We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT EXPERIENCE!!!”

Hippos Marina Lounge
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Scenic view, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Lovely breakfast, lunch, dinner and special event restaurant overlooking the dolphins which are less than 15 feet away. Hippo has a great Taco Bar on our second patio with all the toppings you can imagine. Fresh daily fish and lobster sold by the gram. Hand carved American Black Angus steaks cut to size.We have large screen TV's for sports events but keep the volume low so others can enjoy the ambiance. Free fresh popcorn and terrific cocktails and ice cold draft/bottled beers make Hippo a gem in Puerto Aventuras for all to enjoy.
Austin, Texas
1 review
“GREAT EXPERIENCE!!!”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

The food was excellent and a good value for the price! I personally found Hippos to be the best restaurant in Puerto Aventuras and it has an excellent view of the Dolphins from the dining area outside. The staff is quite friendly and in particular, Samuel, the man behind the bar. I happened to be there the evening the owner was there and he helped to make our entire party feel most at home!!! Overall experience - Excellent!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RodinUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    69
    21
    11
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“owner has some serious problems”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Owner is bipolar and on drugs and drunk 24/7 goodluck!!!!!! That's all there is to say about this place and the experience we had there.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank SYD S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lunch”
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

Best food on our trip. Wish we had found them on our first day. Burger and fries mmm. Sandwiches were great, big portions. Try them if you go to the marina.



Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bev B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
33040
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Breakfast/Brunch”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

HIPPOS has by far the best breakfast taste bud for taste bud as well as peso for peso of any served around the Puerto Aventuras Marina (Marina not mentioned by TripAdvisor). After selecting your breakfast entre you can choose from a large and delicious variety of sides, fillings and toppings all included in the price. Once you have had your fill of the run of the mill attempts at breakfast offered by the other fine restaurants around the Marina delight yourself with a visit to HIPPOS. Plan to be surprised by the coffee. John has spared no expense in serving up 100% arabica beans from Chiapas to keep your bottomless cup full. While there expect to be entertained by the dolphins as they play in the lagoon on which HIPPOS faces.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank passagemaker1937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Catharines
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

The food is great,portions generous. They will cook up whatever you want, to order! They catered our wedding reception at our condo and the food,service,and attention to detail were unsurpassed! John, Alex and his team will make whatever you want. It was the best ever. Thanks everyone at Hippos!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimi55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hippos Marina Lounge also viewed

Puerto Aventuras, Riviera Maya
Puerto Aventuras, Riviera Maya
 
Puerto Aventuras, Riviera Maya
Puerto Aventuras, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Hippos Marina Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing