We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is perfect for relaxation, fun, and family togetherness with no hassle!”
Review of Villas Del Mar

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Aventuras
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villas Del Mar
Reviewed January 31, 2011

Andrew Leigh of Sol Maya Rentals is awesome and the place we rented from him was superb. My family traveled to Puerto Aventuras in December with 3 girls ages 3, 6, and 8. Villa Del Mar is by far the best place as far as convenience and location. The weather was fabulous, the condo was clean and beautiful, and Andrew Leigh made everything smooth and easy. We were safe, the girls had kids to play with, and the parents were happy. We did not have to walk far for anything. EASY vacation! Wish I could do it every year!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank akeske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 107 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2010

Been to the Riviera Maya area many times but this was our first time in Puerto Aventuras. What a great little town...nice restaurants, excellent location for trips to PDC, Tulum and Akumal...great snorkeling out toward the reef.
We stayed in E101 booked through Gina (Puerto Rentals) and loved it. Large, ground floor condo overlooking the spectacular (and never crowded!) pool. The location is furthest from the beach with no ocean view but the grounds were impecably maintained by the groundskeepers.
The condo was spacious, comfortable and very nicely decorated and had everything we needed (except WiFi would have been nice). The tiny ants in the kitchen/bathrooms were a bit of a nuisance but I assume that being on the ground floor was partly to blame. Maid service came 2x while we were there. Having a washer/dryer in the condo was great - less to pack!
I'm glad there was a US movie channel as my kids did enjoy some "down time" watching movies - we occasionally put on the news (New York stations). The patio was great - listening to music and just relaxing.
The beach area was nice w/lots of palapas for shade...and always guarded. A nice big protected lagoon is perfect if you have little ones. We had drinks at Omni our first day and were not impressed w/the quality for the hotel prices! However, we had lunch on our last day and enjoyed the tacos. Enjoyed seviche from many places there - all great...
We will likely return to PA and if we do, we wouldn't stay anyplace other than VDM!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lsnyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2010

We spent the week after Christmas at VDM C305. We rented the 3 bedroom/3.5 bath unit through Andrew Leigh at Sol Maya Rentals. The unit is actually managed by Coldwell Banker.
The unit itself is in need of a facelift. We were comfortable in it, but upgrading certain things would make it nicer. The view was fabulous as it sits beachfront. The VDM property is nice. It's secluded, quiet and family friendly. The Omni hotel is next door which makes it nice for eating, tours and we participated in their New Years Eve party.
The town of Puerto Aventurous is quaint and easily accessible. It has everything you need except a big grocery store.
Working with Andrew Leigh was delightful. One of the best amenities he offers is "grocery stocking". I gave him my list and our condo was stocked before we arrived!! We were set for a week and didn't have to make a cab trip to a store in Playa! Andrew promptly took care of any problems or concerns we had with the unit. His dedication to customer service is apparent when working with him.

Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
3  Thank tbrash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2010

We just returned from a week in Puerto Aventuras, we had 2 families with 5 teens between us, it was a great week for all of us! We rented condos at Villa Del Mar thru Andrew Leigh at
Sol Maya Rentals, he was great to work with and very helpful in all aspects of our trip, good tips on restaurants, helpful with the condo's, advice on sightseeing and even found us a van large enough to transport our group of 9 to Playa Del Carmen for dinner! Can't say enough about Andrew, he was geat to work with and I would highly recommend using Sol Maya Vacation Rentals.
We loved Puerto, it was a quiet, relaxing vacation spot. Not for spring breakers or those wanting wild night life, but perfect for some serious r and r. Villa Del Mar is a beautiful condo complex, huge pool and a white sand beach with plenty of beach chairs. The grounds are so nice and it was not crowded at all, even though it was Christmas week. There is plenty to do if you want it, Playa is only 20 minutes away, as it Tulum. In Puerto there are wonderful restaurants and shops, sports bars, a convenience store, a huge marina, great for walking and people watching and the dolphins(a swim with the dolphins is a must!) all a 5 minute walk from our condo, and it is very safe. Our kids wandered around Puerto without any concern or problems, it is a great little "town center". Also try out the swim up jacuzzi bar on the beach at the Omni Hotel - wonderful!
Restaurants we enjoyed: The Pub, Dos Chiles, and Cafe Ole,
all inexpensive and great food, outdoor dining. We hope to return, it was an easy, relaxing vacation and just what we needed!

3  Thank AABS42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2010

Just returning from Villa del Mar. Gina at Puerto Rentals (just google Gina Puerto Rentals and you can find her) hooked us up as always (she's helped us four times before).

First, Villa del Mar is the best place in Puerto, period. The center of town is right across the street. The pool is also the best, with shallow areas for kids. The beach is perfect, groomed and nice and shallow to wade into. I always take the kids walking on the rocks, and there are tidal pools along the way, great for spotting small fish, snails and, my favorite, the 2 and 3 foot long iguanas sunning themselves early in the morning.

Area is completely safe at all hours, and very convenient to the market, and just a five minute walk to the Pemex and Taco Paco (make the walk!).

And the condos... spectacular. We've stayed in two in Villa del Mar and this was our favorite. View of the pool and ocean, ground level so the kids can just roll out to the pool. Hot tub and gas grill on the deck. Satellite TV (limited channels, but who cares), great kitchen, washer, dryer and extremely comfortable beds, along with really nice bathrooms.

This is just perfect for families. Views, location, safe, and just run to the market or the Wal-mart in Playa del Carmen for groceries and just camp, sun and enjoy! We go back every year and are already counting the days to go back again.

For a side trip for a day, rent a cabana lounger at Al Cielo, 5 km south of Puerto. Good beach service, spectacular beach, not crowded, and an on site massage spa on the beach for $50/hr. Lunch is utterly spectucular as well (get the whole fish cooked in sea salt or the paella, can't go wrong with either).

Still loving Puerto, particularly this condo.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank unclejohann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2009

Condo 101 in the Villa de Mar 2 complex is amazing, we had the best location in the complex to both the pool and beach. The condo itself was very large, huge bedrooms, spotless, and had everything we needed. It was really nice to arrive and have a welcome basket with goodies for the first few days and enough bottle water to last us through out the stay. There was nothing better than going to bed and hear the waves and then waking up to them in the morning. The patio and grass area in front to the beach was a great place to spend the day away, close enough to fridge and at the same time by the beach! We were that close. Walking the 5 minutes to town along the sandy beach was heaven, morning, afternoon and night. So peaceful and safe! The village was a great place to go to for snacks, meals or just to listen the entertainment throughout at all the little resturants. Wonderful to be outside.This is a place we cannot wait to go back to, if you get a chance to stay here don't miss out. If is fabulous!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank victoriasunlover65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2009

We stayed in unit 403E through Coldwell Banker and it was immaculate. We have two daughters, 19 and 14 and it worked out great. The pool was excellent, but I think they have recently installed a sandbag about 15 feet from the shore for the purposes of erosion control and in my opinion it has runined the beach, which was also very stinky. My girls like to ride boogie boards and this was not possible. We ate at many of the restaurants in the area and Si Si Si was our favorite. It is air conditioned and there was so much food. The dinner entrees can actually be shared by 2. We even went back for breakfast one morning and it was great. We did not care for the service or food at Richards. Cafe Ole was very good. The Pub was OK but our least favorite was Accentos. The Bamboo Cafe had great little desserts and drinks. The swine flu warnings left the area nearly deserted for much of our 5 night stay. We did not do the Dolphin Swim in the marina but we enjoyed observing them and taking pictures. My husband golfed at the club and it was $100 and he reported the course as fair. Overall, a great family place where you will feel very safe.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mathmuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Aventuras hotels
0.3 mi away
LM by Inmense
LM by Inmense
#1 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
267 reviews
0.1 mi away
Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Resort
Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Reso...
#13 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
586 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Barcelo Maya Palace
Barcelo Maya Palace
#6 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
7,425 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
#4 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
10,119 reviews
1.2 mi away
Barcelo Maya Colonial
Barcelo Maya Colonial
#5 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
6,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Del Mar

Address: Condominio Qunita Luna | Calle Bahia Yanten, s/n, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Aventuras
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Villas Del Mar Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Villas Del Mar Riviera Maya/Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing