We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Awesome resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Barcelo Maya Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Barcelo Maya Beach
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Awesome resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We loved this resort and have recommended it many times t friends. The resort was very well layed out. stay at one and "play" at 4 others. the kids 2 huge water parks are amazing and good luck getting your kids off of them. The food in the buffets were very good, with our upgrade we got to eat at the other resorts on the beach and the Tropical's food was amazing.. these 5 resorts are all located on on huge private beach. Its great for walking and the sand and the water wa amazing. there was no lack of chairs lots of trees to hide under if needed. The small corals out in the beach made snorkling so easy to access. just swim out and there you are. Ther is adisc on site and the entertainment was very good. the resorts are all very beautiful and clean. The staff is extremly friendly and very helpful. We walked out onto the main road and took a transit bus to the ruins in Tulum. It only took about 30-40 minutes and only cost about 4.00 US each. very clean and very safe. the driver was very helpful. The pools are endless, warm and very well layer out. I would go back to this resort over and over again..we loved it. The colours of the ocen the sand and the sky at times were actually hard to all take in they were so beautiful. In all we will never forget this trip at this resort and will continue to recommend it to family and friend... thanks you for the great time....

Room Tip: We upgrade to a premium room and got a corner room with a huge balcony with an amazing view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Danielle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,015 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,711
    2,068
    698
    316
    222
See reviews for
2,400
2,458
61
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (590)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Our first impression of the resort was not a good one: they put us in a room with no covers/sheets on the beds and a dirty bath tub. After a heated conversation with the supervisor we were moved to another building.
The reception claimed that they never received our “wish list” from Sunwing: we requested a king size bed on the second floor or higher. Initially, the hotel placed us in a room on the first floor with two double beds.
The hotel has one big advantage over other properties in the area: a very nice beach protected from the waves by a coral reef. Mind that you need swimming shoes to enter the sea. The coral reef can be easily reached from the pier.
Food: dinner buffet was OK, but not great. I personally liked the “Mexican night”, the food on other days was palatable. Lots of fresh fruits. There was no ice-cream (sundae with the chemical taste does not count). Minimum variety of cakes & pastries. Bartenders are not friendly (you can hardly get a smile), but the majority of them do the job. Only one of them was outright rude (this was also mentioned in other reviews)
A-la Carte restaurants; we did not have a problem to book the restaurants (do this immediately after check-in). Mexican was OK. Spanish was great (excellent food, stylish interior), but we waited for ½ hour to be seated (this is with an appointment). Sea food (Captain Morgan) was OK.
Shows: the hotel has the same standard shows as other hotels in the area. Most of them are dull. Michael Jackson show was bad (as compared to the one I saw in Cancun). Hint: you can go to other hotels for the show; nobody cares to ask for your wristband. We watched “The Nutcracker” ballet on Christmas night at Barceló Maya Palace. It was OK (not Eifman Balet, but palatable for general public).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nick155019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Perry, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We just returned on Dec. 24/12 from Barcelo Maya Beach Resort in Riviera Maya, Mexico and it was not what we thought we going for. The language barrier was terrible, the service is the worst and everything cost extra money at this resort. There was no WIFI in lobby and if you wanted internet, it was $13/day. You were only allowed 3 a-la-carte restaurants, a week. When at the beach or around the pool, there was no service for you get drinks. When you went to the bar to get service, they either ignored you half the time and/or it took forever to finally get a drink. You also had to order at least 2 drinks at a time because it took forever to get another on. Also, there was NO entertainment or entertainers around the pool or the beach during the day. It was boring!!! The shows at night time were ones where they got the tourists to be on stage - not them doing a show for the tourists. We are on vacation, we want to be entertained, not us to be the entertainment. The shows were Mr. Barcelo show, The Ideal Couple show, a Variey show - very lame!!! The only show we went to was on our last night there and they had kareokee. It only lasted for an hour and they one girl up there singing twice. Then the housekeeping ... no little animals made from towels or flower petals. We had to ask for wash cloths and then they took them and never replaced them so we had ask again. We were running low on toilet paper and had to ask for more. I also left things (gifts) for them every day of our stay and if I had known it wasn't going to get better, they would not have got anything from me. People we met there, had a mouse in their room and they were offered a free a-la-carte dinner - what the heck is that when it's an all inclusive resrt???

I will say that the grounds were very clean and the food was not bad. Repetitive at the buffet and you do get sick of it but at least all the food was edible.

I do NOT recommend this resort to anyone. We travel to different resorts every year at the time and this was by far the worst resort for service and entertainment we have ever been to. This resort is so boring but if you do go, take lots of money because ever is an cost for everything!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Debbie196844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We went with 18 month old twins and LOVED it. There are a few resorts together, all Barcelo and you can enjoy the pools and food in most of them.

Food was great, I can't imagine how people complain about it....they must be picky. There was a great selection even for a vegetarian like me. We easily found lots that our kids would eat as well.

The beach was perfect...private beach with a lot of space and chairs.

The pools were abundant and wonderful. No complaints at all. A few kids pools with amazing slides and features for kids to play. One pool has a screen above it which we used a lot so we could always be in the shade with our little ones.

The room we had was great and opened onto a nice grassy area. We were given 2 cribs and well taken care of.

There were many activities going on day and night...impossible to get bored.

I would recommend this resort to anyone unless you hate walking.....with all the resorts together there is a lot of walking to see it all....but then you don't have to see it all if you don't want to....but if you are like me and enjoy exercise then you can walk and walk taking in the sites and stopping to eat or drink along the way.

Overall.......LOVED IT!!

Room Tip: Ground floor was great with the stroller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Madeline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed for two weeks until Christmas day 2102.
Everyone at this resort were helpful and smiling. The food was very good at the main buffet considering the numbers involved and were not repetitious with plenty of choice even for a two week stay. However the a la carte restaurants did not meet the same standard.
The beach was good for swimming if a bit rocky in places. The facilities ( including a 5* Padi dive school were great, with noisy activities kept way offshore.
The only criticism is of the guests who it seems could not move without food or drink in hand, the empties being left everywhere for the ever attentive staff to rapidly collect.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This is a lovely resort, the beach is incredible. We walked up the beach to the side by side Barcelo Maya partner resort (there are 3 in a row) and swam with turtles and sting rays. The resort has beautiful walkways from the entrance to the beach, the pools are lovely although the beach was so beautiful we didn't go in the pools. The restaurants and bars are located throughout, very convenient. Food was okay as well. Staff were friendly. Bed was great. I'd say that everyone would thoroughly enjoy this resort. The beach and snorkling were fantastic. We brought our own snorkling gear. There were kayaks available, we took them out. There was a nice little coral reef and a dock. Very good trip.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Snicholson111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

My wife and I stayed for 5 nights over Christmas. We were very pleased with the location in the area and it's proximity to the places we wanted to see. The staff were all very friendly and accommodating. We found the best waitress in Mexico at this resort, Abdi, who was working the Beach Buffett. She was unbelievable. The food was all good.
Great choice for a family when it comes to the beach. The resort beach is Somewhat nestled in a cove. The beach is excellent, and the water doesn't get deep for quite a while. Lots of chairs, no need to worry.
The only criticism I can offer refers to the terms the resort uses. We booked in the Premium, which we assumed would give you a little extra, yet Premium gave you the least services! This really only affected us when it came to picking a la carte restaurants, which only gave us 2 choices. And the restaurants are chosen by the resort for you, so that wasn't very good.
We would return to this place.

Room Tip: Pick 3rd floor for more privacy and better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Phil O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe
Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 stars 4,776 reviews
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Barcelo Maya Caribe
#3 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 stars 2,840 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Maya Colonial
Barcelo Maya Colonial
#5 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 stars 4,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#4 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 stars 3,500 reviews
10.6 mi away
Occidental Grand Xcaret All Inclusive Resort
Occidental Grand Xcaret All Incl...
#66 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 stars 10,494 reviews
17.9 mi away
Sandos Caracol Eco Resort
Sandos Caracol Eco Resort
#69 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 stars 10,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barcelo Maya Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barcelo Maya Beach

Property: Hotel Barcelo Maya Beach
Address: Carretera Chetumal Puerto Juarez Km. 266,3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#7 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Barcelo Maya Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 630
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Barcelo, Hotwire, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Barcelo Maya Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Maya Beach
Barcelo Maya Palace
Barcelo Maya Mexico
Barcelo Maya Resort
Catalonia Rivera Maya
Maya Beach Resort
Barcelo Beach Maya Mayan Resort Riviera
Barcelo Maya Beach Resort Cancun
Hotel Barcelo Maya Beach Riviera Maya/Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing