We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant in the heart of Puerto”

Pelican Point Restaurant & Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Dockside alongside the local fishing boats we are fortunate to get first pickings of the best catches of each and every day. Outside Deck Terrace seating as well as inside. Open from 5pm. Open MONDAY through Sunday. Enchanting nautical theme. Good spot for any occasion. Fully stocked bar where you can stop by and have a drink (Martini, Manhatten, Margarita, Daquiris, Mai Tai, Pina Coladas, Beer, Smoothies or a variety of wines by the glass or bottle etc), and also enjoy the view!. A good choice when its hot, there is an air conditioned area. A good choice if its cold, there is heating to make it cozy and warm, a good choice if its raining as it is under a roof. For lovers of good food, a nice attention and romantic evenings, find Pelican Point next to Aventuras Club, Puerto Aventuras Marina. Closed SUNDAYS and for the months of September and october.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great restaurant in the heart of Puerto”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Having come to Puerto several times over the past few years, we have enjoyed various experiences at different restaurants but Pelican Point has brought something new and different to the area. Great food and atmosphere and on a picturesque location in the marina, we thoroughly enjoyed both lunches and dinners there and would highly recommend returning again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Morgan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanePuertoAventuras, Owner at Pelican Point Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Hello Morgan, this is Guillermo. Thank you for taking the time to review and support us in our new venture. Having lovely clients like yourselves makes it all worthwhile and satisfying. See you next visit. Thank you, Guillermo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    36
    21
    14
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“FIRST CLASS”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

My husband and I returned for a second time to this fabulous place and once again it was quite a treat! The place is gorgeous and the staff outstanding! Everything they do here is first class!
Our waiters were right on top of every move making us feel very special! The owner himself greeted us and patiently answered all of our questions as he explained the specials of the day!
We had heard of some negative reviews but they are truly unjustified! Guillermo might come across as perhaps a little aggressive but I can assure you this is only due to his passion and love for what he does and he does it to perfection! Sophia his daughter is a real gem and is a great addition to the restaurant! She is following in her father's foot steps! I suggest you give the place a try and I can almost guarantee that you will not be disappointed!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Happy154943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Great New Addition to Puerto”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

What a wonderful addition to Puerto Aventuras!!!! What a breath of fresh air! This restaurant is spotless! We visited this restaurant several times over the Christmas holidays. The Cobe Burgers on the lunch menu are to die for! The owner and the wait staff do an exceptional job insuring your experience is top notch.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“OUR FAVORITE DINING EXPERIENCE IN PUERTO AVENTURAS!”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Pelican Point continues to be our favourite dining experience in Puerto Aventuras and area!

We're always greeted warmly by the staff - Guillermo - the owner, Sophia, Juliet and wait staff!

Absolutely love the setting ... lovely breezes and beautiful view of the fishing boats in the marina!

Our table of four were all pleased with our dinners ... filet mignon, pork chops, "Captain's Catch" - all perfectly prepared and beautifully presented! We couldn't be more content!

Already planning our next dinner there before returning home!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CJ1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanePuertoAventuras, Owner at Pelican Point Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Hello Calgary, my dear new friends. Thank you for your many visits and taking the time to review. I am really looking forward to your return and to serving you again next winter. Thank you, saludos, Guillermo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central NJ
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Good but some growing pains”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

The place is gorgeous- the nicest restaurant in all of PA. It should be considered a "special occassion" dinner as the prices are almost double other establishments in PA (I found all the food to be wonderful and really fair prices). But...the owner, I will agree seems to take over with the brashness of a dictator and has his hand in everything. With the exception of the bartenders, none of the wait staff spoke English. The owner read the specials for 3 miniutes, steering you very strongly to what he thought you should order and then re-translated to the wait staff. When soneoene in our party said "I would like the scallops kabobs" which were on the menu- he said "no you don't" with no further explantion and she ended up with a meal she did not care for. The pork chop special with blue cheese could have fed a family of 4 but had no real outstanding taste. I did enjoy the cesar salad prepared tableside- fun to watch, good but nothing special.

So...I do think this is a wonderful location, with elegant decor and a great place for a special dinner. Maybe give it some time for the staff to come up to speed and for the owner to relax a bit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pelican Point Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Puerto Aventuras, Riviera Maya
Puerto Aventuras, Riviera Maya
 
Puerto Aventuras, Riviera Maya
Puerto Aventuras, Riviera Maya
 
Puerto Aventuras, Riviera Maya
Puerto Aventuras, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Pelican Point Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing