We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lobby and Premium Rooms are best.”
Review of Barcelo Maya Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Barcelo Maya Beach
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Premium rooms are called ocean front but there are many palm trees, and either a pool or a building between those rooms and the beach. Premium rooms are very nice, new, and updated. Others are dated. Workout area is under a palapa with rusted weights, old equipment and the cardio area is inside an airconditioned room. However, one elliptical machine and 5 treadmills--2 of which didn't work. Many paths and sidewalks to run/walk on the property. Food in the buffet near the lobby was good with lots of variety. Wonderful fruit smoothies at breakfast and lunch. Bus stop right outside property so easy and cheap ride to Playa del Carmen ($3 per person). Taxi was $60 plus. Beach is nice, easy access, uncrowded--many palm trees for shade. Large pool but no "adult only" pool. Construction going on in early July but was not very disruptive. Music plays on speakers constantly at pool area--morning to night--can be annoying when you just want to hear sea breezes. Nothing much for teens to do. Free snorkel equipment but only for an hour and always none available when we checked. Supposed to have beach volleyball but said too windy everyday we were there. Last negative thing is that rooms can be loud as hallways are open and tiled. Overall, would visit hotel again.

Room Tip: Tulum building has no beach view period.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JCHSVball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

JCHS ball; Thank you so much for sharing your impressions about Barcelo Maya Beach Resort, especially your comments regarding the status of the equipment at the gym, we will certainly use this information to improve this area.

We always try to do our best to satisfy our guests and make their vacation enjoyable, I would also like to assure you that guest feedback is very important for us, and wherever possible we are happy to listen and learn.

We remain at your service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (8,715)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,511 - 1,517 of 8,716 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2014

room is spacious. beach is beautiful. food is good and tequila is great. the only down fall is that not everything is inluded. got to pay for disco, for premium tequila (wwe never had to nowhere else). We are still in room 1166 in the Tulum complexe away from the music and it i fine with us. We still have 5 days to go and we know we will enjoy every minutes. Got a room on the first floor and it has no bug which was our fear. The waiters are very friendly.
One thing that make it special is the napkins. I know it sounds crazy but they smell clean !! Never in any other hotel (and we made lots) has thy smelled so good. Sign of cleanliness.

Room Tip: anywhere will be nearr by walking distance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank isab2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

isab2009; Thank you for sharing your impressions regarding your stay at Barcelo Maya Beach Resort, we are glad you enjoyed many aspects of the property and service, it is only through customer feedback, both negative and positive that are we able to improve our services.

Our goal remains that of serving all of our guests to the best of our ability, to ensure that we are creating unforgettable experiences.

We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

This is the first all included property I've stayed with. Service, food and drinks were excellent. And it was in fact ALL included. Didn't even stamp my credit card. Great looking beach with plenty of room. We had a great time.

Room Tip: Family or couples destination. Well prepared for international travelers - German, French, Russian...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Young0065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Young0065; Thank you for choosing Barceló Maya Beach as your vacation resort, we are glad you have enjoyed your stay with us and share your impressions with the Tripadvisor users.

We will be pleased to serve you again in the future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We stayed 2 weeks at Barcelo Maya Beach from June - June 26, 2014. The overall experience is very good but not great. The check in was quick and smooth, We got room that we requested at the time of booking, no questions asked.

The resort grounds are exceptionally clean and well kept. The beach is fantastic. White powdery sand, lots of palm trees for the shade and plenty of sun beds.

We had a room on the second floor in Uxmal building and we had no issues with it what so ever. The room was cleaned every day and the fridge was stocked twice a day. The staff was friendly and professional.

First week we were there the food @ the buffet restaurant was way better than we anticipated. You could tell that food was made fresh every day and there was a lot to chose from even for the pickiest eaters.

The second week things got little busier at the resort and this is where things started falling through the cracks. The food didn't taste so good any more and you could tell it was prepared well in advance. It was more difficult to get clean table and you had to wait for the service.

There are only 2 a la carte restaurants and we didn't like either one of them. The food tasted like it was cooked two days ago and just re-heated in the microwave.

Lobby bar was consistently good in therms of quality of drinks, coffee and overall service.
We had no issues with the safety. I had a haircut at the spa and it was okay experience but nothing out of the ordinary.

The evening shows at the theatre exceeded our expectations. The production was on much higher level than one would expect at the place like this.

If you are a beach lover, this resort is for you. The beach is gorgeous and it`s only few steps away from any room in any building.

We made a mistake and booked a trip to Playa Del Carmen via Lapis Jewellery. That was to say the least not so nice experience. They keep you there for good hour trying to sell you overpriced silver. The sales people are very pushy and they make you feel very uncomfortable .
In the summary we had a very nice vacation and we would not mind going back to this resort.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Terra S; Thank you for choosing Barcelo Maya Beach as your vacation resort, we are happy that we have exceeded your expectations and you have enjoyed the property and services.

Guest feedback is very important for us, and wherever possible we are happy to listen and learn.

We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We are regular patrons of Barcelo, particularly Barcelo Maya Beach, we have become friends with some of the staff as we see some of the same faces, which makes for a fun vacation. This time however, there was a major ....huge...issue. IT WAS THE CONSTRUCTION at the Barcelo Maya Caribe....we got informed 1 day before departure of "enhancements", when it was in fact...a complete tear down and rebuilding of the hotel and grounds. From approximately 7am to 8pm or later every night, we were inundated with noise from construction. There was no escaping it, despite the CANVAS wall they had erected, really do not know what they expected that wall to do!!!!...Made for a very noisy....and unpleasant vacation.

The food was another story, loved the breakfast buffer.....but the lunch and dinner buffetts left a lot to be desired....when one goes to Mexico, it would be nice to see some MEXICAN FOOD....such as casadilla's, taco's. burrito's, ....they did have what they referred to as theme nights.....such as Italian....Spanish....French...and so on....but these nights were simply :(inundated with sea food....One would think when you mention Italian night.....Lasagna.....or pasta would be the main dishes??? Or french onion soup on French night no??? Three nites out of the 7 we spent there, we did not eat dinner at all.....:(, We are not picky eaters, but can only say that the food was ......AWFUL...

This was our 4th trip in a 3 year period, and this was the one, where I can say, not sure I will go back there again....I was not happy about not being told about the construction, and the food....well lost 4lbs .....due to not having lunch or dinner on most days....

Room Tip: Ask for upgraded room,....or updated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 156BethM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

156BethM; Many thanks for your contact and your comments regarding our services.
We are very pleased that you continue to enjoy your stays and thank you for your continued patronage of Barcelo Maya Beach Resort, however we would like to apologize because this time we were not up to the standards you would have liked.

We regret the inconveniences caused due to the information you received previous to your arrival. We had advised our travel partners in March that Barceló Maya Caribe hotel would be closing for renovations in May of this year and all our regular services are functioning as normal.

Guest comments are a useful tool for us to improve our services and we always treat them seriosly and take appropriate action to continue to better ourselves day by day.

We remain at your services.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stayed there for 8 days in Junior suite that apparently was renovated. Still, the water did not drain in the shower and leaked everywhere. We had to put towels on the floors every time after shower in order to stop the leaks from spreading into the room. The maintenance could not fix it. For more then $250/night I expect the room to be cleaned every day. Apparently the hotel does not think so. If I did not call for cleaning the room was not cleaned.
The acoustics are bad. When the room above flushes the toilet it sounds like it's in your room. The noise from the hallway is very strong.
We met some guests that got the regular room and we were fed horror stories about not working AC, bad smells in the rooms and rude service.
Hotel has about 5 restaurants besides the buffet that was not good. But it was very hard to get reservations into these restaurants.
The service was not attentive and not really friendly. It looked that the preference was given more to Spanish speaking guests.
At some point we we were not allowed to enter the buffet for lunch because we came from the pool with our bathing suits and shirts covering them, the staff claimed that they looked too damp for them.
I am sure that for this kind of money there are better places to stay.

Room Tip: If you decide to come make sure to stay only in a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Baruch G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Baruch G; Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at Barcelo Maya Beach Resort, I am sorry that on this occasion the non intentional inconveniences in your room have not allowed you to fully enjoy your Vacation.

Guest comments whether negative or positive are very important to us and a useful tool that show us the areas that we need to improve.

I am sorry that we were not able to find a suitable compensation for you on this occasion, our main goal is to make sure that all our guests leave with wonderful memories of their stay here and wanting to return.

We will be happy to have the opportunity to host you again one day with a guarantee that we can exceed your expectations.

We remain at your service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

I traveled to Barcelo Maya Beach with a large group for a family member's wedding in January. We had some issues checking in, as they had complications sorting out who was in which hotel (between Beach and Caribe). When they finally figured out where we should be, our room wasn't ready.
Aside from the issues at check-in, we had a very nice time. The room and the resort were clean. The pools and beach were gorgeous. It was easy to find a lounger or a hammock in the shade or in the sun. The serving staff was attentive and friendly. I wasn't crazy about the food at the buffet after the 3rd day, but there was always lots of fruits and vegetables and the A la Carte was really good.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gdwas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

gdwas; Many thanks for your comments, we are sorry for any inconvenience caused but glad that you enjoyed many aspects of you Vacation with us. Guest comments are a useful tool for us to improve our services and we always treat them seriously and take appropriate action to continue to better ourselves day by day.

we remain at your service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Maya Palace
Barcelo Maya Palace
#6 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
7,590 reviews
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Maya Colonial
Barcelo Maya Colonial
#5 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
6,188 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Barcelo Maya Caribe
#12 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
3,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,918 reviews
10.8 mi away
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
#71 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
13,449 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
#4 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
10,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Maya Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Maya Beach

Address: Carretera Chetumal Puerto Juarez Km. 266,3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Barcelo Maya Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#7 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range: $208 - $544 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Maya Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 630
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Barcelo Maya Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Maya Beach
Barcelo Maya Palace
Barcelo Maya Mexico
Barcelo Maya Resort
Catalonia Rivera Maya
Maya Beach Resort
Barcelo Beach Maya Mayan Resort Riviera
Barcelo Maya Beach Resort Cancun
Barcelo Maya Beach Riviera Maya/Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing