We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
32 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
$180
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/11/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
$151
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/11/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Lol.travel
$127
View deal
Official website$153
Hotels.com$180
Priceline$151
View all 21 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (13,446)
Filter reviews
13,446 results
Traveler rating
6,248
4,437
1,664
642
455
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
6,248
4,437
1,664
642
455
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tapas fish snack bar privileged suite el mercado privileged guests gated community standard room japanese restaurant crepes pure chill out bar a la carte restaurants animation team steak lagoon area dolphin discovery the grill
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
521 - 526 of 13,446 reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2019 via mobile

This was my first ever visit to Mexico. The hotel is beautiful! The only down side is that there is not enough seating in the entertainment bar at night. The cleaners do a thorough job, and a fantastic one at that! Always cleaning and tidying something and the towel art left on our bed everyday bought a smile to my face. The buffet restaurant was good but sometimes service was very slow and I’m my opinion these are not enough vegetarian options. There is always something to do during the day, and you can dance and watch the shows on an evening. The entertainment team were by far the best we’ve ever had and we go on holiday every year. Rodrigo, Melissa, Georgina, Miguel and Tony were absolutely amazing!! The made an effort to check how we were daily and always asked if we wanted to participate in the activities - explaining them if we weren’t sure what to do. On an evening they always asked how we found the show and got us dancing. We learnt so much about the culture and Mexico itself through them and we will certainly feel there absence when we go home. I would definitely come here again!

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank Hannah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catalonia_Caribbean, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2019

Dear Hannah,

We would like to thank you very much for the time you took to share your feedback. Our guests comments and observations, such as yours are vital for improving. For us it has been a true pleasure to serve you during your stay and have found it thrilling to read about your satisfaction with our unstoppable animation team. We are always ready to improve, and we will share your remarks about the food and service at the buffet. Please note that all your comments are of extreme important to us and hope to see you back very soon.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2019

Wow .. where do I start. Had the most amazing time on this holiday. I’ve been going away for 25 years and can safely say this has been the best holiday by far. It was made so special and memorable by the amazing animation team! Georgina, Melissa, Rodrigo, Tony ,Miguel and all the entertainment team work tirelessly every single day and made our stay so special and we have really made some good friends in them. They definitely need more recognition for all the amazing work they do day and night. The shows they put on in the evening are truly amazing and spectacular!! We will definitely be returning to this hotel in the future xx

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank Lauren J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catalonia_Caribbean, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2019

Dear Lauren,

Thank you very much for taking the time to describe your experience and talk about our staff, no doubt, the animation team has the most full of joy and attitude people, they manage to spread their good vibes and get so involved with you that they make unforgettable friendship bonds, many guests return just for them. Hopefully you will come back very soon.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2019 via mobile

Just arrived home after spending 14 nights in Mexico fantastic holiday all the staff very friendly the animation team were brilliant Georgina Miguel Tony Rodriguez Melissa to name but a few had all the guests joining in regardless of nationality language doesn't have to be a barrier food fantastic rooms clean

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank Adele H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2019 via mobile

I have recently returned back from my two week holiday at the catalonia rivia hotel and i had the most amazing time the food was great with lots of choice and the entertainment was absolutely fantastic. Georgina, Tony, Miguel and Rodriguez to name but a few always took the extra time to speak to us and every nationality was involved. thankyou all for making our stay amazing.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank Adele H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2019

We've just returned from a wonderful 2 weeks in Mexico, our 2nd visit to this country and 2nd to this particular hotel.

Things have changed in the last 3 years, mainly for the better.

The weakest thing last time was the food, it wasn't bad, but a little bland and repetitive, however now there is a lot more variety and the quality is better... nothing to complain about in either of the buffet restaurants, and the a la carte restaurants were lovely, our favourite being the Bambolero grill, the steaks in here were very good, especially the tenderloin!!

On arrival (which was a bit slicker than last time) we were taken to our room (a standard) which was immaculate and massive. Unfortunately it had an interconnecting door, and the guests in the next room were noisy enough for us to decide that this one wasn't for us, so we ended up getting a suite.

We hadn't upgraded prior to flying out as we were told that as a returning guest we would have offers on the privileged rooms, and we'd been more than happy with the standard room from our first stay.

8403 was lovely, so much space, an outside bath and garden, massive bed, dual sinks in the huge bathroom, 2 televisions (1 in the bedroom and 1 in the living room with couch) and a fully stocked minibar. It's a very quiet room as it faces the perimeter of the complex, so only the noise of a few cars going past.

The housekeeping was great, and every evening they would return for a turn down service to check on towels etc.

The staff were even better this time than the last, we recognised quite a few, which is quite a warm, reassuring feeling.

All of them would look you in the eye and say 'Hola' with a smile, these are genuine people who are more than happy to help.

In general the hotel is very clean, but we had a few days where the pool in the privileged area was quite full of flies and there was a layer of suncream I think on the surface, but the water in the pools were checked every day, and we didn't hear any reports of people being ill from ear infections etc.

However, we did hear reports of 2 separate incidents where people had defacated in other pools.. accidents happen, but a lot of people seemed to be in the pools all day without going to the toilet...not the hotel's fault but it did make us think...and we saw a very drunk guy passed out, sat at an empty pool bar after a thunderstorm.

Would we return? Absolutely.. without a thought... but we would definitely upgrade to get away from the noise of the main pool... the animation team are there to do a job, but sometimes you just want a bit of peace, the 2nd week seemed to have quieter music, so it wasn't as intrusive.

There's so much to recommend on this hotel, the beach is very clean, we saw hardly any of the green sargassum that had been causing such a problem recently, and the little walkway at the end of the beach that separates the lagoon is a phenomenal spot for sunrise, and to see the lionfish and young barracuda that frequent it.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
4  Thank Barrie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catalonia_Caribbean, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2019

Dear Barrie,

We love receiving comments from repeat guests because they always allow us to see which changes have been beneficial and which ones have not, thank you very much for having the confidence to share. Of course we will check the areas of opportunity you mention, it will be a pleasure to know that you are coming back for the third time and we have once again achieved your total satisfaction. Thanks for your preference.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews