We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Birthday trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Barcelo Maya Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Barcelo Maya Beach
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
White Rock, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Birthday trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Went for a special birthday, great resort , very clean......Great beaches.Food was great buffets are the best.Activities great, pool bar was great......Will go back again very soon. Would recommend this over and over again. Can not think of one bad thing. Went with agroup of people.The top floor over looking the garden is the best , nice patio with a nice view of the ocean, corner unit........Can I go now

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Valerie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,000
    2,094
    705
    320
    228
See reviews for
2,559
2,563
63
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (592)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

The hotel itself is nice enough, but the staff was less than helpful at all times. Our phones were stolen right out of the safe in our room, which was locked. Some of the hotel staff have access to the safes in case a patron is unable to open the safe. After we realized our phones had been taken we alerted the front desk, this was at about 10:00 pm. No one came to our room until 12:30 am. One front desk employee along with two security employees came to our room and tore it apart making sure we didn't just misplace them. After they tore apart the room, we had to fill out security forms saying what happened, etc. We were supposed to hear back from the hotel within 72 hours after their investigation. They never got back to us and we checked back constantly and all they would say is "we will let you know tomorrow." Almost a week went by and we are back home and have still heard nothing. We had to get our travel agent to try and get us a copy of the security report so we could be reimbursed through our insurance company. It took them over a week to send him a copy.
The staff there do not care one bit about customer service.
Also they failed to inform us our flight was delayed and sent us packing only to show up at a deserted airport at 3:00 am. We spent the night stranded in Cancun with no phones, and no idea what was going on with our flights. Every other person on our flight was informed by their hotel that the flight was cancelled, and allowed to stay another night.
Nice enough resort, but take your money elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Drue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I visited the Barcelo Maya Beach again this past January and was truly blown away by the service. I started out by emailing the hotel with a few questions and they were promptly and courteously responded to.
We were welcomed into our room with a welcome letter and a bottle of champagne and fruit (nice touch). We were in the Club Premium section and had a peek a boo view of the ocean and a view of the pool. We had access to free wi-fi and did not have any issues with it except for a couple of times in the room when the balcony door was closed but as soon as we opened the door it was ok.
Housekeeping was fabulous and kept our room very neat. They even left us a pink raft at our door when the room next door checked out and left it there (we passed it on to someone else when we left).
The front desk was extremely helpful as we had to go there a couple of times because one of my son's room keys kept deactivating and they were very nice and replaced it (although they didn't ask for any ID which was a bit concerning). Another time I had to ask them to help me use the printer and they just let me print to their printer and brought me that pages when they were done.
The food was very good and we always found something that we liked. Breakfast was a favourite as it is awesome to start your day with a Mimosa! We ate a 3 a la cartes...the Mexican, the Japanese and the Seafood. The seafood was our favourite.Lunch was almost always at the beach restaurants.
I had a deep tissue massage at the spa while I was there and it was really good. My son had a chance to use they gym facilities and he said it was great and it had everything that he needed.
Snorkelling was really good although I didn't see any turtles this time I did see a huge ray and a sea snake and lots of fish.
I loved our stay last year but the stay this year was even better it was 10 days as opposed to 7 and much more relaxing. I love everything about this hotel and can hardly wait to go back next year!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank elledub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We just returned from a two week stay at the Barcelo Beach resort. Spent the first week in the Tropical due to overbooked Beach so up grade was nice surprise. Second week we returned to Beach due to hard mattress in Tropical.Excellent service and great staff. Very clean. Kitchen tour was very interesting.Will be returning next year with family

Room Tip: It appears the King size beds have newer mattress. Two double beds in Tropical were very uncomfortab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dennis E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Barcelo has 5 complexes in Puerto Aventuras. I booked through cheaptickets.com. got a good deal for the time of year. Fly into Cancun airport. I recommend you book transport to and from the hotel when you call to confirm your reservation. You will save half the cost of other transports. The hotel is about an hour from the airport. We stayed at Maya Beach complex, the low end part of the complex with the Palace being the most expensive. We did not feel let down though. You get access to the entire bay. You just cannot wander into the more expensive hotel areas and restaurants. The bay is beautiful, calm and clean. The staff was wonderful and if you show the slightest sign of trying to speak Espanol you will be rewarded with smiles and great service. It is an all inclusive resort so you will wear the plastic bracelets for duration, but what I loved about this place was that tipping was included in the price. One bar is 24/7 and we enjoyed virgin piña coladas whenever we wanted. Many times we asked for drinks to go (they are put in plastic glasses for safety) take our drinks and sit at the beach in lounge chairs in the evening. Hardly anyone on the beach then. Food is plentiful and often, there is almost always some buffet open until 10pm. I highly recommend the pork dishes. They know how to cook pork! The souvenir shops are sparse in goods, but you can take the highway shuttle for about 20 pesos into Playa del Carmen(one way 23 miles away). and do all the shopping for souvenirs you want. High end shops are there too. You can get the ferry to go to Cozumel for 7 bucks one way from there. Tulum and Xcaret are only a few miles away (10 and 4 miles approx) and the highway shuttle can take you there too. We had booked this place as an afterthought when we had booked a one week cruise and wanted another week in the Caribbean. We were not disappointed to stay here. We enjoyed this more than the cruise. There is a nice spot to snorkel to the left of the pier where the first jetty of rocks is. The best snorkel trip is through the charter in the hut by the watercraft area. You can book a charter that will take you over to beautiful Punta Sur marine preserve at Cozumel. Highly recommend doing this if you are a snorkeler or diver. Make sure you take plenty of snacks. Food is not too good at the hotel they offer lunch in Cozumel. Also get a wetsuit at this hotel. No charge to use it. You'll be in the water a while and get cold. You can always take it off. We had long Lycra suits on but we still got cold. We went in December 2012. Many people come from all over the world to stay here. Very cosmopolitan! My only diss, the beds could be softer!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Amy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mission
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

this is a very nice resort beach is great lots of beach chairs food was pretty good
one problem they need more bar tenders at the pool bars you go to get a cool refreshing beverage only to find one bartender and lots of thirsty people waiting
other than that would stay there again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lenwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Loved this resort!! The beach is amazing and very calm water. You can walk out in the water forever and swim with the fish! Rooms were very nice, comfortable beds and very nice bathrooms! The only complaint I would have is the lack of outdoor areas to sit and have a cocktail or two in the evening. Would definitely go back to Barcelo Maya Beach!!!

Room Tip: We upgraded to the Priviledged rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jackieyoung1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Maya Palace
Barcelo Maya Palace
#9 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 stars 4,993 reviews
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Barcelo Maya Caribe
#3 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 stars 3,206 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Maya Colonial
Barcelo Maya Colonial
#5 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 stars 4,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#4 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 stars 3,697 reviews
10.6 mi away
Occidental Grand Xcaret All Inclusive Resort
Occidental Grand Xcaret All Incl...
#66 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 stars 10,646 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
#6 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 stars 6,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barcelo Maya Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barcelo Maya Beach

Property: Hotel Barcelo Maya Beach
Address: Carretera Chetumal Puerto Juarez Km. 266,3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#7 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#7 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Barcelo Maya Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 630
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Barcelo, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Barcelo Maya Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Maya Beach
Barcelo Maya Palace
Barcelo Maya Mexico
Barcelo Maya Resort
Catalonia Rivera Maya
Maya Beach Resort
Barcelo Beach Maya Mayan Resort Riviera
Barcelo Maya Beach Resort Cancun
Hotel Barcelo Maya Beach Riviera Maya/Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing