We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kids loved it!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Barcelo Maya Beach
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Kids loved it!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

We went with 18 month old twins and LOVED it. There are a few resorts together, all Barcelo and you can enjoy the pools and food in most of them.

Food was great, I can't imagine how people complain about it....they must be picky. There was a great selection even for a vegetarian like me. We easily found lots that our kids would eat as well.

The beach was perfect...private beach with a lot of space and chairs.

The pools were abundant and wonderful. No complaints at all. A few kids pools with amazing slides and features for kids to play. One pool has a screen above it which we used a lot so we could always be in the shade with our little ones.

The room we had was great and opened onto a nice grassy area. We were given 2 cribs and well taken care of.

There were many activities going on day and night...impossible to get bored.

I would recommend this resort to anyone unless you hate walking.....with all the resorts together there is a lot of walking to see it all....but then you don't have to see it all if you don't want to....but if you are like me and enjoy exercise then you can walk and walk taking in the sites and stopping to eat or drink along the way.

Overall.......LOVED IT!!

Room Tip: Ground floor was great with the stroller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Madeline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,167
    2,262
    753
    341
    242
See reviews for
2,671
2,794
71
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (672)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed for two weeks until Christmas day 2102.
Everyone at this resort were helpful and smiling. The food was very good at the main buffet considering the numbers involved and were not repetitious with plenty of choice even for a two week stay. However the a la carte restaurants did not meet the same standard.
The beach was good for swimming if a bit rocky in places. The facilities ( including a 5* Padi dive school were great, with noisy activities kept way offshore.
The only criticism is of the guests who it seems could not move without food or drink in hand, the empties being left everywhere for the ever attentive staff to rapidly collect.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

This is a lovely resort, the beach is incredible. We walked up the beach to the side by side Barcelo Maya partner resort (there are 3 in a row) and swam with turtles and sting rays. The resort has beautiful walkways from the entrance to the beach, the pools are lovely although the beach was so beautiful we didn't go in the pools. The restaurants and bars are located throughout, very convenient. Food was okay as well. Staff were friendly. Bed was great. I'd say that everyone would thoroughly enjoy this resort. The beach and snorkling were fantastic. We brought our own snorkling gear. There were kayaks available, we took them out. There was a nice little coral reef and a dock. Very good trip.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Snicholson111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

My wife and I stayed for 5 nights over Christmas. We were very pleased with the location in the area and it's proximity to the places we wanted to see. The staff were all very friendly and accommodating. We found the best waitress in Mexico at this resort, Abdi, who was working the Beach Buffett. She was unbelievable. The food was all good.
Great choice for a family when it comes to the beach. The resort beach is Somewhat nestled in a cove. The beach is excellent, and the water doesn't get deep for quite a while. Lots of chairs, no need to worry.
The only criticism I can offer refers to the terms the resort uses. We booked in the Premium, which we assumed would give you a little extra, yet Premium gave you the least services! This really only affected us when it came to picking a la carte restaurants, which only gave us 2 choices. And the restaurants are chosen by the resort for you, so that wasn't very good.
We would return to this place.

Room Tip: Pick 3rd floor for more privacy and better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Phil O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

This resort was amazing the food was good very clean and it would be great for family's or couples. My wife and I like it so much we want to take our little ones back with us. All the staff that we encountered were so friendly. Some of the most hard working people I have ever met and always smiling. Love this place

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mrwheeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

I booked this trip a few weeks before departure not knowing what to expect, as it was my first time to Mexico. We had a great time. The resort is large and beautiful. Completely walkable, unlike what some other reviewers have said. The food and bar was good. We ate at the buffets for lunch and one or two dinners. We arrived late (around 10pm) and found there was nowhere to eat. That was a little disappointing, even if there had been a snack bar or something it would have been nice. The beach at our hotel (maya beach) is quiet and nice, always an abundance of beach chairs. Further down at the other resorts (caribe and tropical) is where all the beach activities are. We found out pretty quickly that we could eat and drink at all the resorts during the day (except palace which we never made it to) so we didn't have to go back to our resort for lunch or drinks. We ate at the spanish, mexican and steak house a la cartes. All of them were very good. Not really anything negative to say about this resort. It takes about 2 hours from the airport if you take the bus provided by your airline with stops at other hotels. If you get the chance, go to Xel-Ha as an excursion. The hotel is really good at pricing and suggesting excursions targeted to your interests.

Room Tip: Ask for building 2. We were on the ground floor and didn't find it very noisy. Walked off our ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Veronica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

Can't get any better for the price you pay! Great staff, good food, nice restaurant selection, beautiful landscaping, clean rooms. I can't say enough about the great experience we had. Can't wait to get back there!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Corienna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
154.8 mi away
Barcelo Maya Palace
Barcelo Maya Palace
#6 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,731 reviews
154.9 mi away
Barcelo Maya Colonial
Barcelo Maya Colonial
#4 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,368 reviews
155.0 mi away
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Barcelo Maya Caribe
#12 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
154.9 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,181 reviews
170.9 mi away
Occidental at  Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destinatio...
#73 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11,556 reviews
144.2 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barcelo Maya Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barcelo Maya Beach

Property: Hotel Barcelo Maya Beach
Address: Carretera Chetumal Puerto Juarez Km. 266,3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#7 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Barcelo Maya Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 630
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Barcelo, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Barcelo Maya Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Maya Beach
Barcelo Maya Palace
Barcelo Maya Mexico
Barcelo Maya Resort
Catalonia Rivera Maya
Maya Beach Resort
Barcelo Beach Maya Mayan Resort Riviera
Barcelo Maya Beach Resort Cancun
Hotel Barcelo Maya Beach Riviera Maya/Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing