We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barcelo maya beach and caribe”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
St. John's, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Barcelo maya beach and caribe”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We arrived here on a Friday afternoon, check in was very easy and fast ! Found our room with no troubles (we stayed in the Sayil building) the room was comfortable and cleaned everyday and the air conditioning worked great ! The grounds were great and always clean (the staff is very hard working) most staff spoke good English. The pool on the caribe resort were mostly quiet and relaxing but if you want music on more up beat, the maya beach pool is where you want too be. The beaches were absolutely gorgeous with powder like sand, a bit rocky on the caribe side but more down toward the beach resort is where we stayed. The food was surprisingly better than I expected but you get sick of the same stuff all the time (the pizza is amazing ). The staff are very friendly and always pass with a smile! There was lots to do on the resort ( disco, shopping centre, watersports, etc..) it's about an hour from the airport but not a bad drive. I hope to come back to this resort in the future, we really end enjoyed our week here !!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor, more privacy on the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Steph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Steph B; Many thanks for your comments you kindly share with the Tripadvisor users, we are glad that we have exceeded your expectations and spent a great time with us.

We always try to do our best to satisfy our guests and make their vacation enjoyable, I would also like to assure you that guest feedback is very important for us, and wherever possible we are happy to listen and learn.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,097
    705
    225
    103
    83
See reviews for
1,459
982
53
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

we just got back from our 4th time at the barcelo maya resort. The transformation of the beach hotel is astounding. It looks nothing like the old lobby. All very new and shiny, very artsy and much more high end than before. We stayed at the caribe this time which is now undergoing the same change as the beach as of April 25th, so we got to say goodbye to the old style that we are familiar with. I can understand the need for updating but I do miss the truly mexican flavor it had before. Our holiday was just as wonderful as always but we will not return for a 5th time. It is time to find a new place to unwind and relax in. I prefer old mexican traditional to the new more modern and colder feeling it is becoming now. Oh well, all things must change or get stagnet so I guess we will have to accept it. Anyway, if you decide to make the Barcelo Maya your resort you will not regret it. The people are always fantastic to deal with and the food is great.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank fredslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
fredslady: Many thanks for your contact and your comments regarding our services. We are very pleased that you continue to enjoy your stays and thank you for your continued patronage of Barcelo Maya Beach Resort.

We always try to do our best to satisfy our guests and make their vacation enjoyable, I would also like to assure you that guest feedback is very important for us, and wherever possible we are happy to listen and learn.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

The beach and pools are beautiful. Grounds well kept and clean. The buffet was clean and lots of choices at the buffet. The staff were friendly but we had some issues with service. The rooms weren't as clean as other resorts we have stayed. The drinks were plentiful and the weather was beautiful. Pretty good vacation!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TaR R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
TaR R; Many thanks for choosing Barceló Maya Beach and the time you have taken to share your impressions about the property and our services with the Tripadvisor users.

We always try to do our best to satisfy our guests and make their vacation enjoyable, I would also like to assure you that guest feedback is very important for us, and wherever possible we are happy to listen and learn.

We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

I really enjoyed the resort. I found the rooms at the Caribe to be clean, in need of repair, but that is happening this year. We upgraded to Club Premium and I don't know if that was worth the benefits, but it did give us an ocean view room. The club benefits were not really explained to us clearly upon check in. We were the only couple checking in, so it wasn't because the staff was rushed. We were given a wifi password. We did discover by asking we could eat and drink at all the resorts, except the Palace. We were entitled to get premium alcohol, we thought that was just upon ordering, but the bartender we asked didn't seem to understand the question. We were also not aware of the lounges we could sit and relax in. I would suggest to the hotel that maybe upon check in to have this information available. We also noticed that it was really cool how all guests were welcomed with a cold drink upon check in. We were not and I am not sure why that was. Those little things can be enjoyable and I would suggest that the hotel do it for the club premium check in as well.

The buffets were really good. The food was excellent as was the service. There were different theme nights so it offered a nice variety. Lunch at the beach restaurants was not as good as the main buffet lunch. I really suggest going up a few times for lunch at the Beach buffet. Very good!

We found the shows to be enjoyable with great service. Our only complaint was how awful the karokee show was at the Colonial Theater. There was a group of drunk college kids that were on stage trying to grab the mic from the lady MC and they were swearing on stage. I do wish that security would have been involved as it was not enjoyable for the audience to watch.

The beach is excellent! I am not sure why there are so many complaints on here about the quality of the beach, but in front of the Caribe and Beach buildings, it is simply fantastic!!

There is construction on the resort and you could hear the machinary and trucks when walking along the paths. Thankfully our room was not near the construction and we were woken by the beautiful sounds of birds instead.
Room was always cleaned and the air conditioning was wonderful. Drinks were always replenished in the mini bar but only had the snacks replaced once after leaving a note with a tip. So if you want more snacks just leave a note. Should have done it sooner!

Great vacation. Will likely return. Don't know if I would waste the money upgrading to the Club Premium because I didn't see the value. Maybe if it would have been explained to us we could have used more of its features.

The staff was always helpful and courteous. I don't think we once passed by a staff member without the staff member saying hello with a smile. Its very welcoming and appreciated.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the construction at the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sk3062014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
sk3062014; Thank you for choosing Barceló Maya Caribe as your vacation resort and the time you have taken to share your impressions with the Tripadvisor users.

We take all comments very seriously as we know they help us to improve our services, we are glad you enjoyed many aspects of your stay and i can confirm that we will continue working with the staff to make sure they give the right information.

I would like to conclude by assuring you that our goal remains that of serving all of our guests to the best of our ability, to ensure that we are creating unforgettable experiences.

we look forward to receiving you again in the future. Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We just got back from our first all inclusive trip and also our first trip to Mexico. We booked this resort online and were more then happy with it! We stayed at the Beach resort and it was so close to the beach, stunning layout, good food and VERY friendly, helpful staff. We highly reccommend it and are already planning our trip back!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashlie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Ashlie T; Thank you for your comments, we are glad that you enjoyed many aspects of your vacation at Barceló Maya Caribe and you found our staff to be hard working and friendly.

we look forward to serving you again in the future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baraboo
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Spent Spring Break at the Barcelo and loved it. Beautiful beach and nice pools. Rooms were nice and clean. Food was good and plentiful, although I personal would have liked some more Mexican style food. Went to the Mexican and Spanish restaurants and both were good. Went on a day trip to Coba and visited a centoe, was a lot of fun. Only think I didn't like was the long trip from the airport, our trip was about 1 hour and 15 min. Once we reached our destination , it was worth the trip.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Gardengirl33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Gardengirl33; ; Many thanks for your comments regarding your stay at Barcelo Maya Beach Resort, we are very happy that you enjoyed your time with us, we will be pleased to servie you again in the future. Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We booked a great deal with Thomson (Tui) for 17 days AI at the Barcelo Maya Caribe Beach. This cost less than 14 days AI in the Canaries or Egypt for instance. We had a jungle view room in Sayil block which was homely but after only 3 days were upgraded free to a seaview junior suite with balcony jacuzzi in Uxmal block of the Maya beach. This was very modern indeed. However we continued to eat in the Caribe buffet for breakfast as it is the most pleasant , it is open but shaded from the sun. All the buffet restaurants are surrounded by moats with fountains illuminated at night. The outside seating at the Maya beach buffet is unpleasantly humid and the inside is cafeteria-ish and noisy, especially with strident , jarring North American voices. The staff at the Caribe buffet are warm and smiling and bring your requirements without needing to ask and refill immediately when needed.

The resort contains five hotels, from north to south Palace, Tropical, Colonial, Caribe beach and Maya beach. The Palace stands aloof the others work as two pairs; Colonial & Tropical and Caribe beach & Maya beach. Guests at the Palace can eat & drink everywhere for free; those at the Tropical & Colonial pay at the Palace but don't everywhere else; those at the bottom two pay everywhere but their pair of hotels (at least in theory). For British readers it's like the Frost report sketch. The Palace is John Cleese, the Colonial & Tropical Ronnie Barker and the bottom two know their place - Ronnie Corbett. A road train goes around the resort all day until after midnight every 15 minutes or so and calls at all lobbies plus the beach and dolphinarium during the day. There is currently a new hotel under construction near the Caribe beach. This is why guests were moved to the Maya beach and so the Caribe buffet was closed at lunch and in the evening.

Ironically the beach , over a mile long, gets better in the south bay if softer sand, gentler winds, and unoccupied sunbeds are what you want. At the far south end there are two palappas , the only two. Clothing is optional down here though bottoms usually stay on and there are some really big ones here.
In the middle of the two bays is a jetty , worth a visit to see the large if dull grey fish, and behind it the dolphinarium with a free show at 11.30am daily and a full programme of payable dolphin events. Some may find the pool rather small for five large dolphins. Just north of the jetty is the watersports centre, largely redundant due to high winds generally and especially on this section of beach. At the south beach there are two pools each with swim-up bar, jacuzzi and beachfront grill. For lunch we mostly ate at the Rancho Grande at the back of the south beach which has more outside seating and seemingly greater variety of food. You can get a good frappucchino here. These grills are open from 12 until 6-30pm and have restrooms. In addition the building with the towel supply has restrooms and also the building near the palappas. The towel supply is open from 7am until 7pm. Things are open long hours here. The tourist shop from 7am to 11pm!

We found the food disappointing at the beach grills, mostly 'burgers and dawgs though there was some fresh whole fish, seafood ceviche, tortillas and the local speciality cochinita pilbil - very tasty pulled pork with spicy sauce. This was easy to find as the North Americans studiously gave it a wide berth in favour of the aforesaid 'burgers and dawgs.

We ate in six a la cartes; the free Spanish & Mexican and the payable for us Capri, Rodizio (Brazilian), Caribe seafood and the French brasserie - all in the Palace. The four in the Palace were outstanding and all had outdoor seating on a verandah with sea and raccoon view. The food was beautifully presented in "fine dining" style and was usually accurately rendered eg Risotto Milanese with the Osso Buco. Overall the French brasserie was probably best with a gorgeous lobster bisque cappuccino and a superb petit chateaubriand. For US$25 they were a steal and you could have ordered anything off the large menus and been satisfied with the quality. No waiter objected to us drinking house wine or tried to get us to buy from the expensive wine list. We even took our own wine when the occasion demanded and they happily supplied an ice bucket. The service in all was impeccable. The Spanish and Mexican were more problematic. There is no outside seating and the aircon is fierce; a stole is recommended for ladies sporting bare shoulders. Some of the dishes were good; the venison, mixed starters and the jumbo prawns in the Mexican and the mussels, sea bass fillets with allioli in the Spanish. The tapas resemble real Spanish tapas like Mexico resembles Greenland. One time we waited an hour in the Mexican and took the two hours after 7-30 to complete the meal. If you turn right on entry prepare for the worst. In my opinion all the waiters spend too much time on drinks, particularly pouring water and bringing cokes (!) for the North American diners.

The resort was created out of the jungle which still surrounds and invades the resort. There is lots of wildlife and waking up to the piping and trilling of the grackles is a delight. On the beach brown pelicans flop into sea only to float elegantly like swans. Magnificent frigate birds glide on the wind with their bent stuka wings, gulls screech and caw, turnstones run with clockwork legs after scraps, orange orioles dart in the trees and there are great tits on the sun loungers.

The gardens are beautifully maintained and provide year-round colour by using foliage rather than masses of flowers. Avenida Kukulcan which leads from the eponymous theatre down to the beach is a magnificent affair lined with majestic royal palms.

You can rent an atv from outside the towel change shack and ride to an adjacent cave cenote for a cool swim and an optional caving trip.

The resort lies roughly half way between Playa del Carmen and Tulum. You can catch a shared taxi - a collectivo - to either from outside the hotel on the very busy hwy 370. It's about 40 minutes to either place and about 35 pesos pp. Along this highway going to Tulum are many cenotes, three good ones right opposite the hotel entrance. Akumal playa has turtles and is about 15 minutes from the hotel towards Tulum. Next to the hotel , going towards Playa del Carmen, is Porto Aventuras ; a shopping, yachting and residential development. There are dolphins and sealions here and some reasonably priced restaurants. The tourist tat shops seem to be cheaper here than the hotel ones in each lobby.

We went on a guided excursion to Chichen Itza aka Chicken Pizza. This was a relatively expensive First Choice (Tui) one but , crucially, it leaves about 6am and gets to CI at 9am. The midday heat is savage here and you need to be away by noon. Take an umbrella if you have one and lots of water. The tour company supplied us with both. We then went to the Hubiku cenote for a refreshingly cool swim and lunch. Note there are 120 steps down to the water but a free tequila tasting will revivify you. A brief visit to the colonial city of Valladolid - very much like similar towns on Cuba - and back before 6pm. A very hot day but unforgettable.

We went to Tulum by collectivo from the opposite side of the road to the hotel, road train to the ruins , visit the beach below El Castillo, then went to the big Playa Paraiso, about ten hot minutes on foot, taxi back to Tulum centro (70 pesos the taxi) and back to the resort by collectivo. You are dropped right outside the hotel entrance. We also went to Playa del Carmen by collectivo. We couldn't make the ferries to Cozumel work to our timings so settled for a beer on the beach with mariachi accompaniment and some lightweight shopping. Next visit we'll plan better and go to Cozumel. We went for an afternoon on the Fat Cat from Porto Aventuras , a fun afternoon. Unfortunately our planned Evening Candlelit Dinner cruise was cancelled owing to winds. I took revenge by having the surf'n'turf in the brasserie.

In summary a great place for a first visit to the Riviera Maya. The architecture is hugely impressive with wide paths and avenues lined with majestic royal palms and always fountains gushing inside and outside the lobbies. Combined with lighting the effects at night are magical. All around the resort are statues depicting Mayan Kings and warriors armed with all sorts of weapons and offerings. There is one armed with a '99' cornet for the British and another armed with a dawg for the Americans.

The whole resort is very clean inside and particularly outside. The beach is Federal property although there is no access for the public so any rubbish here has been washed in by the sea or dropped by careless guests.

Warning - take note of things you charge back to your room. We had US$ 400 worth of dolphin experiences charged to our room either accidentally or fraudulently. This took quite a while to sort out even though the signature given was obviously totally different. Everything is charged to your room , no cash payments are made. You will also need to note time and date of your restaurant reservations, a wall-planner will prove a boon.

As with anything human there is room for improvement, mainly at lunchtime near the beach. The buffets are too far away so the beach grill it is. There is little use made of the beach area in the evening; beach parties, bbq's etc. would be welcome. They are done in similar resorts in the Caribbean.

Room Tip: Try for a seaview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Saleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Saleman; First of all I would like to thank you for spending your vacation at the Barceló Maya Beach Resort, we are glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us, however I would like to apologise for the incidents you mentioned that meant you were not able to fully enjoy your vacations. Also thank you for the valuable time you have taken to share you experience at the Mayan Riviera, only through customer feedback, both negative and positive, are we able to improve our services. Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,430 reviews
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Maya Palace
Barcelo Maya Palace
#6 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
6,248 reviews
16.2 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#34 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
6,917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Ocean Riviera Paradise
Ocean Riviera Paradise
#77 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,619 reviews
19.6 mi away
Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Maya Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Maya Caribe

Property: Barcelo Maya Caribe
Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km. 266.3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#10 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#10 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#10 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Maya Caribe 4*
Number of rooms: 414
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Barcelo, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Maya Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Maya Caribe Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Maya Caribe Beach
Barcelo Maya Caribe Riviera Maya/Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing