We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place To Snack And Watch The Game”

Hippos Marina Lounge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: American, Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Lovely breakfast, lunch, dinner and special event restaurant overlooking the dolphins which are less than 15 feet away. Hippo has a great Taco Bar on our second patio with all the toppings you can imagine. Fresh daily fish and lobster sold by the gram. Hand carved American Black Angus steaks cut to size.We have large screen TV's for sports events but keep the volume low so others can enjoy the ambiance. Free fresh popcorn and terrific cocktails and ice cold draft/bottled beers make Hippo a gem in Puerto Aventuras for all to enjoy.
canada
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Place To Snack And Watch The Game”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We stopped by here several times during our two week visit -- for breakfast, lunch and drinks and appies. Service is excellent and drinks are very good if a little pricey. The breakfast was nothing spectacular, but lunch and appies were very good. We kept coming back mainly for the entertainment value as it is in a great location and they have big screen tv's all over the place with a huge selection of sports. For even more fun, show up later and watch the owner drink too much.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    74
    22
    11
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Keepin' it hip at Hippos”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

The best steak I've ever eaten in Mexico! Other food is good, too. A friendly staff and classy place. If there is something you want, but don't see on the menu…ask them, they are very accomodating! I've eaten breakfast, lunch and dinner here…all good. Comfy couches on the patio allow you to watch your favorite sport team in action while sipping a cold drink and nibbling on great food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank javaqueen2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton ON Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great blackened fish”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We dined at Hippos twice the same week because the food was so good the first time!! Blackened grouper first, balckened wahu second. Came with fresh vegetables and potatoe or salad. Great price too. The wine was very good and well priced. Loved being able to watch the Leafs play in Mexico. I would recommend this restaurant for dinner.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lynjoyric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
1 review
“great place to eat”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

went there for lunch with two of my buddys had a great time the owner and his sister were so nice they made us anything we wanted they had all the fottball games on we went back for dinner with twelve people the help and food were great place is so much fun they even drove us back to the hotel with there hippo golf cart was good times

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank biggie1222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

The food was amazing. We had brunch there twice. It was fresh and hot. We had drinks there and met the owners. Very nice people. Great Friendly Bar Atmosphere

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank MRSCEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hippos Marina Lounge also viewed

Puerto Aventuras, Riviera Maya
Puerto Aventuras, Riviera Maya
 
Puerto Aventuras, Riviera Maya
Puerto Aventuras, Riviera Maya
 
Puerto Aventuras, Riviera Maya
Puerto Aventuras, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Hippos Marina Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing