We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (8,094)
Filter reviews
8,094 results
Traveler rating
5,759
1,346
530
239
220
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
5,759
1,346
530
239
220
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sayil building la fuente captain morgan flow rider water sports mini golf spanish restaurant sports bar barcelo maya a la carte restaurants fish premium level grand resort bowling alley other resorts buffet food family vacation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 8,094 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A review of our latest stay at Barcelo Maya:
The premium checkin was smooth. The new thing is the wrist band being the key, and that worked really well. We were able to book all 8 nights at the a la cartes for 7:30. And they threw in a bonus for one of the Palace restaurants. We chose the French, and it was amazing. Also quite happy, as always, with Marenostrum, the original Italian, both Japanese, and the steak house. A bit disappointed by the Mexican, they were busy and short staffed I think.
A major difference is the new AO building at the south end of the beach. It looks totally out of place, but the people staying there loved it. The beach was in the best shape I’ve seen it in years, no sargassum issues at all. However getting into to water can be a problem due to rocks, water shoes solve that.

As for straws, they are now the environmentally friendly ones, and their availability is hit and miss, although it did seem that having the Club Premium bracelet helped find them...
It also appears that they are going back to the towel card system, again not for premium. I like this idea, without it you just don’t know which towels are actually holding spots and which are just abandoned for the day.
The animation staff does an amazing job! They have to handle people of all ages and in many languages, and smile through it all. I only thought to write down the name of one of the young ladies, so I will point to Monica Dozal, although the team was great!

Date of stay: January 2020
Thank peter5518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roam41780702201, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Traveler,

Firstly we would like to thank you for choosing our Barceló Maya Caribe hotel once again for your holidays and for sharing this wonderful feedback of your recent stay among us, it is indeed very rewarding to read that we keep on meeting all your holiday needs and wishes year after year. We greatly appreciate the time you spent to review your recent experience in our hotel. We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting the area. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband (Dan) and I just finished our stay at Barcelo Maya Riviera. Each day we visited the Water Sports Team at Caribe and used the sail boats. It was such an awesome experience. The staff (Alejandro, Alexander, Ramon, Gerardo and Yesli) were so friendly and helpful. It was a great way to learn to sail and experience the ocean, yet knowing the staff was close by gave us comfort since we were so new to sailing.

Date of stay: January 2020
Thank J7359FHdianad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roam41780702201, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Traveler,

First and foremost we would like to thank you for the praising review you shared following your recent visit to Barceló Maya Caribe hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your expectations. Your enthusiasm for our staff is very much appreciated and will be a great source of motivation, we will certainly not fail to convey your very kind compliments to all of them. Thank you again for this heartwarming review of your stay with us, we look forward to your next visit.

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Honestly our 4th time here and it never disappoints. We come back after a year and half find a new hotel as well as new activities to do. Our favorite employee EVER Alberto Diaz is still here. My kids and wife love him. We all look forward to seeing him every year when we come. He already knows what we like and “sus batidos de fresa” for my kids lol.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank moisesj582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roam41780702201, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Traveler,

First of all we would like to express our sincerest gratitude for your trust and loyalty to Barceló Hotels & Resorts for your holidays and for choosing our Barceló Maya Caribe hotel this time around, it is indeed a great source of satisfaction to read that once again you had a pleasant stay among us. We also appreciate your kind words for our staff, their kindness and helpfulness being undoubtedly one of our hotel's main assets we will definitely congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying among us. Thank you again for this heartwarming review of your stay with us, we look forward to your next visit.

The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I'd definitely recommend if you want to try Caribbean beaches. The staff are very professional and friendly and do much to make your stay enjoyable. You'll be taken care of the entire time you get to the resort from the moment you arrive!

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Thank ajcrowel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roam41780702201, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Traveler,

We would like to thank you for your review you shared following your recent visit to Barceló Maya Caribe. Thank you for your lovely comments regarding the service you received from our team members, we will make sure to share your kind words as we know it will mean a great deal to them. Again we thank you for this very kind review of our hotel and we look forward to serving you again in the future.

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Barcelo Maya Caribe has been by far one of the best experiences I’ve had. The place is beautiful and gives you the mayan feel. The staff was always friendly and very humble as well as helpful and attentive to my needs. The variety of pools and restaurants as well as bars and entertainment, gave a us something new everyday. I would always find my room clean and the mini fridge filled with drinks and bottled water. I would definitely return as the experience was a dream come true. One thing I would’ve liked to see a little more of the spanish culture in the entertainment and music at the club as well as a mariachi band at least once in the shows, other than that this hotel is highly recommended and worth every penny.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank cguillen06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roam41780702201, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Traveler,

Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your recent stay at Barceló Maya Caribe. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and certainly agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guests' overall experience. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service and a warm, memorable experience. We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting the area. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews