We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
LM by Inmense(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$379
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aventuras Club(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$536
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$362
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barcelo Maya Palace(Puerto Aventuras)
$302
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Maya Colonial(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
$245
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Maya Tropical(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
$291
Barcelo.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Catalonia Riviera Maya(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
$156
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (4,538)
Filter reviews
4,538 results
Traveler rating
2,969
958
329
153
129
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,969
958
329
153
129
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssayil buildingmini golfflow riderspanish restaurantfishla fuentesports barcaptain morganwater sportsa la carte restaurantsclub premiumother resortsbarcelo mayabowling alleybuffet foodspring breakmake reservations
Filter
Updating list...
2,168 - 2,173 of 4,538 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2010

This is actually five resorts on about a mile and one-half white sand beach. Those who pay for the premium packages have access to all facilities in four of the resorts including access to air-conditioned buffets and several sepcialty restaurants. Located about one hour south of Cancun, Mexico, the resorts are huge but have plenty of room so that you do not ever feel crowded. The food is great and the service is tops with premium drinks of about any brand you could want. In August it is very very hot but the pools are nice and the ocean is quite warm just a short distance from many of the rooms. If the place is full up, and they said they were, there are probably 4 to 5 thousand guests on the grounds. But again, there was actually no feeling of crowding due to the large area the resorts cover. Our friends who were located in the same building we were in had $800.00 stolen from thier locked room safe and the management not only would not appologize but called them a liar when they reported the theft. For this reason we will not be returning to what is otherwise a great resort. It is a real shame that a theft such as this puts a dark cloud over the whole affair. P.S. If you want good wine, take your own because you won't get any there.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Feitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2016

Dear Feitz,

Many thanks for your full review and your comments which are very important for us. We invite you to visit our website to know the new Barceló Maya Caribe.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2010

This was our 4th trip to an all-inclusive in Mexico, and 5th overall (Sirenis in Punta Cana). The other 3 Mexican resorts were Iberostar, Riu and Gran Bahia Principe. Our group consisted of 4 adults (2 grandparents + 2 parents) and 2 kids (ages 11 and 9).

Here's how Barcelo compares to the others:

1. Food and drinks - comparable to slightly better buffets + formal dinners. A bit of a hassle to get formal dinner reservations. If you want quality booze, ask for it otherwise they will serve you domestic brands by default.

2. Service - comparable. Resort bars felt a bit understaffed at times but never had to wait more than a few minutes for a drink anywhere.

3. Entertainment - comparable. Theather Kukulkan was extremely hot during shows at night, needs more fans and improved circulation...

4. Fitness facilities - better than any I've seen at other resorts thus far.

5. Beach - better.

6. Pools - comparable. We spent most of our time at the Beach report, rather than the Caribe, because the animation team and therefore the majority of the activities were located there.

7. Animation team - comparable. No problems speaking English.

8. Rooms - comparable.

9. Cleanliness - comparable. Staff worked very hard to keep rooms and grounds clean. Pools got a little spoogy by the end of the day, as you may expect, with sunscreen, booze, sand etc...

10. Location - about 100KM from Cancun airport. At least 60-75 minute drive with no stops.

11. Clientele - mostly European, maybe 15% from U.S. Surprisingly few from UK relative to experience on prior trips.

Bottom line - if you go expecting a 5-star hotel, you will be disappointed. This isn't the Ritz where every last detail is painstakingly attended to. This is a good quality hotel and you will have a good time.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank galici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2016

Dear galici,

Many thanks for your full review and your comments which are very important for us. We invite you to visit our website to know the new Barceló Maya Caribe.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

I was very nervous prior to arriving for our vacation at Barcelo Maya Beach & Carib.I had let several bad reviews make worry me. My family (husband & two sons 16 & 18) have made many trips to Mexico over the years. But this year we where bringing along my niece, her husband and her 3 sons (10, 16 & 18) for their first vacation abroad ever. Luckily from the moment we arrived we had no worries. Our check in was smooth & quick. We had a total of 4 rooms, 2 connected and 2 down the hall a little. The mini bars were filled daily ,the A/C's worked great, the rooms and resort were clean. Several times we left our keys iin the room and the front desk sent people within minutes to let us in. We had quick and friendly servce wherever we went. All 9 of us were able to get reservations at the Steak House, Spanish restiurant and Mexican restaurant with no problems. We found it incredulous that reviews mentioned blah buffets, when we could hardly believe the amount of daily variety offered. The snorkeling also was fun and just right for beginners. I would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wright4_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2016

Dear wright4_10,

Many thanks for your full review and your comments which are very important for us. We invite you to visit our website to know the new Barceló Maya Caribe.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2010

Our family with 2 children ages 4 and 8 stayed at the Barcelo Maya Caribe for 10 days in July. We were very excited to go to Riviera Maya for the first time. We had recently read negative reviews about this resort which had made us skeptical and quite worried because we didn't know what to expect. Upon arrival at the resort, we dealt with Enrique at reception who was very pleasant and one of the staff members also greeted us with refreshing drinks. Because there were no more standard rooms left we were upgraded to club premium which made us very happy.
Our room was very clean and nice and the fridge was full of refreshments (beer,water, softdrinks and juices) which was fully restocked every day. The first night the A/C was not working very well but the next day we told reception and the problem was fixed right away and we no longer had A/C problems for the rest of our stay.
We were surprised that people had written negative reviews about the staff because all the Barcelo staff that we encountered were all very polite and friendly. The resort is very well maintained and kept clean. The grounds are beautiful and the pools are clean. There is also a very nice waterpark for children ages 4 - 12. The beach is absolutely gorgeous with white sand and turquoise water. You can also snorkel and feed the fish either at the beach or off the dock. The food was very good and the buffet had a different theme every day with a wide variety. We enjoyed the Mexican food a lot. We recommend the Seafood and the Steakhouse restaurants and we also recommend the Japanese restaurant which has a 15$ fee per person but is well worth it. We have travelled to the Caribbean several times before and we can say that this was one of our favorite trips. We recommend this resort to everyone and would go back in a heartbeat.

Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
2  Thank Athena70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2016

Dear Athena70,

Many thanks for your full review and your comments which are very important for us. We invite you to visit our website to know the new Barceló Maya Caribe.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2010

We arrived later than we wanted to due to airline problems. The first room was hot and several other problems. we went to the desk than to dinner. when we returned to the room it was still hot we went back to the desk they put us in another room for the evening. The next morning they put us in a cool and comfortable room. Some of the preople at the desk are nice some are not! We went to the pool. a very nice pool! I got out of the pool to go to the restroom I fell and broke my left arm and dislocated my shoulder. I spent 2 nights in the hospital. The hotel I believed showed no compassion, concern, or cared that I fell at their hotel. The manager said the hotel was not responsible because I did not have shoes on. Be very very careful around the pool area we saw people fall with and without shoes.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cathi53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2016

Dear cathi53

Many thanks for your full review and your comments which are very important for us. We invite you to visit our website to know the new Barceló Maya Caribe.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews