We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tequila boom boom” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Barcelo Maya Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Barcelo Maya Beach
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Pompeii, Italy
Level Contributor
90 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“tequila boom boom”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

It's the right place to spend a holiday, relax and do lots of activities like gym, swimming and snorkeling. The restaurants were very good, I enjoyed the Japanese one best. The shows were fantastic, the staff friendly and helpful. There are also many interesting places to visit at a reasonable distance. I wouldn't recommend Sian Kan, it's too far and the journey is very uncomfortable.

Room Tip: higher floors are cleaner
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mayamaya2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,948
    2,157
    725
    329
    229
See reviews for
2,504
2,661
67
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (616)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Granville Ferry
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Always a crap shot when booking a holiday for the first time in a resort for mega bucks....and then to read the really mixed reviews, we thought maybe we had made a mistake. NOT AT ALL!
The Maya Beach Resort was wonderful.....a true paradise. So maybe the booze was not top shelf. After your first mosquito coast, it no longer mattered. Food was great, especially in the speciality restaurants; our favourite was the Japanese! Our room was more than adequate on the ground floor. The grounds were beautiful; a true garden. Birds everywhere. The white sand beach was super; a few rocks here and there but fish and turtles in the crystal clear warm water. The staff was friendly, courteous and respectful. Shows in the theatre were fun. Access by excursion to Xcaret, Tulum, Coba and Chichèn Itzà was easy and fairly priced. For two weeks in the sun, we got real value.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room, ideally not next to the theatre (although it quiets down quickly after...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anthonyo62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

2 weeks in Barcelo Maya Beach Caribe hotel
Limited services as they closed 1 restaurant while we were there, from choice of 3, of the remaining 2. only Don Quiotte any good, Captaim Morgan which served traditional ' Mexican' in the evening was like dinning in Iceland food. For non-UK residents it means processed frozen rubbish re-heated .
Great location , expect to tip to get decent service. But small amounts fine.
VERY expensive in on site shops/GP clinic , £10.00 for small pack painkillers.
Only 1 bar in reception , unless u upgrade ( 300 per 2 week stay) to allow entry to other areas on resort site.
Would I recommend? If you don't care about food, and only there for sunshine , ok, otherwise , book tropical rather than Caribe, different standard .
Best bit? Beach , lovely. But beware of building works going on 2013x

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We just spent 7 days as a family at the Barcelo Maya Colonial Beach Resort and came away having a great experience overall. The check in process was a bit rough, and getting portacribs for grandkids almost took an act of Congress. Also we had to change rooms because our first one really smelled of mold. After that, the trip was terrific. Kids and grandkids LOVED the beach, the buffets were good, the specialty restaurants in the evenings were terrific and the friendliness of the housekeeping and restaurant staff was outstanding. This was our second trip to the Barcelo Maya, the first being 11 years ago, and we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank b0b2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

We went there with my wife and friends we spend there only 12 days but we had great time!!
Best of that resort was Beach and Hotel staff!! That was the first hotel where my wife was happy bout room straight away(no harm:) food was very good specially in them al carte restaurant:) sea food restaurant was excellent:)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lukasz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Check-in was quick. Room super clean. Beach totally amazing.
Service wasmvery good ans the food was out of this world.
We definetelly plan to return. I strongly recomend this resort for families. My son had a wonderful at the waterpark.
We booked some excursion with Best Days Travel. Ernesto Rosado gave us such a great service and tips. Ask for him!

Room Tip: If you plan going to the Barcelo Beach (instead of Caribe, Colonial, etc) try to request Uxmal build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Federico P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

My husband and I traveled with two other couples to this resort. Based on the price, resort credits (which are just useless discount coupons on overpriced items) and beach location we selected the Barcelo Beach.
Well....we ended up arriving very late due to an airline delay. I thought we were getting a room upgrade to a junior suite using our "resort credit" however the price of our free upgade would cost us 1700 additional dollars...NOT!! We ended up just taking what we had booked with no checkin upgrades ( which were being pushed! ) The first room we were given was a Horror!! Room 2122 smelled so bad of mold that my throat burned, the air conditioning did not work nor did the ceiling fan and the toilet was running...Noooo!! By now it is about 1:30 in the morning and I am told I need to sleep there tonight and get a new room in the morning...NOT!! As soon as I asked for a supervisor suddenly a room became available. Our new room was great (Thank God!!)
Everything after checkin and getting our new room was pretty great.
The property was beautiful, I always found yummy food on the buffet, we went to one A La Carte dinner at the steak house and pretty much blew off the other two, the beach was Amazing!!! They do however need new beach chairs a great deal of them are very hard to maneuver (broken). No food available on the beach or by the pool which was a bummer!
But overall knowing the ins and outs now, we would all visit this property again!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LivinLaDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Maya Palace
Barcelo Maya Palace
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,334 reviews
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Barcelo Maya Caribe
#13 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,754 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Maya Colonial
Barcelo Maya Colonial
#3 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#4 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,953 reviews
10.6 mi away
Occidental at  Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destinatio...
#70 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,897 reviews
10.7 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barcelo Maya Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barcelo Maya Beach

Property: Hotel Barcelo Maya Beach
Address: Carretera Chetumal Puerto Juarez Km. 266,3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#7 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Barcelo Maya Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 630
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Barcelo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Barcelo Maya Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Maya Beach
Barcelo Maya Palace
Barcelo Maya Mexico
Barcelo Maya Resort
Catalonia Rivera Maya
Maya Beach Resort
Barcelo Beach Maya Mayan Resort Riviera
Barcelo Maya Beach Resort Cancun
Hotel Barcelo Maya Beach Riviera Maya/Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing