We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barcelo Maya Beach Caribe”
Review of Barcelo Maya Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Barcelo Maya Beach
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great value for adult(6) family vacation ages 19-59.Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Barcelo Maya Beach Caribe- June 16-23, 2013. Upside: beautiful grounds, intimate setting, pools (daily entertainment and music) comfortable beds and rooms; BEST section of the beach, white sand, clean and smooth; several excursion options fairly priced; buffet and restaurant service excellent - courteous, friendly and respectful. Downside: limited restaurant choices (Spanish, Mexican & Steakhouse) during remodel; housekeeping & repairs inconsistent; be mindful of paying for excursion at front desk-they will "modify" the exchange rate. Read mixed reviews but found an unofficial web site for hotel hosted by repeat travelers who love the Barcelo. Great tips and lots of information. unofficial-barcelo-maya.com

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CFB2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (8,470)
There are newer reviews for Barcelo Maya Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,645 - 1,651 of 8,470 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

First trip to the Mayan Riviera, and thought this might be a nice little hotel complex to check out. Turned out to be one of my best decisions for destination. Great hotel, tons of things to do, very clean, very friendly staff, excellent place. Going to take my family there again.

Room Tip: there is no such thing as a bad room at this place =)
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ladygrizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2017

Dear ladtgrizz, We would like to thank you for choosing Barcelo Maya Beach. We wish to welcome you back some other time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We spent 7 days with our 5 yr old grandson at the Barcelo Maya Colonial Beach Resort and had a wonderful experience overall. The check in process was a bit rough as it was somewhat time consuming and a little disorganized. The grounds were very well maintained, the shows each evening very entertaining and the beach beautiful. The buffet wasn't the best I've had in my travels to Mexico, but still very good. Our grandson loved the kid pool area (although they close it at 6pm every night, which is a bit early for vacationers). All of the staff were outstanding - very friendly and always eager to help.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

It's the right place to spend a holiday, relax and do lots of activities like gym, swimming and snorkeling. The restaurants were very good, I enjoyed the Japanese one best. The shows were fantastic, the staff friendly and helpful. There are also many interesting places to visit at a reasonable distance. I wouldn't recommend Sian Kan, it's too far and the journey is very uncomfortable.

Room Tip: higher floors are cleaner
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mayamaya2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Always a crap shot when booking a holiday for the first time in a resort for mega bucks....and then to read the really mixed reviews, we thought maybe we had made a mistake. NOT AT ALL!
The Maya Beach Resort was wonderful.....a true paradise. So maybe the booze was not top shelf. After your first mosquito coast, it no longer mattered. Food was great, especially in the speciality restaurants; our favourite was the Japanese! Our room was more than adequate on the ground floor. The grounds were beautiful; a true garden. Birds everywhere. The white sand beach was super; a few rocks here and there but fish and turtles in the crystal clear warm water. The staff was friendly, courteous and respectful. Shows in the theatre were fun. Access by excursion to Xcaret, Tulum, Coba and Chichèn Itzà was easy and fairly priced. For two weeks in the sun, we got real value.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room, ideally not next to the theatre (although it quiets down quickly after...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anthonyo62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2017

Dear Anthonyo62,

We wish to welcome you back some other time.

Warmest Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

2 weeks in Barcelo Maya Beach Caribe hotel
Limited services as they closed 1 restaurant while we were there, from choice of 3, of the remaining 2. only Don Quiotte any good, Captaim Morgan which served traditional ' Mexican' in the evening was like dinning in Iceland food. For non-UK residents it means processed frozen rubbish re-heated .
Great location , expect to tip to get decent service. But small amounts fine.
VERY expensive in on site shops/GP clinic , £10.00 for small pack painkillers.
Only 1 bar in reception , unless u upgrade ( 300 per 2 week stay) to allow entry to other areas on resort site.
Would I recommend? If you don't care about food, and only there for sunshine , ok, otherwise , book tropical rather than Caribe, different standard .
Best bit? Beach , lovely. But beware of building works going on 2013x

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We just spent 7 days as a family at the Barcelo Maya Colonial Beach Resort and came away having a great experience overall. The check in process was a bit rough, and getting portacribs for grandkids almost took an act of Congress. Also we had to change rooms because our first one really smelled of mold. After that, the trip was terrific. Kids and grandkids LOVED the beach, the buffets were good, the specialty restaurants in the evenings were terrific and the friendliness of the housekeeping and restaurant staff was outstanding. This was our second trip to the Barcelo Maya, the first being 11 years ago, and we will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank b0b2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Maya Palace
Barcelo Maya Palace
#6 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
7,060 reviews
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Maya Colonial
Barcelo Maya Colonial
#5 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
5,952 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Barcelo Maya Caribe
#12 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
3,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,717 reviews
16.9 mi away
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
#71 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
12,900 reviews
154.0 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Maya Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Maya Beach

Address: Carretera Chetumal Puerto Juarez Km. 266,3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Barcelo Maya Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#7 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range: $178 - $477 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Maya Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 630
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Barcelo Maya Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Maya Beach
Barcelo Maya Palace
Barcelo Maya Mexico
Barcelo Maya Resort
Catalonia Rivera Maya
Maya Beach Resort
Barcelo Beach Maya Mayan Resort Riviera
Barcelo Maya Beach Resort Cancun
Barcelo Maya Beach Riviera Maya/Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing