We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
LM by Inmense(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aventuras Club(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 07/29
Book now, pay at stay
$307
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$425
$357
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barcelo Maya Colonial(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
$262
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Maya Palace(Puerto Aventuras)
$302
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Maya Tropical(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 07/28
Book now, pay at stay
$262
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Catalonia Riviera Maya(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
$388
$208
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Resort(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
$175
$157
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
CheapTickets
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (4,262)
Filter reviews
4,262 results
Traveler rating
2,745
922
321
150
124
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,745
922
321
150
124
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssayil buildingcaptain morganmini golfflow riderfishspanish restaurantwater sportsla fuentesports bara la carte restaurantsclub premiumbarcelo mayaother resortsgreat resortbowling alleybuffet foodmake reservations
Filter
Updating list...
1,887 - 1,892 of 4,262 reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We just returned from a six night stay at Barcelo Maya Caribe. What a marvelous experience. The staff was always very nice and ready to try to serve whatever needs we might have had. The bartenders had fun making our drinks and were very mindful to not let our 17 year old get any adult beverages. The food was good at the buffet and always had a great variety. Our all-inclusive included two very nice sit down meals. At the Don Quixote, the server made a Mayan coffee that was amazing to watch be prepared.
If anyone has a complaint about Barcelo it's because they are picky travelers that should never try to go to differenct cultures other than their own. You have to learn to not be a snobby American and try to get into the culture you are visiting.
The beach was the best I have ever visited and I have visited many in the Caribbean. The water was clear and when we snorkeled we saw quite a few fish given the all the people swimming at the time.
The whole entire busy resort was very very clean and well kept. There were many many workers out and about 24/7 cleaning. I just can't say enough that if you are a seasoned traveler you will love love love this place even if you are a traveler with too high expectations (you may need the Barcelo Palace) you will love most of it.

Room Tip: The rooms are small unless you pay for an upgrade. We were fine with the four adult sized people in ours because we never spend anytime in the room except to sleep. The A/C is limited to about 75 degrees so if you need a cold room you may need to upgrade.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank k4harmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2016

Dear guest,

Many thanks for your full review and your comments which are very important for us. We invite you to visit our website to know the new Barceló Maya Caribe

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Went with my wife, another couple and their children ages 21 and 18. Barcelo has 4 or 5 different hotels and depending on where you're staying you'll have more access to most or all restaurants. We stayed in the Caribe portion. They were willing to upgrade us to all restaurants and move to an ocean view room for an extra $40 a night. We didn't take this option and were fine with the restaurants we had access to. We stayed from June 21st-28th. Rooms were clean and nicely decorated. Each mini-frig was stocked with soda, water, juice and beer. The buffets and snack areas are open areas so they can get a little warm, but not a big deal. The snack areas are located by the pools, with the one by the bigger pool being a lot bigger. Snacks consisted of hamburgers, hot dog bar, quesadillas, deli meats/cheese, pasta, and various other meats. We liked the options at the snack areas that we never went to the lunch buffet. Staff was friendly and overall service was good. As others had mentions the spanish restaurant was the best (Don Quiote). The seafood was good and the steakhouse was average. Dinner buffets had themes each night (italian, spanish, seafood...). I never had any trouble finding food to eat. I thought the buffets were fine. One note is that the seafood and steakhouse restaurants are outside and in fact are the snack areas in the afternoon. The beach was spectacular! Soft white sand, clear water, and plenty of seats for all. The pool areas also have lots of chairs. The beach on the other side of the resort is very rocky so if you are wanting to spend a lot of time on the beach then I would suggest the Caribe section of the resort. Each pool has a swim up bar which was nice. You could also order drinks outside the pool on the other side of the bar. Only negative was sometimes it took a while to get drinks if a lot of people in the pool bar area. I found that the bar by the smaller pool made better drinks (look for Sandi - he was great!) and if you ask for a shot of tequila, make sure to specifically request a brand or you may end up with the low grade stuff.

They have a cool mini-putt putt that is literally in the rain forest. Even with the shade it gets very warm but was worth it. We also did the short game area. You are given a sand wedge, putter, and ball to use. They have 4 "greens" that you shoot to. The greens are not fast by any stretch of the imagination but was still fun to do. There is also a discoteca at opens at 10:30 if you need to get your groove on.

All pool bars close at 7pm so the only other place to get drinks is in the lobby OR go to the sports bar. The sports bar is located through the door to the left of the lobby in the Caribe, go past the time share info and up the stairs. BOOM - a nice little AIR CONDITIONED bar with several flatscreens, a pool table, fooseball, and air hockey. They also have a separate room with a card table. One draw back is that the air hockey can get very loud, but always ended up there each night.

If you are looking to do some fishing there are charters that leave out of Puerto Avernturas, which is about a 5 minute taxi ride. We used puerto adventuras fishing (captain Walter).

Overall it was a very relaxing vacation. Spent most of the time on the beach or by the pool. There is no wait service by the pool or beach, but it's only a minute or 2 walk to either pool bar/snack area. The grounds are clean and well kept. I would definitely go back again. Booked through Apple vacations and they were great. They set up all transportation to and from the airport. There is an apple representative at the Barcelo that we had to meet with but he was not pushy with trying to do a time share.

Finally names of some drinks to try: Riviera Maya, Dirty Monkey, and bumble bee shot.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank valpo_95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2016

Dear guest

Many thanks for your full review and your comments which are very important for us. We invite you to visit our website to know the new Barceló Maya Caribe

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Let me start by saying we have our family consists of 2 children ages 4 & 5 and two older kids ages 16 & 20, so we need a resort that caters to all ages. This was our 2nd stay at this resort, last year we stayed at the Beach, this year the Caribe. Both resorts are basically the same, but we chose the Caribe (Sayil building) since it is located closer to the center of the resort, specifically the kid's water park. Here are our likes and dislikes about the resort.

Likes
-All room requests that we had made in advance were met.
-The children loved both water parks, couldn't hardly get them to the ocean/beach.
-The children, me and my wife loved the Barcy Kids Club. Kids enjoyed it and it gave me and my wife a chance for some alone time knowing the kids were in good hands.
-Beach is amazing.
-Snorkeling the live coral reef right in front of the resort is incredible.. saw sea turtles, sting rays, an eel, brittle star fish, crabs and so many fish that I don't even know the names of.
-Scuba diving with Dressel divers located on site with reasonable rates and some really they have great dive sights.
-Japanese and Mexican a la carte restaurants were great, Steakhouse was OK.
-Buffet restaurants are close to pools and beach.
-Pools were clean and plentiful and they all had swim-up bars.
-Free scuba demos daily in the pools for my wife and older kids.
-All the bars had self-serve Corona Light on tap.
-Grounds were meticulously maintained.
-Staff was very friendly and courteous.
-Mini fridge was well stocked every day.
-Beds were very comfortable, I heard they had replaced them in the past year. Both my wife and I thought they were much more comfortable than last year.
-No issues with the AC.
-Proximity of the resort to all the major excursions. We did Tulum on our own for only $13/person.
-No one pitching time shares or pedaling junk on the beach.

Dislikes
-Food at the buffets was good but very repetitive.
-A lot of people were saving chairs around the pools with towels and would not be there to use them for several hours. Getting chairs on the beach was never a problem.
-Evening shows every night, but they started too late...9:30.
-Shopping at the gift shops and the small shopping center was a little pricey, especially the gift shops.
-Needed more bar tenders at the swim-up pool bars, I was glad to be a beer drinker with the self-serve taps.

In all, we had a great stay and are already planning a 3rd return trip for January. For the price, this resort delivers far more than what you pay for and I would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone. Looking at some of the other negative reviews, and keeping in mind that thousands of people stay there, I'm sure Barcelo will not meet the expectations of every single guest. I researched countless resorts before deciding on this one, and there's not a resort out there that doesn't have any 1 star ratings.

Room Tip: Send your email request no more than 7 days in advance and keep request simple and to the point. Choose a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor get a better veiw and cut down the hallway noise.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank UpstateNewY0rker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2016

Dear guest,

Many thanks for your full review and your comments which are very important for us. We invite you to visit our website to know the new Barceló Maya Caribe

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We have just returned and were staying in the Carbe we upgraded to Premium in the UK and i would highly recommend this, we booked restaurants for 9 out of 14 nights and can not fault any of them. The beach is fantastic and we never had any problems getting sunbeds round the pool or on the beach whatever time of the day.I did find that tipping was expected so allow at least another £100 for this if you are going for 2 weeks. I would recommend you take US Dollars with you and get plenty of $1 bills. anything you buy from the shops in any of the hotels you sign for and it goes on your room number so you only need the dollars for tips.
We went to relax and that is exactly what we did but if you want to be more active there are lots of different activities going on and you have the choice of 4 out of the 5 hotels to watch the shows and eat in. The rooms were cleaned daily and the mini bar was restocked on a daily basis, we also had the luxury of room service so on the first morning when we woke at 3am we rang and had a pot of tea delivered in 15 mins. There is a bus that runs between all the hotels but it is only a 10 min walk from Caribe to Tropical passing the Colonial and you walk through a little market square on the way, this is all on the complex. We had 4 tropical storms while there but everyone just sits in the bars or public areas so a great atmosphere.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank kazza22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2016

Dear kazza22,

Many thanks for your full review and your comments which are very important for us. We invite you to visit our website to know the new Barceló Maya Caribe

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Book our trip through Expedia, this is not our first trip to the Riviera Maya. ( 11 to be exact) If you don't care about service, cleanliness, theft, and be placed at the resort you booked, this is the place for you. We booked to stay at the Barcelo Maya Caribe, when we arrived we were placed at the Barcelo Maya Beach. They say it's the same resort, but I specifically made my reservation for the Caribe. We reserved 2 rooms , one of the rooms air conditioning didn't work very well. Had to ask 3 times for it to be fixed, still wasn't fixed. The rooms are a 2 at best, the food not so good, and the same every day. We were on the ground floor and hung swim trunks out on patio to dry, a pair were stolen the front desk could have cared less. Couldn't even get noticed at the bar to get a drink. Room service is not included their is a charge of like $8.00 per plate. The rooms were musty smelling. We asked for an upgrade since we were not placed where we booked, Barcelo wanted $700.00 to move to the Tropical for 5 nights. If I had booked that resort on Expedia it would have only cost me $190.00 more. Expedia was not willing to compensate for us not being able to stay at the resort we reserved. When we finally went to our room we kept waiting for our luggage, it never came so we went back to the lobby to find it still sitting there. We took it ourselves.Oh, and the pool was always dirty, it looked like they never clean it. Black mold on the grout, bugs and dirt on bottom, and it always looked like that. For the price you pay their are much better places to stay. I can say the ground were pretty and the refrigerator was stocked daily. NEVER EVER AGAIN!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Stacy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2016

Dear Stacy L,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us why our service failed to meet your expectations. We value your preference, and would like to address your concerns as quickly as posible and we look forward to receiving you again in the future. Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews