chetumal, Puerto Aventuras 77500, Mexico (Formerly Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa All Inclusive)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#10 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range: $174 - $512 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa is a getaway with near infinite pleasures. Guests of all ages experience Unlimited-Luxury(R), remarkable amenities led by spacious rooms and suites with lovely views, gourmet dining options, limitless top-shelf spirits and 24-hour concierge service - all wristband-free. Guests are entertained by miniature golf, complimentary greens fees at a nearby golf course, a PADI certified diving center and Dolphin Dreams by Dolphin Discovery, one of the largest dolphinariums in the Riviera Maya resort region. To unwind, Dream Spa by Pevonia(R) offers a generous pampering menu. For couples, the resort presents wedding, honeymoon and anniversary packages, and for business, facilities begin with the 1,646 square foot Playa Ballroom. It's all of this and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Dreams Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Dreams Resort Puerto Aventuras
Sunscape Puerto Aventuras Riviera
Sunscape Puerto Adventuras
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing