We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Started out rough but ended up great” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Barcelo Maya Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Barcelo Maya Beach
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Started out rough but ended up great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We just spent 7 days as a family at the Barcelo Maya Colonial Beach Resort and came away having a great experience overall. The check in process was a bit rough, and getting portacribs for grandkids almost took an act of Congress. Also we had to change rooms because our first one really smelled of mold. After that, the trip was terrific. Kids and grandkids LOVED the beach, the buffets were good, the specialty restaurants in the evenings were terrific and the friendliness of the housekeeping and restaurant staff was outstanding. This was our second trip to the Barcelo Maya, the first being 11 years ago, and we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank b0b2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,943
    2,156
    724
    329
    229
See reviews for
2,504
2,656
67
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (616)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

We went there with my wife and friends we spend there only 12 days but we had great time!!
Best of that resort was Beach and Hotel staff!! That was the first hotel where my wife was happy bout room straight away(no harm:) food was very good specially in them al carte restaurant:) sea food restaurant was excellent:)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lukasz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Check-in was quick. Room super clean. Beach totally amazing.
Service wasmvery good ans the food was out of this world.
We definetelly plan to return. I strongly recomend this resort for families. My son had a wonderful at the waterpark.
We booked some excursion with Best Days Travel. Ernesto Rosado gave us such a great service and tips. Ask for him!

Room Tip: If you plan going to the Barcelo Beach (instead of Caribe, Colonial, etc) try to request Uxmal build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Federico P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

My husband and I traveled with two other couples to this resort. Based on the price, resort credits (which are just useless discount coupons on overpriced items) and beach location we selected the Barcelo Beach.
Well....we ended up arriving very late due to an airline delay. I thought we were getting a room upgrade to a junior suite using our "resort credit" however the price of our free upgade would cost us 1700 additional dollars...NOT!! We ended up just taking what we had booked with no checkin upgrades ( which were being pushed! ) The first room we were given was a Horror!! Room 2122 smelled so bad of mold that my throat burned, the air conditioning did not work nor did the ceiling fan and the toilet was running...Noooo!! By now it is about 1:30 in the morning and I am told I need to sleep there tonight and get a new room in the morning...NOT!! As soon as I asked for a supervisor suddenly a room became available. Our new room was great (Thank God!!)
Everything after checkin and getting our new room was pretty great.
The property was beautiful, I always found yummy food on the buffet, we went to one A La Carte dinner at the steak house and pretty much blew off the other two, the beach was Amazing!!! They do however need new beach chairs a great deal of them are very hard to maneuver (broken). No food available on the beach or by the pool which was a bummer!
But overall knowing the ins and outs now, we would all visit this property again!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LivinLaDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

The hotel is huge, it is amazing to think how complicated it must be to run a place like this. Check-in took a long time (1h30), even when we had booked a Premium Club room and had a separate check-in desk. Once we got to our room and luggage was delivered, we went downstairs at 5:15 p.m. to get something to eat. Surprise! EVERY SINGLE RESTAURANT/SNACK BAR/BUFFET in the complex was closed. We could not believe it. We had 4 starving children after a 4 hour drive, and by 6 p.m. we were all prepared to get our things and leave because of our frustration. Totally surprised that an All Inclusive resort has NO FOOD AT ALL between 5 and 6:30 p.m., which is not what they say when you check in. The worst part was that no one seemed to know that the other restaurants were closed, they kept telling us to walk a little bit further to the next snack bar and see if they had anything. My husband and his brother walked up and down the resort to try to get us something to eat, and after 1 hour of trying to speak to the Manager of the hotel (who was obviously not available) the only response was that we could go back up to our rooms and order room service. This was not what we had in mind when we booked an All Inclusive vacation. This is our second experience with an All Inclusive resort and we confirmed that we are not fans of the concept. Definitely never doing it again. The next day we saw a family of 5 around 5:30 p.m. wandering around and of course they had just arrived and the same thing happened, they wanted something to eat but there was nothing. So this must happen every day, I don't understand why they don't fix it.

Once we were settled and knew that there was no food during those times, it was OK. The beach is really nice (it only has a little bit of algae on the way in, but after a few steps it is super nice). There are many pools to choose from. The kids pool was fun for them (lots of water slides). We would have definitely liked to have pool food and beverage service, since they don't allow people to bring any food item out of the restaurants. We've been to other hotels with the kids and it is always very convenient to order pizza or hotdogs for them to eat poolside whenever they're hungry instead of having to get everyone out of the water, dry them up, dress them, walk to the restaurant and eat there.

The rooms are OK, but the air conditioner is set at 24 degrees FOR EVERYONE, with no chance to change the temperature up or down. We like to sleep with a little colder atmosphere, and didn't appreciate that we didn't have a chance to change it. Someone from maintenance came up and explained that they couldn't change it either.

Our oldest daughter (age 9) went to the kids club but was a bit bored. The activities are OK maybe for younger kids. The thing she loved the most was the kids spa, where they offer many of the things that they do at the adults spa, but for children. She also had her hair braided, which she loves to do when we go to the beach. Prices are ok at both spas.

So overall, average room, average hotel, average food, average vacation experience.

Room Tip: We paid a little extra at booking time for the Premium Club, and we thought it was a good deal. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Elsa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Aurora, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

rooms were far away from everything except the pool....pillow were hard as rocks...if you need a close room...call ahead & pray it works....if you need a electric wheelchair to help you out...bring your own...$60.00-a day......
service was excellent in the restaurants & banquet area......we went for a wedding celebration...the bride was disappointed that the hotel changed some major items going towards the celebration......pool & water was thrilling...

Room Tip: if you need anything special...room...wheelchair...call & recall just before you leave..ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Barcelo Maya Beach Resort. Food was very good, all the selections of different buffets were excellent and access to the water-park was a 5 star bet. If you like walking this is a place for you. You can find anything in this resort, great entertainment; nice beach and a little mall with all you need souvenirs. I would definitely recommend this resort to families with kids.
The only reason this hotel did not get an excellent note from us was poor service when check-in. Switching the room was even more difficult. The ladies at the desc were not friendly and some of them had no idea what they were doing. We had to wait 4 hrs to switch rooms! The room service was not very responsive either. I once asked for juice as the fridge was not refilled that day and we waited 2 hrs to have the juice delivered.

Room Tip: After switching the room we were on the 3rd floor and it was awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BasiaTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Maya Palace
Barcelo Maya Palace
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,325 reviews
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Barcelo Maya Caribe
#13 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,755 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Maya Colonial
Barcelo Maya Colonial
#3 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#4 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,956 reviews
10.6 mi away
Barcelo Occidental at  Xcaret Destination
Barcelo Occidental at Xcaret De...
#70 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,893 reviews
10.7 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barcelo Maya Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barcelo Maya Beach

Property: Hotel Barcelo Maya Beach
Address: Carretera Chetumal Puerto Juarez Km. 266,3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#7 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Barcelo Maya Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 630
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Barcelo so you can book your Hotel Barcelo Maya Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Maya Beach
Barcelo Maya Palace
Barcelo Maya Mexico
Barcelo Maya Resort
Catalonia Rivera Maya
Maya Beach Resort
Barcelo Beach Maya Mayan Resort Riviera
Barcelo Maya Beach Resort Cancun
Hotel Barcelo Maya Beach Riviera Maya/Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing