We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Puerto Aventuras
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (12,940)
Filter reviews
12,942 results
Traveler rating
7,246
3,380
1,265
570
481
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
7,246
3,380
1,265
570
481
Show reviews that mention
All reviews maya beach coba building fish spanish restaurant playa del carmen rancho grande other resorts beach buffet a la carte restaurants captain morgans beach section lobby bar mini golf beautiful resort buffet food steak palm trees
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 12,942 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a top-notch resort. I will most definitely return. Beautiful, clean, good food, comfy beds, great pools and beaches. Very nice! Plenty of good restaurants for dinner, great breakfast and evening buffet too. Loved the restaurant near the pool for midday. All resorts within Barcelo Grand are in close proximity making it easy to use the amenities without walking too far, also have shuttle buses to take you. You won't regret staying here.

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank cmaschino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear cmaschino,

We would like to express our gratitude for the comments you have made on your recent visit to Barceló Maya Beach. This way can understand, how our guests have fully enjoyed their stay. Our main goal is to achieve the maximum satisfaction of our customers, we are so glad we have achieved this with you.
Once again, we appreciate your valuable opinion, we hope we can have the pleasure of having you back very soon.

Yours Truly,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Amazing place for kids and it was a lot of fun for the family!!! Brenda, Alin, Nestor, Armando and Fernando were awesome and lot of help!!! Highly recommend this place to all people that visit this resort.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Michael J,

We would like to express our gratitude for the comments you have made on your recent visit to Barceló Maya Beach. This way can understand, how our guests have fully enjoyed their stay. Our main goal is to achieve the maximum satisfaction of our customers, we are so glad we have achieved this with you.
Once again, we appreciate your valuable opinion, we hope we can have the pleasure of having you back very soon.

Yours Truly,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I visited the resort for our first trip to Mexico. Check in service was quick, hotel room was clean and comfortable and perfect temperature. Resort was clean, staff are so friendly, food was amazing with lots to choose from even for picky eaters! Coffee was good (no cream though). Beach was clean and beautiful. This would be a great place for families with children and couples too! Nice relaxing atmosphere. I only have positive things to say with this resort! Glad we chose this location and we will be back!!!

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Kkkkk14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Kkkkk14,

It is a great honor to read your comments. We always strive to provide our guests with the highest levels of satisfaction and we are pleased to know that we achieve this goal with you. Knowing that their holidays have left them satisfied makes us feel very proud of our hotel and staff who make everything possible.

It was a pleasure to host your vacation and we hope you will provide us with an opportunity to assist you again on your next vacation.

Warm Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Well to start there is no Canadian rye whiskey like Crown Royal or Canadian Club etc... The whole alcohol thing at this place is just lousy. All the drinks we had where like drinking sweet water. For $ 500.00 bucks a day it just seems a little to much for none alcoholic drinks and no free wifi except at a mall. The rooms are nice but not very sound proof, our toilet keep running so we had it " fixed" 4 times. Had to ask for face clothes 3 times. TV has very few channels that are English. In a nutshell We will not be going here again. We have been to the Mexico 6 times and except for this trip all other resorts were great. What raw_banana_travels wrote is my exact words.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 390davej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,


Thank you for your contact, we are sorry that you left with this negative view of our property that not allowed you to fully enjoy your Vacation.

I can let you know that all guest comments whether negative or positive are very important to us, as they show us the areas that we need to improve.

We will be happy to receive you again one day with a guarantee that we can exceed your expectations.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We chose this resort because we wanted to stay for 2 weeks and this being a huge resort, it turned out to be a great choice as there are a lot of things to do here. For the first time we didn't even need to leave the resort to do extra activities. The rooms were a little dated, but not unusual for Mexico. The coffee here is no good, unless you go to Lobby bar or Sports bar where they have Espresso machines. The food at buffet was mediocre, however, the A la cartes were probably some of the best we had in Mexico. Particularly the Santa Fe steakhouse and the Tokyo or Kyoto (both Japanese Teppanyaki) were superb. But what made our stay memorable was the service from some of the staff. Ivan at Beach buffet provided us with excellent and friendly service, while Carmen at front desk/guest services helped us and solved any problems we had (could be because she loved our 2 kids ...just kidding, she was just awesome. When we were leaving, she wanted a picture with our kids (pic attached in post). We would be definitely come back here again.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank NickB3354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear NickB3354,

Thank you for choosing Barceló Maya Beach as your vacation resort and the time you have taken to share your impressions about your stay.

I can let you know that all guest comments whether negative or positive are very important to us, as they show us the areas that we need to improve.

We will be pleased to serve you again in the future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews