We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed October 26, 2006

We stayed 5nights at this resort and had a wonderful time. We did upgrade our room once we arrived. The first room they gave us was 7011 on the ground floor with no view at all. I asked to upgrade to an ocean view and we were moved to the Catalonia Yukatan side of the resort to room 3129. The upgrade was only $35 night more and it was well worth it. We had a nice balcony with nice wicker furniture directly overlooking the beach. Also included in the upgrade was a fully stocked mini bar(soft drinks and water only) and free use of the room safe. The elevator was very small and only worked about 1/2 the time. Not a biggie for us but could be a problem for some.

We found the service to be very good. Drinks were not watered down in the least, the bartenders were friendly and helpful. Service was a little slow while on the beach but they did come around every so often. We were there for a wedding and several of our party stayed next door at the Sunscape (more expensive and they were not impressed with the service or drinks there at all!)Others stayed at the Spa Palace which was gorgeous but quite a bit more expensive and while the website shows a beach, they actually do not have one at all. The beach at the Catalonia was by far the best of all three resorts. We snorkeled right off the beach and it was some of the best snorkeling we have done.

The food was not that great. Lots of variety but none of it was very good. It wasn't horrible but just not a lot of flavor. I am not a picky eater at all but by day 4 I was pretty sick of the food. We only ate one night at the reservations only restaurant. We chose the Mexican one and it was pretty good. The biggest disappointment was the desserts - just not good at all. But, we didn't go for the food so it wasn't a big deal for us.

There is an Alamo car rental counter on site and we rented a car for a day and drove down to Tulum. This was a great way to go. The roads are fine, we had no trouble. The rental rate was only $50 and there was no entry fee at Tulum. We talked to people who did the tour and spend $69 per person to go in a huge bus with a million other tourists. We were not on a schedule and were able to enjoy the ruins, the beach and all points in between at our own pace. We stopped and had lunch at a local bar/grill and had a fabulous day. The care was small and a manual 4 speed but the A/C worked great.

I called Sprint before we left to have the international module turned on on my phone. Worked like a charm for the first 2 1/2 days then mysteriously quit - was unable to place or receive calls. There was an 800 number posted on our room phone to give to US residents to call. I went to an internet cafe in Puerto Aventours to email the number but no one in my family was able to get the call to go through. The interent cafe only charged $1 for 10minutes so that became our source of communication. I did talk to others with Cingular who had no trouble at all.

We would most definatley return to this resort. Dollar for dollar, I don't think you can beat it! Fee free to email if you have any questions. Hope this was helpful - sorry if it was too long!

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
32  Thank terbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (9,173)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,178 - 5,184 of 9,173 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2006

its very clean, the food is great, the staff are all friendly and helpfull. so enjoy this excellent hotel and its lovely location.

Stayed: October 2006
7  Thank shar&kev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2006

We stayed at the Catalonia side of the hotel (Cat tended to be Canadian/American/British, Riviera Maya side those from continental Europe) from Oct 13-20 and had a great time. We were on the 3rd floor and had a nice room overlooking the water with fully functioning a/c, no problems with water pressure or temp in the bathroom. The room was meticulously cleaned each day and the housekeeper always left us extra towels and a daily towel creation (we brought $1 bills and did try to tip regularly, but all staff were extremely helpful and friendly regardless).

The whole resort has beautiful landscaping & ample spots for lounging in both sun and shade. The vibe at this resort is definitely laid back- lots of families & water enthusiasts, not so many Cancun-style hard partyers. Staff were constantly maintaining the property (watering, weeding, cleaning, painting, replacing railings, etc..- it's build, repair and replace season). Keep in mind that most buildings are open to the breezes and elements (ie humidity/sun) so this may not be the place for you if you prefer a/c in the lobby, restaurants & bars.

We didn't bring water shoes and didn't need them- we could easily see where the reef was in front of the beach and the lagoon also has gorgeous, clear, non-wavy water for swimming. Beach was very clean, raked constantly... The reef offered excellent snorkelling- we brought home great memories of the fish & coral!

The food/drink (full-strength) was plentiful & we weren't sick at all. I travelled with a chef (read: PICKY EATER!) but we found tasty things to eat at each of the a la cartes & the buffet (some things we could live without, but the kitchens are catering to a lot of tastes..). We couldn't get enough of the Creperie- for the breeze, views, and the food! Rooms do not have fridges BUT there are 1litre bottles of water left for you when you arrive and the restaurants & bars all have spots to fill up the bottles with more purified water.

We booked some tours when we arrived and now have this insight: the day-long tours (we booked through Trafic Tours) that include lunch are good value (they usually provide water, drinks, lunch, snacks, blankets, tour guides, shopping opportunities, etc) BUT it can cost a lot less to do it yourself. From this hotel, it costs $48 return to take a taxi to Tulum- we went with another couple on a Sunday when admission to Tulum is free and a full day of sightseeing and swimming at Tulum cost us $12 each (we took lunch from the breakfast buffet). We snorkelled with the turtles at Akumal beach (a lot of the scuba/snorkelling tours/trips stop there for the turtles and incredible reef offshore) for a day and we split a cab again for $5 each. So it's worth looking into your options given this resort's location right in the middle of the Riviera Maya! Closer to the hotel, the marina was an attraction all by itself with the dolphins, manatee, lots of fish, shopping, restaurants, fishing charters, and wandering wildlife (we have pics with a sloth).

We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: October 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
23  Thank Travellin_Vic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2006

This was my first visit to Mexico and would have to say will not be my last. It has everything you could possibly wish for apart from the opulent and fancy interiors that you may expect from a 4 star in some places. All in all compact, clean and very friendly. Although I came here alone I always had someone to talk to either in the bars or at the poolside so if your quite happy with your own company and like a bit of space its ideal. I met some wonderful people from all over the world and all were equally friendly. It literally takes no more than 1 minute from your room to the pool, beach, bars or restaurants. All drinks excellent and include branded spirits like Smirnoff and Bacardi although would have to say the wine is like the house wine you never really wish to drink! Food is plentiful and a large selection of various international foods so if you can't find something to eat you must be really fussy! The a la carte restaurants are also reasonably good but more of a 3 star standard. I didn't take part in the activities or watch the entertainment but if thats what you fancy plenty of people seemed happy with what was on offer. There are an abundant of trips to suit all tastes and you have the benefit of the marina being 5 mins walk away where you can take the catamaran trips, swim with dolphins, sealions and manatees and go sport fishing if you wish. Snorkelling in the area is excellent and the beach here although a little stony in parts in the water is gorgeous with a lagoon to the side for the less brave! One thing I would highly recommend is the massage hut on the beach at £65 dollars for an hour of pure blish with the breeze and the noise of the waves lapping give it the perfect relaxtion experience. The rooms are good with pretty hard beds and the hairdryer isn't the most powerful but beware your hair will certainly not look like it is at home anyway. Everything is really clean and the staff are constantly cleaning up around you. Probably apart from everthing else that is good the staff are excellent and always friendly and helpful. .

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank LAllan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2006

We booked this about 4 weeks before going and we had never been to Mexico before. We have trouble sometimes as my husband does not like to lie around on the beach all day long and has to have enough things to keep him occupied.
In the space of 2 weeks we did a Mayan Encounter trip which was great value for money - included a trip to Coba, a mayan village, zip lining and abseilling into a cenote (amazing). We also swam with dolphins at Delphinus (excellent experience). Through Pro Dive at the hotel we booked a snorkelling trip where we saw turtles, stingrays, squid, loads of tropical fish etc. It was absolutely stunning and really well organised. This convinced my husband to do the PADI licence for diving which he really enjoyed. If we had wanted to do something different each day I am sure we could have. The weather was a little rainy around lunch timr on our first week but it gave us an excuse to go and eat more!
The hotel itself was brilliant. It was only 40% full and that was perfect. The restaurants were never too full and there was plenty of room around the pools. If you wanted shade / sun there was always room for both. The rooms were cleaned every day and the beds were firm but comfortable and I slept really well.
All in all I cannot wait to go back to Mexico and I usually like to try new places but when the service, food, rooms, pools and beach were this amazing there is no need.
The location of the hotel also meant we were never more than 20 minutes from the main attractions (Acumel beach - snorkelling with turtles, Xel-Ha & Xcaret - eco parks, Delphinus - dolphin swim) Everything seemed to be close by.
If you need any more information please feel free to email me at lourawcliffe@yahoo.co.uk
Dont forget your underwater cameras!!!

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
26  Thank lrawcliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2006

After extensive travelling through Europe and the Carib over the years, my husband and I have found that staying at 2-3 star hotels very satisfying with few suprises- the hotels tend to be smaller, food more authentic etc. After staying at the Catalonia, we found our 'rule' applied again.

The Good: Hotel grounds well maintained, staff helpful and polite, rooms always cleaned well and that's about it. The area the hotel was located in was great - take the 10 minute walk to the marina and have dinner along the boardwalk and watch the dolphins while eating dinner! Great food & prices. In the middle of the lagoon at the marina is a 'swim with dolphins' place - and the boardwalk surrounds the dolphins, so you can walk around and just watch - sea lions as well - take a 10 minute collectivo ride to Akumal Bay and snorkel with sea turtles - lots of cenotes in the area as well - to see the ruins at Tulum - great beach for a cooling swim as well

The Bad: Small beach with rocky entrance into the water - bring water socks. The hotel seems to have two main lobbies and both have specific roles. Nolitours web site says Playa Del Carmen is 15 minues away - more like 35-40 easy! The hotels free shuttle is only twice a day - book in advance as it fills quickly - otherwise a cab to Playa is $15US. The hotel is in a gated community and is 20-25 minute walk to the highway for the collectivo - we have always found Mexico very safe and enjoy local transportation (collectivo), but it was difficult to get to access from the hotel. The biggest dissapointment was the food. Fresh fruit & salads were fine, but everything hot seemed to be cooked in a mystery oil. We have decided that it was the same as microwave popcorn butter (UGH). So even though they offered potentionally great food (steak, seafood), it all tasted the same as it was cooked in this oil.

My Advice: If you're really looking for a 4 star hotel, stay down the road at the Barcelo

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
20  Thank tracykw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2006

Hello all, Intend to keep this to a few lines, but may well ramble on.

Overall, an absolutely fantastic holiday. My partner has insisted that after we have fed the dogs and done our washing, we book immediately for next June. Stayed here from 24th Sept to 8th October 2006.
So in no particular order, our thoughts...

Flights. From the UK it is 10 hours, so be prepared. Premium upgrades are recommended, but expensive.

Arrival and check in. Friendly, courteous and helpful. Greeted with cold drinks, escorted to room and bags delivered within a couple of minutes. We arrived mid-evening and ate, drank and collapsed asleep.

Construction work. There is some either side and we were close to it - minimal disturbance, but my partner got whistled at a couple of times when going back to the room alone (what the hell, builders are builders the world over I guess).

Food. In the two weeks we stayed, there was no need to eat the same thing twice. Buffet restaurant excellent and if there was something you could not see, they would find it/make it for you. A la carte restaurants were informal, but with wonderful food. If anything in our first week, the service was a little too prompt.

Bars. A wide variety, all with excellent service and inventive staff. After a few days I got bored of thinking what I wanted so just asked for "Something nice". We received so many different, madly coloured drinks - heaven. We drank most nights in the lobby bar - waitress service to the table, always with a wide smile whether you tip or not. They always encouraged us to try different cocktails - have to sample the local culture!!!

Pools and grounds. Always spotless. What seemed like armies of people running around all day cleaning and regulating. Lawns looked manicured, trees and foliage regularly maintained.

Staff. Without exception, these are the most friendly and helpful people you could wish to meet. From the head concierge to the guy who rakes the lawn, they are always smiling and asking if they can help in any way. Makes such a difference to the holiday.

The A-Team. A group of energetic people who organise all of the entertainment, from crazy games to the nightly shows. Their effort and dedication is easy to see every day and you know they will only be happy if you are having fun. Gentlemen, please be aware that your lady is very likely to develop a crush on at least two of the A-team - I know mine did!!!

Beach and lagoon. Didn't visit it much as it was at least another 30 yards from the pool - god we were so lazy!! Clean, clear and full of wildlife. Some rocks, but these are very easy to see.Take some bread and feed the fish off the bridge - very relaxing.

Rooms. Large, clean and well kept. Huge supply of fresh towels daily, fashioned into an array of animals. Beds not the softest, but very easy to sleep on/in.

Other services. Whilst on a visit to Coba, my partner was unfortunate enough to be bitten by a spider. A nasty allergic reaction and a very swollen/sore leg ensued. Visited reception and the doctor (off duty at the time) was immediately summoned. He arrived within a couple of minutes, almost running and treated her quickly, effectively and thoroughly. Just another example of the high levels of service!

Overall, this is the only place that we have ever been where we are definitely returning.
Every aspect of this holiday was wonderful and we cannot recommend this resort highly enough

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
40  Thank MarkandSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
0.1 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,754 reviews
16.7 mi away
Ocean Riviera Paradise
Ocean Riviera Paradise
#70 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,472 reviews
23.0 mi away
Catalonia Playa Maroma
Catalonia Playa Maroma
#4 of 5 in Playa Maroma
7,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
14.9 mi away
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
#71 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
13,059 reviews
14.7 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#33 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
7,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Riviera Maya

Address: Avenida Xcacel Lote 1 Plano 2 Manzana 18, Puerto Aventuras 77783, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#12 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range: $164 - $466 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Catalonia Riviera Maya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 423
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribbean Sea's turquoise waters can be seen from this hotel-paradise. Come and get ready to spend some unforgettable days in the heart of the Mayan Riviera, surrounded by marvelous landscapes and seductive, white sand beaches. The hotel is located in the wonderful Puerto Aventuras development. This is a tourist development which boasts a marina for yachts, a golf course, restaurants and dolphin tanks, all within easy reach of the main Mayan Riviera attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Catalonia Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Riviera Maya Puerto Aventuras, Mexico
Catalonia Hotel Mexico
Catalonia Rivera Maya
Riviera Maya Catalonia
Hotel Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riveria Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya Resort
Catalonia Riviera Maya All Inclusive
Catalonia Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing